$195 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

The Talbott Hotel

4 stars
20 E. Delaware, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
1,183 reviews
Perfect!

Loved The Talbott! Perfect location: near the north end of the Magnificent Mile, close to Lake... See full review

  • Bills' Fans
  • Sep 9, 2014
great hotel

It's all about location, Esay walk to every major store nearby. Stuff are nice and truely willing... See full review

  • sysn
  • Sep 1, 2014
Independently-owned and with a dedication to green practices, The Talbott Hotel has been a fixture in Chicago's Gold Coast neighborhood since 1927. The hotel mingles old-world sophistication with modern conveniences - the lobby has a cozy, open-fire warmth and the vintage-style boardrooms feature 1920s mahogany walls. Awarded the Best in Stay Award by Orbitz in 2012, the Talbott features exclusive touches like the creative Tippling Brothers cocktail menu at the Little Market Brasserie, and the knowledgeable 'Concierge Blog' on the hotel's site, setting the hotel far apart from other Chicago accommodations.
Key facts
  • 149 guestrooms
  • Pets allowed (up to 50 pounds, and fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces: 3 rooms, up to 200 guests
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant/bar: Little Market Brasserie
Neighborhood
With a prime location just a few blocks from Washington Square Park, Oak Street and the Magnificent Mile, The Talbott Hotel comes with easy access to shops like Bloomingdale's and Macy's, as well as the scenic Lakefront Trail on the shores of Lake Michigan. The Art Institute of Chicago is less than two miles from The Talbott's front entrance, boasting a staggering collection of over 250,000 works of art, including work by Vincent van Gogh, Claude Monet and Mary Cassatt.
Hints and tips
For privileged views of Chicago and a bit of distance from busy Delaware Street, ask for a room on the upper floors.
For a more personalized stay, the Talbott Hotel's packages offer everything from the princess treatment for young daughters - including milk and cupcakes at turndown - to a $50 gift certificate  for the 900 North Michigan Shops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8994 -87.6275
Area served
Chicago, Illinois.
Nearby airports
O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Area description
The Talbott Hotel is located at 20 East Delaware Place, an elegant tree lined street in the heart of Chicago's prestigious Gold Coast. Just off Michigan Avenue, our guests have immediate access to some of the world's most sophisticated shopping, fine dining, and entertainment.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Talbott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Talbott Hotel Rooms

Superior Double Queen
Luxuriously appointed, 403-square-foot Superior Double Queen guest room features two queen-size pillow-top beds with feather pillows, an armoire, working desk with a Mac Mini computer and two sitting chairs"perfect for families or guests who need ample space for sharing.
Superior King
Superior King rooms feature over 400 square-feet of living space a king size pillow top bed, a luxurious bathroom with Italian marble and granite, an armoire and a large work desk equipped with a Mac Mini and the latest in technology.
Deluxe Double Queen
Spacious Deluxe Double Queen rooms offer 364 square foot guest rooms featuring two queen size pillow top beds with feather pillows, armoire, working desk and two sitting chairs.
Standard King Room
Standard King Rooms offer 316 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
One Bedroom Suite
Each expansive One Bedroom Suite, approximately 700 square feet, offers a separate bedroom and living area with a sofa and oversized working desk. The enormous, spa-like suite bathroom features a soaking tub and separate glass enclosed shower along with two separate vanity areas and a separate sitting area.
Deluxe King
Elegant Deluxe King Rooms feature over 360 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
Executive King
Our Executive King rooms with an astounding 475-square-feet of living space share the same premium pillow top king bed with six down pillows and a down duvet as all of our king bedded rooms, along with dual vanity sinks and a separate tub and shower.
Deluxe Parlor King
Deluxe Parlor King rooms feature 435 square feet of space, an intimate sitting area and an oversized desk along with our famous king bed.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Delaware Room and the Gallery are located on the first floor and The Victoria Room on the second floor. Each of these is completely adaptable to serve the needs of our guests. Our experienced catering staff takes the greatest pride in servicing each private function exactly as the guest requires. Capacities and dimensions are detailed below. The Delaware Room may be combined with the lobby of the hotel, allowing comfortable capacity for a 175 guest cocktail reception.

Dining

Little Market Brasserie
Little Market Brasserie is a comfortable alternative to the usual downtown dining scene and will offer a moderately priced menu. Little Market Brasserie offers Chicago a taste of different regions of the United States while using ingredients from around the world. Chef Ryan Poli and Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval traveled around 12 different cities looking for ideas and inspiration. The menu at Little Market Brasserie features a diverse, yet approachable selection of dishes inspired by classic French Brasseries while using a variety of ingredients from different parts of the world. Menu items include short rib-cognac poutine and cheese curds - Little Market's version of French Fries.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1183)

Ratings and reviews for The Talbott Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
1183 out of 1183
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kent Radke
Omaha, NE
Jun 21, 2010

Eagles Concert

Overall experience was great. We flew to Chicago for the Keith Urban/Eagles Concert at Soldier's Field. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Room was clean and kept up daily. Had breakfast in restuarant before we left on Sunday and food was average. Room service food night before was poor quality. Staff helped us print airline boarding passes before we left. Great help and made our check-in at O'Hara go very smooth, especially with curb side service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask cab drivers for the best places to go. Only a short ride. Quartino's is a great place for pizza and only a short distance from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheesehead Badger in CA
Walnut Creek, California
Apr 7, 2013

