$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

3 stars
100 E. Chestnut, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
211 reviews
Love the lobby and my bed!!!

The staff is great, specially Maria!!! Our bedroom was super nice, and our bed luxurious. And the... See full review

  • Ramiret
  • Jan 14, 2014
best hotel near magnificent mile

it was better than a thouth, i like it very much, before a went to the hotel tremont i thouth it... See full review

  • Pilar wolff
  • Sep 23, 2013
Quaint vintage hotel just off the Magnificent Mile

A deep green awning marks the entrance to this downtown hotel, which reflects the charm and European elegance of its Gold Coast environs. Guests can walk to Magnificent Mile shops, restaurants, bars, elite Oak Street boutiques and Rush Street nightlife from the doors of the Treemont Hotel. Like the vintage buildings that surround it, the Treemont was designed with strong bones, boasting hardwood floors, wood-paneled ceilings and lovely touches like archways, crown molding and a baby grand piano in the lobby.

Highlights
  • Walk to the Magnificent Mile, Rush Street and Oak Street
  • Penthouse suites with 11-foot ceilings, fireplace, Jacuzzi tub and wet bar
  • Mike Ditka's steakhouse complete with cigar lounge and sports memorabilia
  • The Tremont studios offer furnished apartment-style accommodations next door for extended stays
  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms
Rooms

The Tremont Chicago remains true to its old-world character. Carpeted parloresque rooms boast ladylike flair with floral patterned drapes, tufted headboards, Queen-Anne style nightstands and dainty brass lamps. Some rooms have kitchenettes and sitting areas. Guests can pay additional fees for their own microwave and refrigerator, but Wi-Fi is free in all rooms.

For longer stays, reserve the Tremont studios next door, a collection of 12 fully-furnished studios with kitchens.

Features

Chicago's appetite for steak is legendary. Here, find one of the best chophouses in the city at Mike Ditka's, which pays tribute to the famed Chicago Bears coach with a prized collection of sports memorabilia, including football helmets of his former teams. The two-level restaurant fires a solid selection of cuts, like the Filet Medallions Three Ways or the Kick-Ass Paddle Steak, but extends the spread to chicken, seafood and burgers as well. At the end of the meal, retire to the handsome second-floor cigar lounge for live entertainment and single-malt Scotch.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (17 miles)
  • Midway Airport (12 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (10 minutes)
Attractions
  • Rush Street
  • Division Street
  • Gold Coast
  • Lake Michigan
  • Magnificent Mile
  • John Hancock Center
  • Oak Street
Business
  • 3 meeting rooms with natural lighting
  • Mike Ditka's offers catering services

Hotel Map

41.8983 -87.6256
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 9.78, MI; Chicago O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 15.49, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile Rooms

Deluxe
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sitting area
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • History Museum: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (211)

Ratings and reviews for The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Jun 20, 2009

good value

location allowed business to get done and then be right in an excellent area to relax and enjoy Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jun 20, 2009

Fantastic location!

This hotel is a little gem and needs only a little bit of TLC to bring it up to a much greater level. The staff was terrific and the room was quiet. It is located a block off Michigan Avenue and was very convenient to just about everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
WI
Jun 20, 2009

good situation

we travelled several places when we stayed there. It's convinent to get the bus, train or just walk to the destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Beach, Calif.
Jun 18, 2009

Great location/ended up in long term sui

We were put into a room in the building next door ( usually for "long term" residents) so we were not actually in the hotel itself. For this reason, we did not really enjoy the full hotel experience. Also, we were not informed of the complimentary breakfast. Most staff was very helpful; only the desk clerk was off putting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jun 11, 2009

Great Location and Good Value

First of all let me say that we LOVED CHICAGO and will definitely go back again and do some of the things we missed on our long weekend there. When you first come into the hotel, its nice and quaint...the staff is friendly...and check in was easy. Its a small older hotel, the rooms are small and could use some updating...but for what we needed it was fine. It is connected to Ditka's Restaurant, where we had the continental breakfast each day...don't expect much for free though! The restuarant was great otherwise for drinks, apps, and watching the game. Some what over priced though for an all out dinner I thought. Make sure you ask how much a bottle of wine is before you order it! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If shopping is what you are looking for this is a great location at the end of the Magnificent Mile...we walked up and down it just about everyday window shopping and its closest store is H & M which we just love to pick up some great fashions at great prices!!!

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Geneva,Switzerland
Jun 8, 2009

Excellent location for the price

Missing my morning tea since the staff in the dining room refused to give me a cup of hot water, (I went to purchase tea bags, but no water for me!). And the concierge charges $3 per bag to hold them a few hours after chek-out! That was a first!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel should be more helpfull on arranging transportation to the airport and give informations on how to get there other then taxi.

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Habford,CA
May 29, 2009

Friendly staff, long term stay possible

Well located downtown. Many sites,and restaurants within walking distance. *****Orbits charged too much for booking airport shuttle. The costs for the shuttle at the airport was $36.00 per person. Orbits charged $52.00 per person. I would not recomend booking a shuttle through Orbits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ven
Cleveland, OH
May 24, 2009

Great central location

Great location close to all shopping on Michigan ave. Close to red line transit. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
dublin
May 17, 2009

Great location for the price

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at the tremont for a week in early may and couldn't have been happier with the choice. its location was unbelievable, close to everything shopping, restaurants and the cta. the hotel room was big compared to others we stayed, and the bed was massive. the bathroom was fine, very clean. the guy down at reception was fantastic, great local knowledge and very friendly. breakfast was cereal and crumpets type thing, coffee too, grand to get you started. slight street noise and no curtains the only drawback.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

carmines

Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
periscope
birmingham, al
May 11, 2009

Great location, lackluster otherwise

After I checked in, no one directed me as far as where the elevator was. Elevator is extremely slow and there is only one of them. I called down to the front desk later in my stay, but no one answered. Continental breakfast is fairly limited, and a sign stated we were not allowed to take food out of the restaurant area! On the plus side, our room was clean and the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search