$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

The Talbott Hotel

4 stars
20 E. Delaware, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
1,018 reviews
Splendiferous place to stay

Wonderful. We have never experienced any better anywhere in the world. A lot better than a lot of 5... See full review

  • Cactus Patch
  • Apr 6, 2014
Great stay in Chicago

Small hotel with all the comforts, including free wi-fi. Good location. Very friendly staff. Would... See full review

  • Visiting grandms
  • Apr 4, 2014

This Property is 100% Non-Smoking.

The Talbott Hotel in the heart of the Gold Coast offers spacious rooms with complimentary amenities including wireless internet and access to Equinox Fitness. Located steps from Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Rush Street, the heart of Chicago's night life. Voted as an Orbitz Best of the Best hotel. The Talbott Hotel is recognized as a leader in both leisure and business travel. It offers impeccable service with its concierge staff, all Les Clefs d'Or members, to assist with your evening plans or sightseeing.

After a day of excitement, relax and unwind in your oversized guest room. The elegant marble bath stocked with fine Molton Brown Bath and Spa products in your guest room or your suite. Dry off with your luxurious Frette bath linens, and sink into a terrycloth robe while enjoying a program on your 42" LCD flat screen television with 30 High Definition Channels. Nightly turndown service; we will refresh your room, turn down your bed and leave you with delectable chocolate. You will be fully rested and ready to start another day of exploration after sleeping in one of our plush pillow top beds with luxurious linens, down pillows and comforter. Another day of relaxation and luxury awaits you tomorrow Imagine the rest.

* Certified "Green Seal" Hotel.

* 100% of the hotels electrical carbon footprint is offset by Wind Energy.

* Four Diamond Rated by AAA.

* Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check in.

Valet Parking Rates
1 hour or less - staying at $22.00
1 - 3 hours - staying at $26.00
3 - 8 hours - increasing from $32.00 to $34.00
8 - 24 hours - increasing from $51.00 to $58.00
Little Market Brasserie - increasing from $13.00 to $14.00 Self Park - increasing from $36.00 to $40.00 with Validation otherwise $44.00 without.

A $20 fee per person, per night will apply to all reservations where there are more than 2 people staying in a room and will be charged directly by the hotel. Extra beds are also available upon request for a fee of $24/night. See Front Desk for more information.

The Talbott Hotel Rooms

Superior Double Queen
Luxuriously appointed, 403-square-foot Superior Double Queen guest room features two queen-size pillow-top beds with feather pillows, an armoire, working desk with a Mac Mini computer and two sitting chairs"perfect for families or guests who need ample space for sharing.
Superior King
Superior King rooms feature over 400 square-feet of living space a king size pillow top bed, a luxurious bathroom with Italian marble and granite, an armoire and a large work desk equipped with a Mac Mini and the latest in technology.
Deluxe Double Queen
Spacious Deluxe Double Queen rooms offer 364 square foot guest rooms featuring two queen size pillow top beds with feather pillows, armoire, working desk and two sitting chairs.
Standard King Room
Standard King Rooms offer 316 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
One Bedroom Suite
Each expansive One Bedroom Suite, approximately 700 square feet, offers a separate bedroom and living area with a sofa and oversized working desk. The enormous, spa-like suite bathroom features a soaking tub and separate glass enclosed shower along with two separate vanity areas and a separate sitting area.
Deluxe King
Elegant Deluxe King Rooms feature over 360 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
Executive King
Our Executive King rooms with an astounding 475-square-feet of living space share the same premium pillow top king bed with six down pillows and a down duvet as all of our king bedded rooms, along with dual vanity sinks and a separate tub and shower.
Deluxe Parlor King
Deluxe Parlor King rooms feature 435 square feet of space, an intimate sitting area and an oversized desk along with our famous king bed.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Talbott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8994 -87.6275
Area served
Chicago, Illinois.
Nearby airports
O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Area description
The Talbott Hotel is located at 20 East Delaware Place, an elegant tree lined street in the heart of Chicago's prestigious Gold Coast. Just off Michigan Avenue, our guests have immediate access to some of the world's most sophisticated shopping, fine dining, and entertainment.

