$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

3 stars
View map of 100 East Chestnut, 100 East Chestnut, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Jul 30, 2010

Charming, quirky, friendly

Extraordinary location. Quieter street in very busy area. Had great views from room of lake, John Hancock, old church, Water Tower. Staff was terrific - particularly the valets and bellhops who went waaaay above and beyond. Valet even told us where we could park for cheaper and walked us to a restaurant one evening. Free wi-fi whcih is rare in this neighborhood. The rooms were smallish with a B&B feel. Great breakfast spot a quick walk down the block. Water dripped in tub when neighboring room showered. Great lobby area with piano, couches and old wooden ceiling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For quick sandwiches, salads, pies, coffee etc. there's a sustainable cafe inside the visitor's center - just a block away from the hotel. Proceeds go to feed Chicago's homeless. Eat there for free wi-fi and nice atmosphere or take to go back to hotel room. Great to have so close and a nice change from Starbucks!

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lawgrad
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 28, 2010

Worst hotel ever!

I was in town to take a bar exam so all I wanted was a place to relax and watch tv at night. The room was tiny! I had to buy a cooler to fill with ice because they had no mini fridges. The staff was extremely slow and not very friendly. They only have basic television channels and the tv was all fuzzy. I expect more for this much money. Stay at the Seneca, it's two blocks away and multiple times the value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jul 22, 2010

Affordable hotel - nice Chicago location

We wanted an affordable place to stay in the downtown area of Chicago while visiting family and doing some of the "tourist" things. The location was great - nice walking distance from great resaurants and shopping - and just a short cab ride to museums or Lincoln Park Zoo. The room was clean and comfortable, had free wi-fi and a $5.00 continental breakfast with lots to choose from at Dytka's next door. If you want a fancier coffee, you can also hit Starbucks across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the American Girl store - where our granddaughters were able to take their dolls for new outfits. They hold tea parties there and even do doll ear piercings! Very short walk to Watertower Place and other shopping.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville
Jul 14, 2010

Perfect location

Perfect location, directly across from the Hancock building. It puts you at walking distance (if you consider one mile walking) to all the downtown tourist attractions, and it's quiet for being right in the middle of town. If you drive, prepare to spend anywhere from 35 to 50 dollars a night to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

The Art Institute of Chicago is right outside of Millineum Park, a mile down Michigan Avenue. Both are highly recommended.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 12, 2010

Can't beat the location

The hotel was nice - The lobby was absolutely gorgeous, and the rooms were pretty nice, if not slightly bare and small. But the rooms also served their purpose well; all you truly need at the Tremont is a place to sleep. Being able to look out the window and stare directly at Michigan Ave. and the John Hancock building was incredible, and having Ditka's connected to the restaurant was also incredibly helpful. The hotel itself was fine, nothing terribly exceptional, but the location of the Tremont is where it really came through, you are literally a stone's throw from the Magnificent Mile, all the shopping, restaurants, and bars you could want. You're right by Lake Shore Drive and the beach. The rooms may not have been the most exceptional thing we'd ever seen, but really with a location like this, you shouldn't be spending too much time in your rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro 110 is an excellent and fairly reasonably priced French bistro about 300 yards from the hotel, right across the street from the Hershey store and the Water Tower. Great lunch, great brunch.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jose Jimenez
Business
Mexico City, Mexico
Jul 7, 2010

The Tremont Hotel: a friendly oasis.

I went to Chicago for a weekend of R&R a break from a business trip to the Midwest. The price, the location and the service were superb. I have stayed in other hotels near by and in boutique hotels, the Tremont is the best by far. It has no internet for guests but then I wanted to get away from my every day routine. It has no gym or pool but the weather was perfect for long walks in Grant Park. JJ

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A half block from Michigan Avenue and near restaurants, entertainment and transportation.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheer Coach
Business
Suitland MD
Jul 4, 2010

Get time to get away

Great location to beach as well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

do not rent a car...publice transportion is the best way of getting around.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 1, 2010

never again

the worst hotel experience ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Akron, OH
Jun 13, 2010

Just a great place to stay with ambience

We enjoyed the charm of a baby grand piano, decorated mantle and other European-style decor in the lobby. Also: an endless supply of lifesavers in bowls around the lobby area! We arrived about 1.5 hrs. earlier than the check-in time but our room was ready and we were able to move right in. The staff was courteous, friendly and helpful. The concierge got us a reservation on a tour that we wanted right away with no problem. We were close to shopping, restaurants and parks and were able to walk to many places easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many different types of dining within walking distance (breakfast places, seafood, Italian, French, and casual dining)

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicago Regular
Business
Holland, Michigan
May 8, 2010

Great location for the price

Great location, Room needs to be updated, but for the price a great deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top