$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

The Talbott Hotel

4 stars
View map of 20 E. Delaware, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Talbott Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
1339 out of 1339
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neurosurgeon
Couples
Indianapolis, IN
Feb 5, 2013

When in Chicago

Has become my #1place to stay. The staff is the main reason and the new restaurant doesn't hurt. The location is the best. Have never had a bad time and have never been sorry staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blanky
Single
San Jose, CA
Nov 3, 2011

Wonderful days in Chicago!

I was familiar with the Talbot because when I was working in Chicago the people from the company corporate used to stay there. We used to take drinks at the side of the fireplace and I always love the Talbot's English style.With my friends from Chicago I used to go pretty often for diner and drinks. Sadly I remember a lot of more fun there. The four days I spend in the Talbot were too quiet. Maybe it was just bad luck. The personnal, the service, everything was great. I would love more selection with the cable .However it was great. I will get back next year.Thanks. Blanca

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are just a few steps from a beautiful Barney's NY, Bloomingdale's, Macy's, Neiman Marcus and Saks.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sir Duke
Couples
Burbank, CA, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Comfort, clubby style, and location

At only 1 /1/2 blocks from the Newberry Library where I was speaking, thelocation is primo. Restaurants abound in the Gold Coast and tony sections of MichiganAve. The room was a bit more "tired" than the one we had last year at the same place. The Apple TV and othermake controller did not work well together and the multi use functions of the system were a bust and it was difficult just to change channels. This was a needless time loss for us who have a bevy of ecletronictoys at home and are not technophobes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

CTA passes are a must; 80 % of busdrivers and rolling stock were polite and efficient (occasionally comfortable) and even suitable for sightseeing.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MBS traveler
Couples
Orange, CT
Nov 1, 2011

Lovely weekend visit

My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay at the Talbott Hotel while visiting our son and daughter-in-law. We were able to walk to many attractions, stores, and restaurants. The Orbitz special Internet price was definitely worthwhile. This small luxury hotel is well located in the area of the "Magnificent Mile."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WItravelers
Couples
Wisconsin
Oct 30, 2011

Pretty Good value, Great Location

Perfect location for our visit. Standard room was a good size and free WIFI was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RuthieQ
Business
Winston-Salem, NC, USA
Nov 12, 2011

The Talbott

Overall great experience...location, staff, cleanliness, room - everything was good. The only personal issue I had was with their pillows which were just a bit too firm/hard for my taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Choosy Mom
Business
Ohio
Nov 12, 2011

Always Excellent

I've stayed at the Talbott several times, and each time has been a great value. The location is fabulous - close to great restaurants and shopping on the Mag Mile. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The bed and linens are top quality and provide a great night's sleep. The lobby is very European - cozy and welcoming on a cold wet day with the fireplaces, and the attached restaurant (Bice) is very good. I plan to keep coming back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Giordano's Pizza - just two blocks away for real Chicago style deep dish pizza - it's great!

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LA local
Family
Hawaii, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Perfect location

Attentive staff, nicely appointed rooms and perfect location made for a very nice stay. If you are an American Girl fan, check out the special hotel theme packages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

American Girl Place is close by at Water Tower Place.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLynE
Business
Little Rock, Arkansas
Nov 14, 2011

Spacious suite; great location; disappointing room service

The accomodations were very generous in size and amenities. The rooms are equipped with Apple TV, which allows guests to convert the main flat-screen television to a computer screen or DVD player. The room comes equipped with a keyboard and a mousepad to operate the computer functions. While the instructions were not very clear, I easily figured out how to use the features. The bath towels were large and luxurious. While the hotel lobby was cozy, enough comfortable seating was available on either side of the main doorway. The staff was pleasant and accommodating. The only disappointment was the room service from Bice Restaurant. While breakfast was good, one evening meal arrived cold without garnishes or anything else to make the expensive meal a pleasant one. Upon checkout, I asked the staff politely about an adjustment for that reason, and they promptly removed the entire room service charge for that meal from my bill. The Talbott's rooms are very spacious with traditional decor. I enjoyed the ambience very much. Highly recommended for service, spacious and luxurious accommodations, and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks west of Michigan Avenue. Very convenient location.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chi Chi
Family
Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Nov 14, 2011

I will stay here again.

The price, by Chicago standards, made this a good value. Convenient location for shopping and eating. Large rooms with nice amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jomerci
Friends
Wesltand, Michigan 48185
Nov 15, 2011

Very nice, but very expensive.

Very relaxing.=, but very expensive. Nice bed and nice room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Like the contemporary Museum. store

Back to menu Return to top