$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

The Talbott Hotel

4 stars
20 E. Delaware, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
1,455 reviews
Would come back!

I travel to Chicago at least once every year. I stay at a different hotel every time. This is the... See full review

  • NelaDD
  • Jul 7, 2014
Great hotel

Excellent staff, service, location and room. Will stay at any Talbot hotel. Will tell friends and... See full review

  • Trinibago
  • Jul 7, 2014
Independently-owned and with a dedication to green practices, The Talbott Hotel has been a fixture in Chicago's Gold Coast neighborhood since 1927. The hotel mingles old-world sophistication with modern conveniences - the lobby has a cozy, open-fire warmth and the vintage-style boardrooms feature 1920s mahogany walls. Awarded the Best in Stay Award by Orbitz in 2012, the Talbott features exclusive touches like the creative Tippling Brothers cocktail menu at the Little Market Brasserie, and the knowledgeable 'Concierge Blog' on the hotel's site, setting the hotel far apart from other Chicago accommodations.
Key facts
  • 149 guestrooms
  • Pets allowed (up to 50 pounds, and fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces: 3 rooms, up to 200 guests
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant/bar: Little Market Brasserie
Neighborhood
With a prime location just a few blocks from Washington Square Park, Oak Street and the Magnificent Mile, The Talbott Hotel comes with easy access to shops like Bloomingdale's and Macy's, as well as the scenic Lakefront Trail on the shores of Lake Michigan. The Art Institute of Chicago is less than two miles from The Talbott's front entrance, boasting a staggering collection of over 250,000 works of art, including work by Vincent van Gogh, Claude Monet and Mary Cassatt.
Hints and tips
For privileged views of Chicago and a bit of distance from busy Delaware Street, ask for a room on the upper floors.
For a more personalized stay, the Talbott Hotel's packages offer everything from the princess treatment for young daughters - including milk and cupcakes at turndown - to a $50 gift certificate  for the 900 North Michigan Shops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Talbott Hotel Rooms

Superior Double Queen
Luxuriously appointed, 403-square-foot Superior Double Queen guest room features two queen-size pillow-top beds with feather pillows, an armoire, working desk with a Mac Mini computer and two sitting chairs"perfect for families or guests who need ample space for sharing.
Superior King
Superior King rooms feature over 400 square-feet of living space a king size pillow top bed, a luxurious bathroom with Italian marble and granite, an armoire and a large work desk equipped with a Mac Mini and the latest in technology.
Deluxe Double Queen
Spacious Deluxe Double Queen rooms offer 364 square foot guest rooms featuring two queen size pillow top beds with feather pillows, armoire, working desk and two sitting chairs.
Standard King Room
Standard King Rooms offer 316 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
One Bedroom Suite
Each expansive One Bedroom Suite, approximately 700 square feet, offers a separate bedroom and living area with a sofa and oversized working desk. The enormous, spa-like suite bathroom features a soaking tub and separate glass enclosed shower along with two separate vanity areas and a separate sitting area.
Deluxe King
Elegant Deluxe King Rooms feature over 360 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
Executive King
Our Executive King rooms with an astounding 475-square-feet of living space share the same premium pillow top king bed with six down pillows and a down duvet as all of our king bedded rooms, along with dual vanity sinks and a separate tub and shower.
Deluxe Parlor King
Deluxe Parlor King rooms feature 435 square feet of space, an intimate sitting area and an oversized desk along with our famous king bed.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Talbott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8994 -87.6275
Area served
Chicago, Illinois.
Nearby airports
O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Area description
The Talbott Hotel is located at 20 East Delaware Place, an elegant tree lined street in the heart of Chicago's prestigious Gold Coast. Just off Michigan Avenue, our guests have immediate access to some of the world's most sophisticated shopping, fine dining, and entertainment.

Nearby points of interest

  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Delaware Room and the Gallery are located on the first floor and The Victoria Room on the second floor. Each of these is completely adaptable to serve the needs of our guests. Our experienced catering staff takes the greatest pride in servicing each private function exactly as the guest requires. Capacities and dimensions are detailed below. The Delaware Room may be combined with the lobby of the hotel, allowing comfortable capacity for a 175 guest cocktail reception.

Dining

Little Market Brasserie
Little Market Brasserie is a comfortable alternative to the usual downtown dining scene and will offer a moderately priced menu. Little Market Brasserie offers Chicago a taste of different regions of the United States while using ingredients from around the world. Chef Ryan Poli and Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval traveled around 12 different cities looking for ideas and inspiration. The menu at Little Market Brasserie features a diverse, yet approachable selection of dishes inspired by classic French Brasseries while using a variety of ingredients from different parts of the world. Menu items include short rib-cognac poutine and cheese curds - Little Market's version of French Fries.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1455)

Ratings and reviews for The Talbott Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
1455 out of 1455
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dacheze
Florida, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Shall be a once a year getaway. Staff was amazing.

