$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

3 stars
100 E. Chestnut, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
353 reviews
Love the lobby and my bed!!!

The staff is great, specially Maria!!! Our bedroom was super nice, and our bed luxurious. And the... See full review

  • Ramiret
  • Jan 14, 2014
best hotel near magnificent mile

it was better than a thouth, i like it very much, before a went to the hotel tremont i thouth it... See full review

  • Pilar wolff
  • Sep 23, 2013
Quaint vintage hotel just off the Magnificent Mile

A deep green awning marks the entrance to this downtown hotel, which reflects the charm and European elegance of its Gold Coast environs. Guests can walk to Magnificent Mile shops, restaurants, bars, elite Oak Street boutiques and Rush Street nightlife from the doors of the Treemont Hotel. Like the vintage buildings that surround it, the Treemont was designed with strong bones, boasting hardwood floors, wood-paneled ceilings and lovely touches like archways, crown molding and a baby grand piano in the lobby.

Highlights
  • Walk to the Magnificent Mile, Rush Street and Oak Street
  • Penthouse suites with 11-foot ceilings, fireplace, Jacuzzi tub and wet bar
  • Mike Ditka's steakhouse complete with cigar lounge and sports memorabilia
  • The Tremont studios offer furnished apartment-style accommodations next door for extended stays
  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms
Rooms

The Tremont Chicago remains true to its old-world character. Carpeted parloresque rooms boast ladylike flair with floral patterned drapes, tufted headboards, Queen-Anne style nightstands and dainty brass lamps. Some rooms have kitchenettes and sitting areas. Guests can pay additional fees for their own microwave and refrigerator, but Wi-Fi is free in all rooms.

For longer stays, reserve the Tremont studios next door, a collection of 12 fully-furnished studios with kitchens.

Features

Chicago's appetite for steak is legendary. Here, find one of the best chophouses in the city at Mike Ditka's, which pays tribute to the famed Chicago Bears coach with a prized collection of sports memorabilia, including football helmets of his former teams. The two-level restaurant fires a solid selection of cuts, like the Filet Medallions Three Ways or the Kick-Ass Paddle Steak, but extends the spread to chicken, seafood and burgers as well. At the end of the meal, retire to the handsome second-floor cigar lounge for live entertainment and single-malt Scotch.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (17 miles)
  • Midway Airport (12 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (10 minutes)
Attractions
  • Rush Street
  • Division Street
  • Gold Coast
  • Lake Michigan
  • Magnificent Mile
  • John Hancock Center
  • Oak Street
Business
  • 3 meeting rooms with natural lighting
  • Mike Ditka's offers catering services

Hotel Map

41.8983 -87.6256
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 9.78, MI; Chicago O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 15.49, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • History Museum: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (353)

Ratings and reviews for The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
353 out of 353
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Learning to Travel
Detroit, MI
Feb 23, 2011

Great Location, Poor Stay

Even though the hotel was in a very convenient area, the hotel itself needs some upgrades. The worst thing is the elevator; there is only one, it's slow, and it's scary to say the least. The rooms are clean, but antique; the plumbing needs some TLC. They charge you for breakfast, and it consists of cereal, bagels, muffins, and something to drink. Finally, there is no pool - which would have been nice as an end to the day. I would not recommend this to those who would want a memorable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of going to the middle of downtown to shop, look around the few blocks that are surrounding the hotel. You'll find all the stores there that you would find in the half-hour bus ride to the middle.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Feb 22, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

Well my TV remote did not work but I never reported since I was able to change the channels manually they should check equipment before renting the hotel room out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall is walking distance away, many restaurants within the mall.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Feb 22, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

Well my TV remote did not work but I never reported since I was able to change the channels manually they should check equipment before renting the hotel room out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall is walking distance away, many restaurants within the mall.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eyecats
Stevens Point, WI
Feb 8, 2011

Charming Hotel in Great Location!

The room was super clean but slightly dated (but in a charming and interesting way). The room maintained a perfect temperature. I loved the building. The front desk clerks were EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. The hotel location was perfect! Restaurants and shopping are right outside the door, and if you need to go farther, public transportion is very close (bus/subway). The price was great! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro 101 - great food!

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eyecats
Stevens Point, WI
Feb 8, 2011

Charming Hotel in Great Location!

The room was super clean but slightly dated (but in a charming and interesting way). The room maintained a perfect temperature. I loved the building. The front desk clerks were EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. The hotel location was perfect! Restaurants and shopping are right outside the door, and if you need to go farther, public transportion is very close (bus/subway). The price was great! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro 101 - great food!

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Feb 6, 2011

Location, Ambience, Privacy!

Classic charm in this downtown hotel located just a couple of blocks off magmile. We were within walking distance of the Hancock tower, Water Tower, American Girl Place, Giordanos - home of Chicago's deep dish pizza, plenty of shopping, Walgreens for emergencies and Starbucks for respite between outings. We discovered Tempo Cafe which had hearty breakfasts/lunches and even late nite meals at reasonable rates. What the hotel lacked in contemporary amenities, it made up for in charm, cleanliness, excellent service, and respectful quiet privacy. Coffee in the room would have been nice. We didn't miss a gym but could have used one a block away. Breakfast at Ditkas was not a good idea -- walk the block to Tempo, pay a bit more, but enjoy a wonderful meal. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends visiting Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempo Cafe - less than 2 blocks away. Reasonable rates, hearty meals, good service. Open late!

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Feb 6, 2011

Location, Ambience, Privacy!

Classic charm in this downtown hotel located just a couple of blocks off magmile. We were within walking distance of the Hancock tower, Water Tower, American Girl Place, Giordanos - home of Chicago's deep dish pizza, plenty of shopping, Walgreens for emergencies and Starbucks for respite between outings. We discovered Tempo Cafe which had hearty breakfasts/lunches and even late nite meals at reasonable rates. What the hotel lacked in contemporary amenities, it made up for in charm, cleanliness, excellent service, and respectful quiet privacy. Coffee in the room would have been nice. We didn't miss a gym but could have used one a block away. Breakfast at Ditkas was not a good idea -- walk the block to Tempo, pay a bit more, but enjoy a wonderful meal. I will recommend this hotel to all my friends visiting Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempo Cafe - less than 2 blocks away. Reasonable rates, hearty meals, good service. Open late!

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Feb 1, 2011

Good Family Getaway

Its good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Good restaurant within the hotel

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Feb 1, 2011

Good Family Getaway

Its good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Good restaurant within the hotel

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
IL
Feb 1, 2011

Nice One

Nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top