$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

3 stars
View map of 100 East Chestnut, 100 East Chestnut, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Belmont, NC
Jul 7, 2011

Tremont @ Mag Mile

Close to Magnificent Mile but room was small-- no pool or lounge to watch tv; breakfast was $5 and not really worth it;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks across the street! Tempo Restaurant a short walk away...they only take cash though.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln Neb.
Jun 26, 2011

Could use some finish work.

The location was great. The fit and finish in the room was lacking. Pealing and wrinkles in the wall paper left me feeling tacky. Would the Best Western have been just as good? for less?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Your olny a block from Mich. ave. Great location Bus and subway are short walks.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sped teacher01
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 16, 2011

Close but pricey!

We went shopping, eating out, American Girl, Navy Pier and Shedd's Aquar. There was no room service and although the room was clean, the wallpaper was falling off, it had definitely taken a beating. Also, our last night we had leftover pizza. Even though there was a restaurant connected, we could not get our pizza microwaved! Contenntial breakfast was $5.00. Really!!! This was all for a king size bed, 3 nights and over $800.00!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The only plus was that we were one block from Michigan Ave. We walked or took the bus to where we wanted to go.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Experienced Business Traveler Tells All
Business
New York, NY
Jun 14, 2011

Simple, Clean and Overpriced

Simple, elegant decor, would be perfect for a trip to Chicago for business or pleasure if not for the price which is simply not justifiable. To charge $250ish a night with zero amenities (no pool, gym, on demand movies, etc), very basic rooms and unreliable valet service (at $45 a night!), is simply unfair. Friendly staff and free wi-fi however a plus, Just sort of ho hum, but well located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Traverse City, Michigan
May 27, 2011

Great value

This is a very basic hotel that is in need of an upgrade. I paid an extra $10 per night for a more spacious room. It was worth it. I got a room with plenty of space and lots of character. It was very quiet. It had a firm king sized bed, flat screen television, and lots of windows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
augnut
Business
Third Rock
May 12, 2011

Nice Cozy Place, Nothing Special

Room was clean & cozy, but reminded me of the jail cells you see on reality TV. Sometimes I like to just spend some time in my room and relax or do some work. This one was just too small for me. I guess if you just need a place to sleep the night and get a decent meal in the same building, (downstairs at Ditkas'), then you will enjoy it. I was just spoiled with the large spacious rooms at modern hotels/motels and feel more comfortable in them. But the Only real complaint I have is parking...There is none reasonable...be ready to pay as much for parking as you do for the room. Chicago politics at its' finest.... If you are visiting from out of town, grab a room off Higgins Road or River Road in Park Ridge or Rosemont, and catch the CTA Train DownTown to explore the inner city. The money you save on parking can be spent on better things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to stay here, leave your vehicle somewhere else.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coachtom
Business
Milwaukee
Apr 8, 2011

Nice room, great location

The Tremont is a great location. The room (queen) was nice, nothing remarkable. Service was good with a friendly and attentive staff. Lobby is old school and shares a common entrance with Ditka's Restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, MO
Apr 4, 2011

great place!

good place! near the michigan ave. no matter to the museum campus or the navy pier, the transportation is so convenience. cannot find another one with this wonderful price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Learning to Travel
Business
Detroit, MI
Feb 23, 2011

Great Location, Poor Stay

Even though the hotel was in a very convenient area, the hotel itself needs some upgrades. The worst thing is the elevator; there is only one, it's slow, and it's scary to say the least. The rooms are clean, but antique; the plumbing needs some TLC. They charge you for breakfast, and it consists of cereal, bagels, muffins, and something to drink. Finally, there is no pool - which would have been nice as an end to the day. I would not recommend this to those who would want a memorable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of going to the middle of downtown to shop, look around the few blocks that are surrounding the hotel. You'll find all the stores there that you would find in the half-hour bus ride to the middle.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Feb 22, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

Well my TV remote did not work but I never reported since I was able to change the channels manually they should check equipment before renting the hotel room out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall is walking distance away, many restaurants within the mall.

Back to menu Return to top