$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

The Talbott Hotel

4 stars
20 E. Delaware, Chicago, IL 60611
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
1,225 reviews
Nice place for a night on the town

Great location for a night on the town. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was... See full review

  • Scoobie doo
  • Dec 23, 2014
Nice place for a night on the town

Great location for a night on the town. Staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was... See full review

  • Scoobie doo
  • Dec 22, 2014
Independently-owned and with a dedication to green practices, The Talbott Hotel has been a fixture in Chicago's Gold Coast neighborhood since 1927. The hotel mingles old-world sophistication with modern conveniences - the lobby has a cozy, open-fire warmth and the vintage-style boardrooms feature 1920s mahogany walls. Awarded the Best in Stay Award in 2014 - 2015, the Talbott features exclusive touches like the creative Tippling Brothers cocktail menu at the Mercadito Fish Co., and the knowledgeable 'Concierge Blog' on the hotel's site, setting the hotel far apart from other Chicago accommodations.
Key facts
  • 149 guestrooms
  • Pets allowed (up to 50 pounds, and fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces: 3 rooms, up to 200 guests
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant/bar: Mercadito Fish Co.
Neighborhood
With a prime location just a few blocks from Washington Square Park, Oak Street and the Magnificent Mile, The Talbott Hotel comes with easy access to shops like Bloomingdale's and Macy's, as well as the scenic Lakefront Trail on the shores of Lake Michigan. The Art Institute of Chicago is less than two miles from The Talbott's front entrance, boasting a staggering collection of over 250,000 works of art, including work by Vincent van Gogh, Claude Monet and Mary Cassatt.
Hints and tips
For privileged views of Chicago and a bit of distance from busy Delaware Street, ask for a room on the upper floors.
For a more personalized stay, the Talbott Hotel's packages offer everything from the princess treatment for young daughters - including milk and cupcakes at turndown - to a $50 gift certificate  for the 900 North Michigan Shops.
Policies and fees

Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Talbott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Talbott Hotel Rooms

Superior Double Queen
Luxuriously appointed, 403-square-foot Superior Double Queen guest room features two queen-size pillow-top beds with feather pillows, an armoire, working desk with a Mac Mini computer and two sitting chairs"perfect for families or guests who need ample space for sharing.
Superior King
Superior King rooms feature over 400 square-feet of living space a king size pillow top bed, a luxurious bathroom with Italian marble and granite, an armoire and a large work desk equipped with a Mac Mini and the latest in technology.
Deluxe Double Queen
Spacious Deluxe Double Queen rooms offer 364 square foot guest rooms featuring two queen size pillow top beds with feather pillows, armoire, working desk and two sitting chairs.
Standard King Room
Standard King Rooms offer 316 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
One Bedroom Suite
Each expansive One Bedroom Suite, approximately 700 square feet, offers a separate bedroom and living area with a sofa and oversized working desk. The enormous, spa-like suite bathroom features a soaking tub and separate glass enclosed shower along with two separate vanity areas and a separate sitting area.
Deluxe King
Elegant Deluxe King Rooms feature over 360 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
Executive King
Our Executive King rooms with an astounding 475-square-feet of living space share the same premium pillow top king bed with six down pillows and a down duvet as all of our king bedded rooms, along with dual vanity sinks and a separate tub and shower.
Deluxe Parlor King
Deluxe Parlor King rooms feature 435 square feet of space, an intimate sitting area and an oversized desk along with our famous king bed.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Delaware Room and the Gallery are located on the first floor and The Victoria Room on the second floor. Each of these is completely adaptable to serve the needs of our guests. Our experienced catering staff takes the greatest pride in servicing each private function exactly as the guest requires. Capacities and dimensions are detailed below. The Delaware Room may be combined with the lobby of the hotel, allowing comfortable capacity for a 175 guest cocktail reception.

Dining

Mercadito Fish Co.
A contemporary American seafood eatery is the latest concept developed by Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval of the esteemed Mercadito Hospitality group. Located in the heart of Chicago's thriving Gold Coast neighborhood at The Talbott Hotel, Mercadito Fish features the best of casual and fine dining seafood restaurants. Fresh seasonal catches and personable service amplify its modern day sensibility, inspiring exploration of new flavors and approachability. The restaurant showcases a range of familiar and new seafood preparations, as well as an expertly customized beverage program. Matched with a warm and thoughtfully designed environment, Mercadito Fish offers exquisitely prepared seafood without compromising atmosphere and price.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1225)

Ratings and reviews for The Talbott Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 1225
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
5
Value:
4.6

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DustinMPLS
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 24, 2014