Nearby points of interest

  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Delaware Room and the Gallery are located on the first floor and The Victoria Room on the second floor. Each of these is completely adaptable to serve the needs of our guests. Our experienced catering staff takes the greatest pride in servicing each private function exactly as the guest requires. Capacities and dimensions are detailed below. The Delaware Room may be combined with the lobby of the hotel, allowing comfortable capacity for a 175 guest cocktail reception.

Dining

Little Market Brasserie
Little Market Brasserie is a comfortable alternative to the usual downtown dining scene and will offer a moderately priced menu. Little Market Brasserie offers Chicago a taste of different regions of the United States while using ingredients from around the world. Chef Ryan Poli and Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval traveled around 12 different cities looking for ideas and inspiration. The menu at Little Market Brasserie features a diverse, yet approachable selection of dishes inspired by classic French Brasseries while using a variety of ingredients from different parts of the world. Menu items include short rib-cognac poutine and cheese curds - Little Market's version of French Fries.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1018)

Ratings and reviews for The Talbott Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
1018 out of 1018
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
howarrd
bloomfield hills, mi
Jan 22, 2013

Great location, excellent staff

Very friendly. great location, wonderful value. Nice small hotel, very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
northern suburbs of Chicago
Aug 31, 2010

Great location, excellent service

The Concierge Service was excellent also. Helped us get tickets and a dinner reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The restaurant Sixteen in the Trump Towers was fantastic.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
USA
Apr 6, 2008

Great Location but Construction

We were quite disappointed that at no time when I contacted the hotel directly did anyone mention the construction noise of the adjacent building! We were told at check in that our room had been upgraded to a Corner King. We were pleased with the room until the construction elevator woke us up Saturday morning, EARLY! We were going to move rooms for Saturday night but were told that there wouldn't be construction noise on Sunday...well not the case! We did move rooms Sunday to a wonderful suite yet it was CLOSER to the construction noise! We moved again to a room furthest away & it was tolerable for the rest of our stay! BICE restaurant next door is excellent for food & service; decor needs work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
SWO1
Norton Shores Michigan
Nov 29, 2011

Sorely disappointed

Plumbing pipes were knocking all of the time. Cleaning staff failed to remove food garbage from the previous day and did not remove the champagne bucket with melted ice. Thanksgiving menu wasn't even printed until 20 minutes after we arrived for our dinner reservtion. All in all, not what you would expect from a luxury hotel in Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Grand Rapids, MI
May 3, 2010

decent...good area

stayed one night just for a pleasure trip to the windy city. Room was clean and quite. Staff was good although had limited contact. Parking people could have offered more information...in & out priviledges, etc... not sure if we were entitled to a discount coupon at the parking garage or not? We valet parked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Avenue, State Street, Rush Street just steps away. Also convenient 'market/grocery' type stores very close if you needed that kind of thing.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
WI
Oct 19, 2009

great except for the toilet

Enjoyed the city with friends who had never experienced Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Frequent hotelier
Business
Iowa
Apr 8, 2013

Average business/family getaway

With high remarks from other reviewers I was expecting more. Only one staff at front desk when checking in; had to wait longer than normal while clerk answered calls. Staff not as personal as anticipated. Requested room away from elevator in quiet location-was put next to maids closet-whom opened and let the door slam at least 50 times throughout the day. Was given a key and never told what it was for; found out on own it was for minibar. Room was clean but somewhat outdated; whirlpool tub was very small and barely able to fit my 6' frame. Security cameras in every hall and in elevators-made me wonder why in such a highly rated hotel. Would have rather them have been hidden.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Debbie1962
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Nov 11, 2013

Beautiful Chicago Weekend...Hotel, not so much

We go to Chicago every November to celebrate my Husband's birthday and have stayed at many different hotels in different areas. The location for the Talbott could not be beat. However, when you open the draperies to see the view...you see ugly building and HVAC systems. This hotel is between buildings on either side so that there is no daylight to be seen! I was not happy and let them know to see if we could be moved...bottom line...the rooms are all this way unless it is a handicapped room. For this reason we will not be coming back to the Talbott. For the price $$$ I would like to see the sky! Also, we were not told you have to press a button for do not disturb...no hanging sign on your door. Also, there is a button on the wall if you'd like the room cleaned. So, we were disturbed early in the morning by housekeeping and the room was not cleaned until 6:00 pm becauses we didn't press the button. This should have all been explained on check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Sienna Tavern

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Indyguy
Northern Indiana
Jan 23, 2013

