$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

3 stars
100 East Chestnut, 100 East Chestnut, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
219 reviews
Comfortable stay,right close to the Magnificent Mile

Very happy here at the Tremont. We always will stay at the Tremont every year that we visit Chicago. See full review

  • betta betty
  • Sep 20, 2014
Pleasantly surprised!

The location was perfect for us! Bars, restaurants, shops, the subway all a short walk away. The... See full review

  • sally the gal
  • Sep 9, 2014
Quaint vintage hotel just off the Magnificent Mile

A deep green awning marks the entrance to this downtown hotel, which reflects the charm and European elegance of its Gold Coast environs. Guests can walk to Magnificent Mile shops, restaurants, bars, elite Oak Street boutiques and Rush Street nightlife from the doors of the Treemont Hotel. Like the vintage buildings that surround it, the Treemont was designed with strong bones, boasting hardwood floors, wood-paneled ceilings and lovely touches like archways, crown molding and a baby grand piano in the lobby.

Highlights
  • Walk to the Magnificent Mile, Rush Street and Oak Street
  • Penthouse suites with 11-foot ceilings, fireplace, Jacuzzi tub and wet bar
  • Mike Ditka's steakhouse complete with cigar lounge and sports memorabilia
  • The Tremont studios offer furnished apartment-style accommodations next door for extended stays
  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms
Rooms

The Tremont Chicago remains true to its old-world character. Carpeted parloresque rooms boast ladylike flair with floral patterned drapes, tufted headboards, Queen-Anne style nightstands and dainty brass lamps. Some rooms have kitchenettes and sitting areas. Guests can pay additional fees for their own microwave and refrigerator, but Wi-Fi is free in all rooms.

For longer stays, reserve the Tremont studios next door, a collection of 12 fully-furnished studios with kitchens.

Features

Chicago's appetite for steak is legendary. Here, find one of the best chophouses in the city at Mike Ditka's, which pays tribute to the famed Chicago Bears coach with a prized collection of sports memorabilia, including football helmets of his former teams. The two-level restaurant fires a solid selection of cuts, like the Filet Medallions Three Ways or the Kick-Ass Paddle Steak, but extends the spread to chicken, seafood and burgers as well. At the end of the meal, retire to the handsome second-floor cigar lounge for live entertainment and single-malt Scotch.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (17 miles)
  • Midway Airport (12 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (10 minutes)
Attractions
  • Rush Street
  • Division Street
  • Gold Coast
  • Lake Michigan
  • Magnificent Mile
  • John Hancock Center
  • Oak Street
Business
  • 3 meeting rooms with natural lighting
  • Mike Ditka's offers catering services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Guest laundromat
Porters
Doorman
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Phone with speaker
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • History Museum: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi

Dining

Mike Ditka's Restaurant
Look no further than Mike Ditka’s Restaurant for an authentic Chicago steakhouse experience. Enjoy a delicious breakfast, lunch, or dinner with such menu options as steak, seafood, pasta, and one of the coach’s favorites: “Da Pork Chop.”

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (219)

Ratings and reviews for The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
219 out of 219
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jul 20, 2009

Great location

We enjoyed our stay in Chicago, but we had one complaint and that was with the over priced van service from the airport. We were charged $84 (pre-paid) roundtrip for the both of us and we could have saved money by purchasing on the spot. Your company suggested we use Express Go service which stopped 6 times before we got to the Tremont. We could have gotten a cab much cheaper with a direct route to the hotel. If I had to do it again, which we plan to, I don't know whether we will use cheap tickets for the trip. Southwest has non-stop cheap flights!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sixinchmoth
Business
downstate Illinois
Jul 20, 2009

Like a grand old lady

Like a grand old lady, the Tremont is best viewed under dim lighting and it's better if you don't expect her to do too much. The room had a small feel, and all the furnishing showed wear that went beyond charming patina (gouges, missing veneer). There was obvious smoke damage around the venting and the plumbing fixtures would have been swanky in the sixties. It was clear that this hotel had been a really nice hotel...about twenty years ago, but now all it has to offer is a fabulous location. Next time we will be staying somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
American Girl Mom
Business
Grosse Pointe , Michigan
Jul 19, 2009

American Girl Place Ideal Hotel Location

Superb location, clean and quiet. If you're coming for American Girl Place, it is literally on the next corner. We could see it from our window. Very convenient,but don't expect any frills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We came to visit the American Girl Place and were amazed that it was literally on the next corner along with the great shopping of Water Tower Place. Also,there is a Starbucks right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OLd foggy
Business
New York
Jul 19, 2009

Not to return

Excellent location ,but outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
long island, ny
Jul 15, 2009

good location,,good price.

hotel staff was friendly and the location was good. I would stay there again for the price and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

water tower place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big City Traveler
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Jul 6, 2009

Location, Location, Location

The location was amazing. Just off magnificent mile. We were able to walk to everything. Also very close to the subway for longer trips to Grant Park, Wrigley, etc. The staff was friendly and for the price this is the best location and place to stay. We arrived early and our room was already ready. The smoke detector went off in the middle of the night in the hallway and it took quite awhile to get it fixed and the elevators were incredibly slow, but other than that a great hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the three day pass on the train and you will be set!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Akron, OH
Jul 6, 2009

Very good location for the price

Polite staff, good restaurant recommendations, very close to all we wanted to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Very good subway/bus system. Easy to follow and use.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 2, 2009

Nice location

The location was very nice, right in the middle of the city. The building was older, but the rooms were in good shape. There was only one slow elevator and the continental breakfast left something to be desired. For the price, I think I got what I paid for. We were able to check in early because our room was ready, which was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quartino's Italian restaurant on the corner of Sate and Ontario has the most exquisite italian food I have ever had. I wanted to eat there every night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Jun 20, 2009

good value

location allowed business to get done and then be right in an excellent area to relax and enjoy Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jun 20, 2009

Fantastic location!

This hotel is a little gem and needs only a little bit of TLC to bring it up to a much greater level. The staff was terrific and the room was quiet. It is located a block off Michigan Avenue and was very convenient to just about everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top