From check in to check out was all about the satisfaction of the guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SandySusieMandy
Bemidji, MN
Aug 15, 2013

Great time!

Dwayne (Doorman/Bell Service?) and Tim & Kathy in Concierge were outstandingly helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Paul, MN
Jan 11, 2011

A Perfect Experience

The hotel is gorgeous, the rooms are huge, the beds are heavenly, and the amenities make you feel like royalty. It was the perfect setting for a girls' weekend of shows, shopping, and museum hopping. The staff was superb, so helpful and accommodating. They took care of our every need. If you are looking for a more intimate and special experience than you can find at one of the big hotels, this boutique hotel is the place to find it. The only thing missing was a way to get my requisite diet cokes without calling room service. They might want to think about hiding a vending machine somewhere--tacky but so convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fabulous brunch at the Rush Street Tavern in a beautiful, relaxed setting.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
intraveler22409
Jackson, WY
Aug 20, 2012

Great Value---

We ate breakfast on the sidewalk every day, friendly courteous staff, great beds and linens, and super location. Great for families needing larger rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Have the lobster tacos for dinner and the short stack for breakfast . Ask for Reuben--he is very friendly.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neener the Weekend Warrior
Alabama
Nov 3, 2009

Wedding guest at the Talbott

The Concierges were very helpful. I got to the fitness center, a great restaurant for breakfast and great shopping tips and deals with their assistance. One of the best hotels I've had the pleasure of staying in. Great hospitality and a very warm and friendly atmosphere! Kudos!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are from out of town Bloomingdale's offers about a 10% discount coupon when you show your out-of-state ID.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBill
Madison, WI, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Chicago Great Base Location

Conveniently located just blocks off Northernmost Michigan Avenue, easy walk to Hancock, Water Tower or Rush Street.. Pleasant and helpful staff a real plus. Nicely appointed, cozy bar and restaurant with outdoor seating located in the hotel were pleasant especially on the warm, early fall days that graced our stay. Older building charm, but updated to today's standards. King Parlor room was large, nicely furnished, in-room computer system provided easy access to internet, flat screen tv and other systems. Looking forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Waters, snacks, wine and alcohol are available at Potash, a local market, just half a block from the hotel. The Goddess and the Grocer across street from main hotel entrance has good coffee and morning sandwiches reasonably priced.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 12, 2007

Fabulous stay!

I took my 24-year old daughter to Chicago for a 4-day mini-vacaton in early July 2007. It was her first trip to Chicago and she was so excited. We stayed at the Talbott for only one night, and both of us absolutely loved it. The hotel is older, I believe about 1920's, but it has been renovated and is simply but elegantly decorated. Our room was spacious and immaculately clean, and the beds were incredibly comfortable. The staff was friendly and attentive. The only negative - and it was not the hotel's fault at all - was that our room faced a construction site on the corner of the street. However, I'm sure this is a common problem with many hotels in downtown Chicago with as much construction as we saw ongoing during our visit. The food at the hotel bistro is okay, but in my opinion was bit pricey for the quality and quantity. With the food choices available in downtown Chicago, I would opt to eat elsewhere. Overall, The Talbott was an incredible bargain and a cozy home away from home. My only regret? That we didn't stay at the Talbott for our entire 3-night stay in Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is in the heart of downtown Chicago, within a comfortable walking distance of Michigan Avenue and the John Hancock Center.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shopper2011
Michigan, USA
Dec 15, 2011

Wonderful!

This was our first trip to Chicago, but won't be our last. This hotel is 2 short blocks from magnificant mile, and has non stop shopping as soon as you exit their doors. The staff is the reason we will be staying at this particular hotel again; they were wonderful! Don't hesitate to book this hotel, you won't regret it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Critical Ken
Cromwell, CT
Aug 3, 2010

Wonderful experience

I have travelled quite bit on business over the years and this was our first vacation trip to Chicago. The Talbot was ideal. Great location, very clean hotel, beds were comfortable, and the entire hotel staff was great especially the extremely knowledgeable concierge people. The location was within walking distance of most places we wanted to see. I would highly recommend for either business or vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lullen
West Hills, CA
Aug 20, 2012

This was the best ever!

My husband and I had never been to Chicago and we were so pleasantly surprised by finding the Talbott Hotel. It was centrally located to restaurants, entertainment and shopping. The amenities were excellent and the staff was warm. personable and very helpful. We have no complaints and are looking forward to our next visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you visit the top of the Hancock Building for cocktails! You will get a magnificent view of the city (day or night)! We did not eat at the restaurant so I cannot say if their food is as good as their view. We did see the Blue Angels practicing for the air show - it was spectacular!!!

Back to menu Return to top