$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

3 stars
View map of 100 East Chestnut, 100 East Chestnut, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
224 out of 224
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yudi
Westmont, IL, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Location, affordabilty, quality , clean, quaint,courteous

I have stayed at the Tremont before. This is why I decided to return. It is the best value in the city of Chicago. The location is perfect ..situated on the Magnificent Mile.steps away from restaurants, malls and Chicago nightlife. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. The best thing...affordable. I have recommended it to my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the CTA to get around Chicago.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Illinois
Aug 11, 2011

The room was smaller than advertised.

The room was smaller than advertised, poorly maintained, and directly over the fryer vent of Mike Ditka's Grill. The location of the hotel is great. I expect more for the price that I paid ($238.40 per night). If you get a better price, it's a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pleased vactioner
Business
Ashland Oregon
Aug 8, 2011

Can't beat the location.

Price and location great. New beds that I could hardly get my 16 year old out of. Can walk to everything...Water Tower, right off the Magnificent Mile...All buses within two blocks and train within three. Staff knowledgeable and friendly. $5.00 breakfast and free coffee. Also, Starbucks directly across the street. Will go back, and reccomend to anyone who asks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Tempo- two blocks up Chestnut. Open twenty four hours, and offers everything, from breakfast, sandwiches, full dinners and homemade pies and cakes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChicagoMama
Business
Central Ohio
Aug 4, 2011

Best-kept Secret

My priorities: clean, inexpensive, good location. Tremont met them all. Desk clerk was welcoming. Room was a bit dated and worn, but CLEAN. Mattress was more comfortable than home! Bath fixtures were a little hard to operate--maybe early handicap-accessible design that must have been better on paper? Couldn't believe how quiet it was, even with construction next door. Rate couldn't be beat by a long shot. Located right off Mag Mile and Hancock Tower, so easy to shop, grab taxis / tour buses, and find your way back after meandering! Free WiFi, which is so helpful for travelers. True, hotel has only one small, slow elevator. But an extra thirty-second wait is no big deal. (Hint: bring your own hair conditioner.) Please don't tell anyone how great this place is...I want there to be room at the inn when I return to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fat Back Steve
Business
North of Boston
Aug 2, 2011

No problems here.

Stayed here for two nights on a visit to the city to see the sights and check out native cuisine. The hotel has some character and charm to it. The service was friendly and attentive. The rooms were very clean and adequately air conditioned on scorching hot days and nights. This is a no frills hotel. A clean room, bathroom, A TV and some air and that's about it. There is a lounge to sit and relax but don't expect a pool or any of those other amenities. It's nestled in on a city block so there's no room for extras. Great place if your just looking to hang your head and freshen up as you tour the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Careful where you eat. Even some of the more popular places are built on status and hype. Carmines had a great atmosphere and exquisite service but when you get down to it, the food was not that good and so overpriced it's almost funny. My fettuccini was over cooked with a flavorless all cream alfredo sauce. The meatballs were undercooked and I would simply not eat there again. On the other hand Giordano's Pizza was a decent way to experience Chicago style pizza. Avoid Ed Debevic's whatever you do, that was just simply about the worst food I've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jul 13, 2011

Wonderful Experience

This beautiful boutique hotel provided me with some much needed rest. It was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and the room was extremely quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Belmont, NC
Jul 7, 2011

Tremont @ Mag Mile

Close to Magnificent Mile but room was small-- no pool or lounge to watch tv; breakfast was $5 and not really worth it;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks across the street! Tempo Restaurant a short walk away...they only take cash though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln Neb.
Jun 26, 2011

Could use some finish work.

The location was great. The fit and finish in the room was lacking. Pealing and wrinkles in the wall paper left me feeling tacky. Would the Best Western have been just as good? for less?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Your olny a block from Mich. ave. Great location Bus and subway are short walks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sped teacher01
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 16, 2011

Close but pricey!

We went shopping, eating out, American Girl, Navy Pier and Shedd's Aquar. There was no room service and although the room was clean, the wallpaper was falling off, it had definitely taken a beating. Also, our last night we had leftover pizza. Even though there was a restaurant connected, we could not get our pizza microwaved! Contenntial breakfast was $5.00. Really!!! This was all for a king size bed, 3 nights and over $800.00!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The only plus was that we were one block from Michigan Ave. We walked or took the bus to where we wanted to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Experienced Business Traveler Tells All
Business
New York, NY
Jun 14, 2011

Simple, Clean and Overpriced

Simple, elegant decor, would be perfect for a trip to Chicago for business or pleasure if not for the price which is simply not justifiable. To charge $250ish a night with zero amenities (no pool, gym, on demand movies, etc), very basic rooms and unreliable valet service (at $45 a night!), is simply unfair. Friendly staff and free wi-fi however a plus, Just sort of ho hum, but well located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Traverse City, Michigan
May 27, 2011

Great value

This is a very basic hotel that is in need of an upgrade. I paid an extra $10 per night for a more spacious room. It was worth it. I got a room with plenty of space and lots of character. It was very quiet. It had a firm king sized bed, flat screen television, and lots of windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top