$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

3 stars
View map of 100 East Chestnut, 100 East Chestnut, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Oct 27, 2010

Tremont Hotel -- small and good

I come to Chicago several times a year. I've been trying small, good Near North hotels, recently. I've given up on the dear old Ambassador East, after it just sank too low, in the recession. The Whitehall,too, is just a mass of scuffs and scratches and istruly run-down, except for the areas that are being painted. So it was good to come up with the very reasonably priced Tremont, one half block away (on a quiet street)from Michigan Avenue and Watertower Plaza. In these hard times, like many other low-priced hotels, it, too, has abandoned both room service and even the refrigerated minibar. But the staff is truly wonderful. I had dealings with four different people on the desk, each one more courteous and helpful than the one before. They are doing good hiring. They offer free Wi-Fi in the rooms, and a $5.00 full continental breakfast (incl. juice, English muffins, etc.) in the adjoining (indoor doorway) Mike Ditka's restaurant. My 10th-floor corner room and bath were spotless. Unlike my previous two hotels at this low price, no rips, tears, worn-away upholstery, bashed-off paint or cracked bathroom tiles. For the price, I would rate the Tremont a five, but for two things that were really bothersome. Presumably in the retrenching, they have taken away any bedside-table telephone. Every time the phone rings and you are in bed, you have to get up out of bed, and go across the room to the desk. But my real caveat(this wouldn't bother everyone) is that they have twelve TV channels, but have left out PBS. This is what lots of mid-priced hotels used to do, but most have seen the light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Multi-story Watertower Plaza mall, and another big one,too, are on Michigan Ave., just one short half block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy Missing Couples
Business
great falls, mt
Oct 25, 2010

Perfect location, nice room

This was my 3rd trip to Chicago this year, this time for a wedding and a Bears game. As usual we had a great time and loved the hotel. Since we like to eat and party at Ditkas it was very convenient to get on an elevator on the second floor of Ditkas and go up to our room. The hotel is older with large comfortable rooms and a beautiful lobby that we enjoyed having our morning coffee in. The staff was great and allowed our daughter to park the car in front for free while we went for dinner. We definitely will return for another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I'm not a shopper but did shop at Filines Bargain basement just 1 block away. Also all the hard core shoppers dream stores are in the same area. There's also a variety of restaurants and nightlife spots within a block or a short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix
Oct 9, 2010

Great location for the price

The location was great for sightseeing, shopping and public transportation. I liked the small hotel atmosphere. The rooms were not lux but were certainly adequate and a very good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Sep 29, 2010

Tremont Hotel

The hotel definately could be updated, but it was clean and in a good location. The only thing that turned me off was paying for the terrible breakfast. No one will tell you that you have to pay for it and you have to go out of your way to find a coin. Other than that I don't really have any complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Des Moines, Iowa
Sep 27, 2010

Great location, adequate facilities

The elevators were unbelievably slow, which was ok because we were on the third floor and could take the stairs. Unfortunately the street construction was so loud that it was hard to sleep, being so close to the street. The location was wonderful and the hotel was clean. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

This hotel is a short walk from the red line, a perfect way to get around the city. Clean, safe, cheap and fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami , FL
Sep 7, 2010

Easy access Chicago's Magnificent Mile

It is a very old hotel but have a great location. The staff was very friendly. The carpet's smell is awful inside the elevators, they should change them. In general it is good, but they need to up date carpets and bathrooms in order to accommodate their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel is close to Navy Peer,museums, restaurants, You can walk to Millenium Park,and most tours points to know the architecture and city's history.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cleveland Girl
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 30, 2010

Pretty basic

The staff was rarely around, very old hotel in need of updates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
katesbucks
Business
Elkhart, IN
Aug 29, 2010

Excellent stay

The view from our room was amazing. It was very close to all the events we wanted to attend. The staff was very helpful. We'll stay there again given the opportunity!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park your car yourself around the corner for $35/24 hrs. valet parking was $49 for our one night stay!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Petersburg, Florida
Aug 28, 2010

Great Location for the Price

The Tremont is an excellent value for couples that want to get away for a weekend. The location was right next to the Hancock Building, we had a great view from our room! The room was somewhat noisy due to the fact it is in downtown Chicago. Other than that, it was a great bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
toronto. ontario
Aug 20, 2010

tremont chicago

No fitness centre or pool...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top