$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

3 stars
100 East Chestnut, 100 East Chestnut, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
210 reviews
Pleasantly surprised!

The location was perfect for us! Bars, restaurants, shops, the subway all a short walk away. The... See full review

  • sally the gal
  • Sep 9, 2014
Love the lobby and my bed!!!

The staff is great, specially Maria!!! Our bedroom was super nice, and our bed luxurious. And the... See full review

  • Ramiret
  • Jan 14, 2014
Quaint vintage hotel just off the Magnificent Mile

A deep green awning marks the entrance to this downtown hotel, which reflects the charm and European elegance of its Gold Coast environs. Guests can walk to Magnificent Mile shops, restaurants, bars, elite Oak Street boutiques and Rush Street nightlife from the doors of the Treemont Hotel. Like the vintage buildings that surround it, the Treemont was designed with strong bones, boasting hardwood floors, wood-paneled ceilings and lovely touches like archways, crown molding and a baby grand piano in the lobby.

Highlights
  • Walk to the Magnificent Mile, Rush Street and Oak Street
  • Penthouse suites with 11-foot ceilings, fireplace, Jacuzzi tub and wet bar
  • Mike Ditka's steakhouse complete with cigar lounge and sports memorabilia
  • The Tremont studios offer furnished apartment-style accommodations next door for extended stays
  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms
Rooms

The Tremont Chicago remains true to its old-world character. Carpeted parloresque rooms boast ladylike flair with floral patterned drapes, tufted headboards, Queen-Anne style nightstands and dainty brass lamps. Some rooms have kitchenettes and sitting areas. Guests can pay additional fees for their own microwave and refrigerator, but Wi-Fi is free in all rooms.

For longer stays, reserve the Tremont studios next door, a collection of 12 fully-furnished studios with kitchens.

Features

Chicago's appetite for steak is legendary. Here, find one of the best chophouses in the city at Mike Ditka's, which pays tribute to the famed Chicago Bears coach with a prized collection of sports memorabilia, including football helmets of his former teams. The two-level restaurant fires a solid selection of cuts, like the Filet Medallions Three Ways or the Kick-Ass Paddle Steak, but extends the spread to chicken, seafood and burgers as well. At the end of the meal, retire to the handsome second-floor cigar lounge for live entertainment and single-malt Scotch.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (17 miles)
  • Midway Airport (12 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Clark/Lake to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (10 minutes)
Attractions
  • Rush Street
  • Division Street
  • Gold Coast
  • Lake Michigan
  • Magnificent Mile
  • John Hancock Center
  • Oak Street
Business
  • 3 meeting rooms with natural lighting
  • Mike Ditka's offers catering services

Hotel Map

41.8983 -87.6256
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 28.97, KM; Midway Airport, (MDW), 24.14, KM;
Area description
City Center, City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Guest laundromat
Porters
Doorman
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Phone with speaker
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • History Museum: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.1 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.3 mi

Dining

Mike Ditka's Restaurant
Look no further than Mike Ditka’s Restaurant for an authentic Chicago steakhouse experience. Enjoy a delicious breakfast, lunch, or dinner with such menu options as steak, seafood, pasta, and one of the coach’s favorites: “Da Pork Chop.”

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (210)

Ratings and reviews for The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Slow Rider
Running and Hiding, Indiana
Nov 30, 2010

Chicago Hideaway

Nestled in the heart of Chicago's Magnificent Mile, The Tremont Hotel is one of the best hideaways protected by Chicago's sprawling cityscape. Sharing the same address as Mike Ditka's Restaurant, 100 East Chestnut Street, The Tremont offers quick and easy access to most of Chicago's finest dining, shopping, museum, and city sightseeing experiences. On your next getaway, hideaway in economical comfort and unrivaled convenience: The Tremont Hotel, Chicago...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk a mere two Chicago blocks south -- crawling distance by any measure -- and find yourself sitting in Pippins Tavern, another one of Chicago's better kept secret hideaways. Here you'll find Old Chicago ambience in a neighborhood bar that has been filling the glasses since 1949. You won't stay thirsty at Pippins, my friend...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Begbie
Dallas, TX
Nov 30, 2010

Great location in the city.