Nice but not great

Saw lots of great reviews for this hotel so gave it a shot for a night in town with my wife. Given the basic king room on the second floor with a view of a brick wall and some utilities. Got a good rate so wasn't expecting a good view but I guess I also wasn't expecting such an incredibly poor one. Room was decent size and quiet and clean though. Some questionable looking grout in the tub/shower but not gross. Bathroom was small but adequate. Single serve coffee machine in the room but no supplies or instructions on how to get any. Fancy TV system hooked up to a Mac computer. Tried to turn it on and couldn't get past a blue screen - and I'm a seasoned technology guy. Front desk offered a suggestion of resetting the computer, which worked, but I had to do this a second time later when turning the system on. Also, the remote doesn't have a "last channel" button or a number pad to easily go to a channel. And the onscreen guide font size was super tiny. Since everyone has smartphones and laptops/tablets these days, they could probably just stick with a regular TV. Wifi in the room is free. Turn down service was a nice small touch, especially on a cold night to come back from dinner out with friends to a nice warm room. No ice machines in the hotel but a call to the front desk and ice was delivered free of charge in a few minutes. Bell desk was very happy to hold our bags in a locked room for a couple hours on checkout. Valet parking was $51 with in/out privileges. All the other employees were nice. The hotel is decorated with dark woods and lots of English hunting dog pictures. There is no large grand lobby; instead it feels as though you are entering an English guest house with a couple of small living rooms with leather furniture and fireplaces. Would probably prefer the former seeing as it is downtown Chicago and not London. Didn't check out the bar or restaurant. Great location a block or two from it all, but might have been more fun to be right on Michigan Ave. Also a Starbucks directly across the street (and two more within a couple blocks) for those needing their fix. Overall, it's a nice hotel if it's your style but might recommend you look elsewhere if you're seeking a bit more grandeur or excitement that you might expect with being in the heart of the city. Perhaps the more expensive rooms would have offered a better feel but I'll probably look elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempo Cafe a block away seems like the place for Sunday brunch but expect to wait for a table if you're there after 10. Pancake House a few blocks north was also crowded.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
ChangeofPace
Minnesota
Mar 15, 2013

Dwayne "The Rock" Bellman

The review is based on a sale price for one night's stay and the other night at regular price. Our family was welcomed by Dwayne "The Rock" Bellmen who was very hospitable. We had some initial questions about the room size and view which the lady at the Front Desk was unable to answer. Dwayne was able to answer all our questions and gave us further advice about parking and places to eat and see. Very helpful in every respect! The room was clean and tidy. In short , it was presentable. The view was not desirable, but there really isn't much the Hotel can do about the view. After all, it is downtown Chicago and there are buildings on either side of the Hotel. You may have an upgrade to a street view and a few more extra square feet for a cost of $70.00. However, if there are more than three of you, you will have have to pay an extra $20.00 for a role out bed. Since we were not going to be in the room for very much time we decided we could look at a wall at night time to save $90.00. The location is what makes the Hotel very desirable. The Hotel room was quiet . There is place to 'people watch' in the foyer while sitting in front of a blazing fire. To be sure, a little cool in March, but we spent a good hour visiting with folks coming in an out of the foyer. There are many local restaurants for mom and dad and for the kids within walking distance. Our teenagers did not grumble at our time at the Hotel. When compared with the other Hotels in the surrounding area who provide a greater array of amenities but then you consider how little time you actually spend in your room, a case can easily be made to stay at the Talbot. The bottom line: If the Talbot could offer the discounted rate that I received for one night and extend it for the length of any given stay and I was in Chicago to sight see, I would recommend the Talbot to a friend. When we return to Chicago I will be sure to check out the Talbot before I check any other Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Original Pancake House" for breakfast (5mins) Lumindades for deep dish pizza (10mins) and a longer walk to "Jakes" about six blocks south on State and Superior (35mins).

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
DBSC
Business
Las Vegas
Aug 9, 2012

Nice Surprise!

Loved the location. Room was well appointed with Apple TV/Computer. Bedding very comfortable. Staff was very helpful and it's obviously they have been there a long time. Nice bar in the lobby along with a really good restaurant. Good breakfast a really good coffee. I will stay there again especially since it is half the price of the 4 Star hotels around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurants within a couple of blocks. Also, Rush Street around the corner.

Back to menu Return to top