Charming, quiet and convenient

This conveniently located, quiet hotel never disappoints. The genuinely friendly staff is quick to answer any questions or address any concerns that may arise. Complimentary day passes to Equinox Fitness are offered in lieu of a rundown, beat up hotel gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you work out, utilize the free day pass to Equinox Fitness right around the corner. It's a $30 value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TIpotopo
Business
Westfield NJ
Nov 16, 2014

A very nice hotel in the heart of downtown

A very positive experience on all fronts with the exception of the cell phone signal which I couldn't get. Perhaps the fact that my room (209) was on the 2nd floor and facing a wall was the culprit. However the staff were super nice and friendly, the room was luxurious and clean, and the free wi-fi worked OK. I recommend this hotel for a stay in downtown Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the blue line from and to O'Hare. It does not only save money ($5.00 each way) it is WAY FASTER than going by car!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karin City Lover
Business
Hong Kong
Nov 16, 2014

Cozy & welcoming with all the right things for a pleasant getaway in Chciago.

The staff were very friendly on arrival, helpful & efficient. When needing any assistance, they were quick to respond. The bed was deliciously comfortable & the size of the room was much bigger than in many hotels of a higher quality. Complimentary coffee, internet, and having an ironing board & iron in the room were pluses. The location is easy walking distance to Michigan Avenue, Rush St., good shopping and plenty of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grocery store right around the corner for water, snacks, and drinks in the room

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DelGrosso
Business
Michigan
Sep 22, 2014

Great historic hotel, great location!

Staff was friendly and welcoming, hotel/room was clean and well maintained and the location is perfect for all activities!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

NICO restaurant is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Human Hourglass
Business
New York
Aug 18, 2014

Great Location

I stayed in a king size bed room. The room was comfortable and the location was great. It's 2 blocks from the Red line which links up to the loop. Also, if you are attending the local baseball games, the Red line will take you to either stadium. There is a seafood restaurant downstairs, which is usually packed so I assumed it was good. I never tried it because I wanted to eat only pizza and steak while in Chicago. Speaking of pizza, Giordano's is only 3 blocks away and is a good place to try the deep dish pizza. Michael Jordan and Cut Steakhouse is a 10 minute walk away. There is a supermarket around the corner and a Walgreens is 1 block away. A Chase bank a block away so everything is there. It's 1 block from Michigan so shopping, although expensive, is easy. Lastly, this hotel is 2 blocks away from the "beach" which was a bonus. Quite happy with the room and would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy up water and other essentials in Walgreens and Potash Supermarket. Both are around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StillExploring
Business
UK
Jul 23, 2014

Excellent base for some serious exploring.

I stayed nine nights at The Talbott as a base for touring the city of Chicago, the river, the lake, some of the suburbs and most of the museums and galleries. It is so well-positioned in downtown Chicago that I managed to walk almost everywhere. The concierge service was imaginative and detailed - I got to places I may never have found by myself, including a local blues club where the music was great and the crowd friendly. I never once felt threatened travelling alone in the city. My room on 11th floor was quiet, spacious and comfortable. The housekeeping service was thorough. The adjoining fish restaurant was operating at a high standard and seemed to be popular. There was a vegan restaurant within walking distance, providing meals more to my taste. If I ever return to Chicago, I shall stay at The Talbott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Karyn's Cooked - vegan restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JimNH
Business
New Hampshire
Jul 9, 2014

Great place!

I stayed here a year ago as well. I had a larger room the first stay, but the one this time (a standard, I think) was perfectly spacious for a city hotel and just as well equipped. You cannot beat the location, right between the Waldorf and the Four Seasons, with great access to the Mag. Mile and Gold Coast. The staff, however, is their greatest asset. They are always friendly and helpful. It is a moderately high end boutique hotel without the attitude you so often find. I have stayed in about eight hotels in Chicago (including the Swissotel and Drake) over the last ten years and this is this is my favorite so far.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda LP
Business
Oakland California
Jul 1, 2014

Warm and charming small hotel

I loved this little hotel. It has an excellent location, with everything I needed close by! I used Equinox fitness facility each day - great amenity! Although my room looked out on a wall, it didn't bother me because the room was so beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable! I also liked how I could store a few items in the refrigerator/mini bar without the usual hassle of most hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The architectural boat tour on the river!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
itravel2014
Business
Raleigh, NC
May 26, 2014

Great location

Pleasant, quiet hotel. Walkable to shopping and many restaurants. Lovely sidewalk cafe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ticor
Business
San Gabriel, California
May 10, 2014

Great

Very accommodating, clean, and outstanding concierge service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend Hugo's Frog Bar for sea food. Excellent value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top