$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

3 stars
100 E. Chestnut, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
209 reviews
Love the lobby and my bed!!!

The staff is great, specially Maria!!! Our bedroom was super nice, and our bed luxurious. And the... See full review

  • Ramiret
  • Jan 14, 2014
best hotel near magnificent mile

it was better than a thouth, i like it very much, before a went to the hotel tremont i thouth it... See full review

  • Pilar wolff
  • Sep 23, 2013
Quaint vintage hotel just off the Magnificent Mile

A deep green awning marks the entrance to this downtown hotel, which reflects the charm and European elegance of its Gold Coast environs. Guests can walk to Magnificent Mile shops, restaurants, bars, elite Oak Street boutiques and Rush Street nightlife from the doors of the Treemont Hotel. Like the vintage buildings that surround it, the Treemont was designed with strong bones, boasting hardwood floors, wood-paneled ceilings and lovely touches like archways, crown molding and a baby grand piano in the lobby.

Highlights
  • Walk to the Magnificent Mile, Rush Street and Oak Street
  • Penthouse suites with 11-foot ceilings, fireplace, Jacuzzi tub and wet bar
  • Mike Ditka's steakhouse complete with cigar lounge and sports memorabilia
  • The Tremont studios offer furnished apartment-style accommodations next door for extended stays
  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms
Rooms

The Tremont Chicago remains true to its old-world character. Carpeted parloresque rooms boast ladylike flair with floral patterned drapes, tufted headboards, Queen-Anne style nightstands and dainty brass lamps. Some rooms have kitchenettes and sitting areas. Guests can pay additional fees for their own microwave and refrigerator, but Wi-Fi is free in all rooms.

For longer stays, reserve the Tremont studios next door, a collection of 12 fully-furnished studios with kitchens.

Features

Chicago's appetite for steak is legendary. Here, find one of the best chophouses in the city at Mike Ditka's, which pays tribute to the famed Chicago Bears coach with a prized collection of sports memorabilia, including football helmets of his former teams. The two-level restaurant fires a solid selection of cuts, like the Filet Medallions Three Ways or the Kick-Ass Paddle Steak, but extends the spread to chicken, seafood and burgers as well. At the end of the meal, retire to the handsome second-floor cigar lounge for live entertainment and single-malt Scotch.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (17 miles)
  • Midway Airport (12 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (10 minutes)
Attractions
  • Rush Street
  • Division Street
  • Gold Coast
  • Lake Michigan
  • Magnificent Mile
  • John Hancock Center
  • Oak Street
Business
  • 3 meeting rooms with natural lighting
  • Mike Ditka's offers catering services

Hotel Map

41.8983 -87.6256
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 28.97, KM; Midway Airport, (MDW), 24.14, KM;
Area description
City Center, City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Guest laundromat
Porters
Doorman
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Phone with speaker
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • History Museum: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi

Dining

Mike Ditka's Restaurant
Look no further than Mike Ditka’s Restaurant for an authentic Chicago steakhouse experience. Enjoy a delicious breakfast, lunch, or dinner with such menu options as steak, seafood, pasta, and one of the coach’s favorites: “Da Pork Chop.”

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (209)

Ratings and reviews for The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
209 out of 209
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lourae
Toledo, OH, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Great hotel,great price

Tremont Hotel was a great hotel to stay at.The staff was wonderful.The bed was very comfy.great shopping minutes away.We were really happy with the entire stay.The only negative is they charge $49 a night to park.We parked at a self-park a block away and still were charged $35 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
West Palm Beach, Florida
Jan 24, 2011

Fantastic Location

Fantastic location, close to everything. Very nice hotel well decorated. Friendly service, housekeeping was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from Michigan Avenue, short walk to great resturants, Dikta was next door.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 23, 2011

Great stay

The room was a good size. Everything seemed clean! [...] at the front desk was personable (even at 11:30 at night).My favorite feature: their shower heads tell you what temperature the water is. The future is now!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I could see the Hancock Building from my window, which means you are right near Water Tower Place and a ton of other shopping destinations.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Jan 7, 2011

Good value

Excellent location, great value. Nice quiet hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Checkout Looking Glass Theater near by for unqiue plays

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Dec 31, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

I walk Magnificent Mile up and down, went shopping, got my hair cut at Anna & George. Great place and the hairstylist (Olga) was awesome everybody has something to say about my haircut in a good way of course. Went to a fast food Vegan restaurant and eat a delicious tofu wrap with cucumber sauce. (Veggie Bite)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

A restaurant called Veggie Bite, is about 15 minutes from the hotel, it has vegan and organic food for veggie lovers!

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lexington, Kentucky
Dec 29, 2010

Unbeatbable location for the price

We ablsolutely loved our stay. Hotel Tremont is like stepping back in time, quieter, less hurried pace. So much like a European hotel. We felt our room was like going home to our bedroom. For the price, the location, excellent. We walked everywhere from the hotel because everything, shopping, restaurants, shows, are easy to get there. One thing, could they get a cheap little coffee pot in each room so that we can have our cup of java the minute we wake up?????? That was the only thing missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved having Rush Street, and State Street so close by. Great restaurants!!! Oh and shopping,,,,Oak street is a few steps away...the Rodeo Drive of Chicago!!!!

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
La Fonz
New York City
Dec 29, 2010

Old Hotel

Inexpensive hotel, however it is old. The rooms look like the 1950s, the tub was terrible because when showering the water did not drain and instead rose to my ankles, they were short of staff, so the valet guy was doing housekeeping and making up beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

None

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
rochester,NY
Dec 28, 2010

great location

The hotel's location was the best. It is super near to all the shopping places that I love.It's only 5 minutes away. LOVE IT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago,il
Dec 26, 2010

The Tremont

The staff was very friendly, the room was really nice. We had a good time,I would certainly go back. Nice price too!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Water Tower is about a block away!

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Bourbonnais, IL
Dec 22, 2010

Great location!

Overall our stay was very nice. This hotel is set in a great location for enjoying all that the Magnificent Mile has to offer. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Although the hotel itself is pretty outdated in appearance, it was just right for what we were looking for and it met all of our needs. We would absolutley stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Slow Rider
Running and Hiding, Indiana
Nov 30, 2010

Chicago Hideaway

Nestled in the heart of Chicago's Magnificent Mile, The Tremont Hotel is one of the best hideaways protected by Chicago's sprawling cityscape. Sharing the same address as Mike Ditka's Restaurant, 100 East Chestnut Street, The Tremont offers quick and easy access to most of Chicago's finest dining, shopping, museum, and city sightseeing experiences. On your next getaway, hideaway in economical comfort and unrivaled convenience: The Tremont Hotel, Chicago...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk a mere two Chicago blocks south -- crawling distance by any measure -- and find yourself sitting in Pippins Tavern, another one of Chicago's better kept secret hideaways. Here you'll find Old Chicago ambience in a neighborhood bar that has been filling the glasses since 1949. You won't stay thirsty at Pippins, my friend...

Back to menu Return to top

Change search