$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

The Talbott Hotel

4 stars
View map of 20 E. Delaware, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Talbott Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
1336 out of 1336
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeniceBriana
Family
Chippewa Lake, OH
Mar 28, 2014

Charming Hotel-Quality Service

I took my daughter away to visit for her Spring Break from college. Just a quick 5 night stay to get in sightseeing and shopping. Right from the moment we stepped out of the Airport Shuttle, the service and attention we received from all staff members was nothing short of excellent and welcoming! The hotel was beautiful! The location worked out wonderfully for our ventures in the city as well. We were able to walk to most all of our destinations, saving a lot on taxi fares. (More money for shopping!) We would most definitely choose The Talbott again when we get back to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To save a bit on the food bill while in town, there is a market right around the corner that we were able to walk to for waters, muffins, bananas, and other items to keep on hand in the room for quick meals, so that we weren't spendin too much for all meals out at the restaurants.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deeo
Couples
Chicago, IL
Mar 31, 2014

Perfect Staycation

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a night just to have a little vacation away from our apartment. The staff are extremely nice and gave us an upgraded room without us even asking. We found it charming and grabbed dinner at Little Brasserie downstairs. Just wish it wasn't in such a "posh" location as we aren't really the Michigan Ave shopping types.. We will be back again, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Visiting grandms
Family
Michigan
Apr 4, 2014

Great stay in Chicago

Small hotel with all the comforts, including free wi-fi. Good location. Very friendly staff. Would come back for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cactus Patch
Couples
Bideford Devon
Apr 6, 2014

Splendiferous place to stay

Wonderful. We have never experienced any better anywhere in the world. A lot better than a lot of 5 star hotels we have stayed at. We cannot pick out any member of staff who excelled above the others,they were all brilliant. Centrally located for almost everything in Chicago. We are going back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Really upmarket shopping Malls in Michigan Ave. Quality of goods is excellent while pricing is reasonable. Nothing is too much trouble for the shop staff.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sagill2004
Family
Heber, Ut
Apr 14, 2014

Unbelievable deal!

This felt like a very plush old European hotel just a block from Michigan Ave. and the JH bldg for less than the cost of a chain hotel our in the boondocks. The service was top-notch and the room was extremely comfortable. Best hotel bed that I've slept on in ages. I can't recommend The Talbott highly enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Garrett's Popcorn is as good, if not better, than Nuts on Clark and the lines are much shorter and faster. A new store is opening at Water Tower Place soon.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hess clan
Couples
Williamsburg, Ohio
Apr 27, 2014

Fantastic City Vacation

We are very experienced travelers, and have to say, this was the best hotel experience we have ever had. From the superlative cleanliness, comfort of the room, ambience of the entire hotel from entrance, through lobby, and including the attached restaurant, this hotel is a standout. The crowning touch is the genuine warmth, professionalism, and kindness of each and every staff member we came in contact with. We loved the style of the hotel when the days of travel were for the elite; the old school hotel environment was pleasing, and our room, extremely quiet. We will recommend this hotel to any and everyone traveling to Chicago and will make a point of the Talbott being our go-to hotel the next time in Chicago. Why stay anywhere else?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A wide variety of dining experiences is within a short walk of the Talbott.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Overnighter
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 24, 2014

Excellent Stay

Terrific location away from traffic and street noise in a clean, beautifully appointed hotel with many nice touches. Great for an overnight business stay while providing nice area to walk around in. I was surprized at good size of the room and comfort level. Staff couldn't have been more attentive and accommodating to every question, every need. When in Chicago again, I'm headed back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great restaraunt and bar attached to hotel.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Northwestern mom
Family
Ny, NY
Apr 27, 2014

Friendly and courteous service.

Staff was helpful with all tourist questions. They allowed me to have a late check out which was incredibly helpful. A delightful experience. We will return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
biz traveler from chicago
Couples
chicago
Apr 28, 2014

First timer

Great location and hotel in Chicago. Loved the room amenities for such a historic hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
H0n3ym00n3r5
Couples
London
Apr 26, 2014

Great honeymoon stay

We had a great stay at this hotel. The hotel made us feel really welcome, and made our stay even more special by upgrading us to congratulate us on our wedding! The staff were really friendly and helpful. We got some great tips for restaurants and bars. The location is excellent, close to the main tourist spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempo diner is a great place for breakfast

Back to menu Return to top