$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

3 stars
View map of 100 East Chestnut, 100 East Chestnut, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago IL
Nov 28, 2009

Good Location, Poor facility

We stayed at this hotel primarily for the location, that was a mistake. The halls are loud, the walls were patched and bubbling in our room, and it was an unpleasant experience. We made the best of it, by not staying in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cedar Rapids, IA
Nov 27, 2009

Perfect location for the price

Would have been nice to have a coffee pot in the room but Starbuck's was a cross the street. The location allowed us to shop/walk and return to the hotel for rest and start again. The hotel is old so may not be for everyone but definitely has character. Our room with a king size bed was large and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoy lunch or dinner at Mike Ditka's Resturant, which is next door to the Tremont. Mike is usally there on Friday evenings.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joheba
Single
Madrid, Spain
Nov 2, 2009

Very good location, everything perfect

Clean room, good location, no trouble at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Stevens Point, Wis.
Oct 29, 2009

Unbeatable price for the location

OK, if you need all new surroundings, this is not the place for you. The Tremont is a faded rose, with some nicks and scuffs. But everything was clean, the bathroom was remodeled and everything worked. What is incomparable are the ambiance and decor! It was like stepping into a movie from the 1920s. And the location! Try to find another room in the Gold Coast area for about $100.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 27, 2009

A little beat-up, but a very good value

Great location (near Gold Coast and Magnificent Mile); good value for cost; elevator was slow and rickety; some peeling wallpaper in the room; the free Wi-Fi was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hipster Geezer
Single
Chicago IL
Oct 26, 2009

Quiet but Close to the Action

This is an older hotel but clean, comfortable, and above all, quiet, even with Michigan Ave. just a block away. The staff is personable and helpful and the views spectacular. The Tremont is close to everything in the Water Tower area but secluded enough to be restful when you've had enough big city jostle and jump.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro 110 is a very fine restaurant just around the corner from the Tremont. Start with a Bellini Martini and try the cassoulet as an entree.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chicago newlywed
Couples
Chicago
Oct 21, 2009

Tired Tremont

Great location, nice staff, quite were the positives. The negative was run-down tired rooms. Very disappointed and stayed there for our wedding night. The terrible metal window shade and no curtains won the prize. I do not recommend and wish we could have stayed somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
For my daughter's birthday
Family
Detroit, Michigan
Oct 19, 2009

The Tremont

The staff was very accommodating. They made dinner reservations for us, came to adjust that shower when we could not and gave excellent recommendations about restaurants. They handled a rather suspicious customer with a good deal of patience and tact.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York City, NY
Oct 19, 2009

The Tremont Hotel is a tremendous find.

Very nice hotel and very friendly staff. Great location. Suggest you go to Starbucks across the street for breakfast, as it may be more to your liking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Water Tower Place is right on the corner of Michigan and East Chestnut, half a block away.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lincoln, NE
Oct 11, 2009

Price/location outweigh pizzazz

Rooms were average size, with dated furniture. Bathrooms are smallish - really only one person could be in there at a time. Our room was on the street side, so was noisy, but other rooms in the back might not notice the noise as much. Location was great for doing things on Michigan Avenue. The location and price trumped the room deficiencies, since we spent very little time actually in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mike Ditka's restaurant is adjacent to the hotel - you can actually enter from the hotel lobby. we had a super dinner there.

Back to menu Return to top