$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

3 stars
100 E. Chestnut, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
211 reviews
Love the lobby and my bed!!!

The staff is great, specially Maria!!! Our bedroom was super nice, and our bed luxurious. And the... See full review

  • Ramiret
  • Jan 14, 2014
best hotel near magnificent mile

it was better than a thouth, i like it very much, before a went to the hotel tremont i thouth it... See full review

  • Pilar wolff
  • Sep 23, 2013
Quaint vintage hotel just off the Magnificent Mile

A deep green awning marks the entrance to this downtown hotel, which reflects the charm and European elegance of its Gold Coast environs. Guests can walk to Magnificent Mile shops, restaurants, bars, elite Oak Street boutiques and Rush Street nightlife from the doors of the Treemont Hotel. Like the vintage buildings that surround it, the Treemont was designed with strong bones, boasting hardwood floors, wood-paneled ceilings and lovely touches like archways, crown molding and a baby grand piano in the lobby.

Highlights
  • Walk to the Magnificent Mile, Rush Street and Oak Street
  • Penthouse suites with 11-foot ceilings, fireplace, Jacuzzi tub and wet bar
  • Mike Ditka's steakhouse complete with cigar lounge and sports memorabilia
  • The Tremont studios offer furnished apartment-style accommodations next door for extended stays
  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms
Rooms

The Tremont Chicago remains true to its old-world character. Carpeted parloresque rooms boast ladylike flair with floral patterned drapes, tufted headboards, Queen-Anne style nightstands and dainty brass lamps. Some rooms have kitchenettes and sitting areas. Guests can pay additional fees for their own microwave and refrigerator, but Wi-Fi is free in all rooms.

For longer stays, reserve the Tremont studios next door, a collection of 12 fully-furnished studios with kitchens.

Features

Chicago's appetite for steak is legendary. Here, find one of the best chophouses in the city at Mike Ditka's, which pays tribute to the famed Chicago Bears coach with a prized collection of sports memorabilia, including football helmets of his former teams. The two-level restaurant fires a solid selection of cuts, like the Filet Medallions Three Ways or the Kick-Ass Paddle Steak, but extends the spread to chicken, seafood and burgers as well. At the end of the meal, retire to the handsome second-floor cigar lounge for live entertainment and single-malt Scotch.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (17 miles)
  • Midway Airport (12 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (10 minutes)
Attractions
  • Rush Street
  • Division Street
  • Gold Coast
  • Lake Michigan
  • Magnificent Mile
  • John Hancock Center
  • Oak Street
Business
  • 3 meeting rooms with natural lighting
  • Mike Ditka's offers catering services

Hotel Map

41.8983 -87.6256
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 9.78, MI; Chicago O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 15.49, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • History Museum: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Apr 12, 2010

Nonsense

We thought we had a good deal on this hotel. Unfortunately, when we got there we were told that it was $50 to park our car overnight with valet parking. Whenever we needed the car, it took about a half hour to get. The room was all right; nothing too special. The wallpaper was peeling and the shower was pretty creepy. The board under the sink in the bathroom was loose and when we pulled it back to look under, there were years worth of empty beer cans and dust. Who knows what someone could have hidden down there without anyone ever realizing! They clearly do not clean thoroughly. Then, we asked about continental breakfast and were told that they had a great layout for just $5 in the adjoining restaurant. It was by far the worst continental breakfast I have ever had and the only one I have ever paid for. I would not stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
hannibal
Apr 11, 2010

Average

Shopping was excellent but the sleep was not. Hotel itself was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dayton, OH
Mar 26, 2010

Tremont Hotel

My experience at the Tremont was overall a good one, but I don't think I'd stay again. It was a great value for the price; but the rooms were a little small and needed updating. It looked like the last time any renovating had been done was the 1980's. There was no mini-fridge; which would have been convenient for our left overs...and no ice machine. The hotel overall lacked a few things that I would expect to see at any other hotel. Also, there was an old deodorant stick left under the dresser. There is no complimentary breakfast; but they have it every morning for an extra charge of $5. Besides that, the room was clean overall, and the location was perfect for where we wanted to be. --Right next to Michigan Avenue and about a 20 minute walk to Navy Pier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Mile -- right around corner

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
surprised surburbanite!!!!
Arlington Heights, IL
Mar 21, 2010

needs a major updating!!!!

if you just need a place to sleep and arent picky about hygiene..well your good...but if normal standards of room cleanliness are important..then absolutely skip this place!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

if you need or want to stay within blocks of MAG MILE..then you've found the spot. FOr the location it's a deal.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Frankfort IL
Mar 3, 2010

great location

Staff very helpful, wonderful location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Dec 8, 2009

Sweet

Awesome Awesome location. they actually put us next to the tremont in the tremont studios worst thing about it was no coffee pot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago IL
Nov 28, 2009

Good Location, Poor facility

We stayed at this hotel primarily for the location, that was a mistake. The halls are loud, the walls were patched and bubbling in our room, and it was an unpleasant experience. We made the best of it, by not staying in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cedar Rapids, IA
Nov 27, 2009

Perfect location for the price

Would have been nice to have a coffee pot in the room but Starbuck's was a cross the street. The location allowed us to shop/walk and return to the hotel for rest and start again. The hotel is old so may not be for everyone but definitely has character. Our room with a king size bed was large and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoy lunch or dinner at Mike Ditka's Resturant, which is next door to the Tremont. Mike is usally there on Friday evenings.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joheba
Madrid, Spain
Nov 2, 2009

Very good location, everything perfect

Clean room, good location, no trouble at all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stevens Point, Wis.
Oct 29, 2009

Unbeatable price for the location

OK, if you need all new surroundings, this is not the place for you. The Tremont is a faded rose, with some nicks and scuffs. But everything was clean, the bathroom was remodeled and everything worked. What is incomparable are the ambiance and decor! It was like stepping into a movie from the 1920s. And the location! Try to find another room in the Gold Coast area for about $100.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search