Suburban moms' exquisite escape

Three friends and I experienced shopping, wine tasting, and the glories of the Purple Pig before rejuvenating at The (warm, welcoming, cheerfully-staffed) Talbott Hotel. Drinks were good--service fireside near bar in lobby was a dream as we chatted and shared teenage-rearing woes and strategies. Lived the gorgeous room, linens, and super clean. Restorative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Purple Pig has awesome food. Right across from Intercontinental Hotel. Had to wait 90 minutes, so we started at Enyo across the street from the Pig, phenomenal. Attitudinal waitstaff but great wine selection and artisan cheeses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Louisiana
Jul 28, 2010

Great Location

The hotel was very nice, but we did not spend very much time in the room. If you have ever been to Chicago you will know what I mean. There is just to much to do and see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you could ask for was within a short walking distance or cab ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lolla traveller
St. Louis, MO
Aug 9, 2011

Welcoming Hotel personnel

Would give 4.5 stars -- thought it was pricey for the size of the room. (But, maybe I'm out of touch with Chgo rates: it has been awhile since I've traveled there.) Was in Chgo for Lollapalooza and this is not a traditional hotel to book for such an "outing." Nonetheless, the hotel staff was great, and showed a real interest in our well being. On the last night, we came in REALLY muddy and wet and I thought someone might ask us to leave. Instead the night manager joked that it looked like we had a great time. Room was nice -- turn-down service was great and staff was always there to help. Room service is VERY pricey; but there were no problems with having Chinese delivered to the hotel for us to bring to the room. FANTASTIC location in my favorite city. Blocks from Water Tower and the north end of the Magnificent Mile. Great restaurants and shopping all around. A VERY lovely stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Find nearby restaurants for meals -- plenty to choose from. Hotel dining is expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Torreon
Scottsdale, AZ
Sep 4, 2012

A "husband" surprise weekend

We came to Chicago to see Wrigley field and a Cubs baseball game. My husband is an avid baseball fan and had never been to Wrigley field. I picked the Talbott after reading reviews online and seeing that it was walking distance to everything! The train to Wrigley was fun, quick and inexpensive. The concierge staff is excellent and gave us great advice on restaurants, activities and getting back to the airport without the expensive taxi fare. The gym was close by and very high end (a great free benefit). I would definitely go back here. Biggest problem is that you cannot book online! I had to go through a booking site to make the reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Have fun exercising at Bloomingdales!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelscot
tennessee
Aug 10, 2012

Great old-school hotel with mod-cons in great location

Hotel is two short blocks from Michigan Ave (near water tower) on a cross street with a neighborhood feel. Nice outdoor cafe area great for people watching. Lobby and public spaces are traditional wood-paneled and very comfortable. Rooms are traditional and our one was very large! Interestingly, the in-room entertainment system was really modern - access to netflix, many HD channels etc. Also, unusually for a hotel in this bracket, free wifi! In addition to all these positives, the Talbott's strongest feature is the level of service. Every one of the staff were professional, friendly, yet non-intrusive. Use the concierge! Outstanding advice, and help with restaurant bookings! If you are looking for a great hotel as a home base to chill when on a long weekend trip to Chicago, this is hard to beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Taxim in Wicker Park neighborhood for a different take on Mediterranean food, and Girl and the Goat in West Loop for interesting takes on a range of food, including, yes, goat....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marie A.
Kansas City, Missouri
Aug 25, 2014

Talbott Hotel

Every staff member we met was wonderful- cheerful and willing to bend over backwards- it is obvious that they like their jobs, and their environment. Our room was always taken care of and the linens were nice. We would definitely stay at the Talbott again! We like the area a great deal and felt very safe. We have stayed in many hotels in Chicago and find this one to be the quality of the Peninsula- but not the price. Old world European charm!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Million Dollar Quartet and Blue Man Group --FUN

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Horhay1241
Milwaukee, WI
Sep 7, 2009

Great Location

Great Location. rooms were small, but very nice. staff was very helpful, except for the reception desk seemed to have an attitude. Everyone else was great. Great stay and again, super location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blackhorse 6
Central Illinois
Mar 13, 2014

Great Boutique Hotel

Likes: Best customer service we have had, staff is ready and willing to help. Nice in room technology, Mac mini. Like the Keurig. Really good shampoo and conditioner choice. Equinox guest gym pass was nice. Dislikes: The bed and pillows weren't that great, they need to be upgraded. Two elevators didn't seem like it was enough, we were always waiting to get on one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Escape from Vegas
Las Vegas
Nov 23, 2012

Great Hotel

Great classic feel and decor to the hotel and it's rooms. -located right next to the Hancock Building and the Miracle Mile. -Great friendly staff. -Nice big bed and spacious rooms. -Very clean rooms. Would highly recommend the Talbott

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the view from the Hancock observatory, it's a must. It's probably the best view that any skyscraper observatory offers in Chicago.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search