Hotel is in a great location for buses, trains, and shopping on Michigan Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ann arbor
Nov 26, 2010

Nice stay

It's a nice place. And very convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just in the michgan avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Paris Illinois
Nov 19, 2010

Tremont

This was a beautiful old hotel, right next to Ditka's with a fabulous old world charm. You will love the location and staff. They were extremely courteous and helpful! Enjoy your stay...especially if you are a shopper ;o)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right along Michigan Avenue...you'll love it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saginaw, MI
Nov 9, 2010

Not bad, Very good

We did a lot shopping and walking. It would help if we had am map for smaller stores off the main drag. Overall it was a good trip. I think we would like go to a show of somekind next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure you know the location and distance of where you are going.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Saint Louis Mo.
Oct 28, 2010

Awesome location

The location is awesome, within walking distance to everything. The hotel is old and in need of updates, but the location and great staff made up for it. The bad part was that even my clean clothes had to be washed after returning home because everything smelled "musty". I would stay again, if I got a great price again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizano's pizza is right down the street, worth the wait, as well as a great little original Pancake House within walking distance for a nice breakfast, and not too pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Barbara, CA
Oct 27, 2010

Tremont Hotel -- small and good

I come to Chicago several times a year. I've been trying small, good Near North hotels, recently. I've given up on the dear old Ambassador East, after it just sank too low, in the recession. The Whitehall,too, is just a mass of scuffs and scratches and istruly run-down, except for the areas that are being painted. So it was good to come up with the very reasonably priced Tremont, one half block away (on a quiet street)from Michigan Avenue and Watertower Plaza. In these hard times, like many other low-priced hotels, it, too, has abandoned both room service and even the refrigerated minibar. But the staff is truly wonderful. I had dealings with four different people on the desk, each one more courteous and helpful than the one before. They are doing good hiring. They offer free Wi-Fi in the rooms, and a $5.00 full continental breakfast (incl. juice, English muffins, etc.) in the adjoining (indoor doorway) Mike Ditka's restaurant. My 10th-floor corner room and bath were spotless. Unlike my previous two hotels at this low price, no rips, tears, worn-away upholstery, bashed-off paint or cracked bathroom tiles. For the price, I would rate the Tremont a five, but for two things that were really bothersome. Presumably in the retrenching, they have taken away any bedside-table telephone. Every time the phone rings and you are in bed, you have to get up out of bed, and go across the room to the desk. But my real caveat(this wouldn't bother everyone) is that they have twelve TV channels, but have left out PBS. This is what lots of mid-priced hotels used to do, but most have seen the light.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Multi-story Watertower Plaza mall, and another big one,too, are on Michigan Ave., just one short half block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandy Missing Couples
great falls, mt
Oct 25, 2010

Perfect location, nice room

This was my 3rd trip to Chicago this year, this time for a wedding and a Bears game. As usual we had a great time and loved the hotel. Since we like to eat and party at Ditkas it was very convenient to get on an elevator on the second floor of Ditkas and go up to our room. The hotel is older with large comfortable rooms and a beautiful lobby that we enjoyed having our morning coffee in. The staff was great and allowed our daughter to park the car in front for free while we went for dinner. We definitely will return for another stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I'm not a shopper but did shop at Filines Bargain basement just 1 block away. Also all the hard core shoppers dream stores are in the same area. There's also a variety of restaurants and nightlife spots within a block or a short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix
Oct 9, 2010

Great location for the price

The location was great for sightseeing, shopping and public transportation. I liked the small hotel atmosphere. The rooms were not lux but were certainly adequate and a very good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Sep 29, 2010

Tremont Hotel

The hotel definately could be updated, but it was clean and in a good location. The only thing that turned me off was paying for the terrible breakfast. No one will tell you that you have to pay for it and you have to go out of your way to find a coin. Other than that I don't really have any complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search