$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

The Talbott Hotel

4 stars
20 E. Delaware, Chicago, IL 60611
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
1,201 reviews
Skrillex concert

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helped out with places to eat getting a cab and other... See full review

  • Roofing man
  • Oct 20, 2014
The Perfect Overnight

Wonderful staff, superb accommodation in a great location. Well worth it. We will definitely return. See full review

  • OB168
  • Oct 19, 2014
Independently-owned and with a dedication to green practices, The Talbott Hotel has been a fixture in Chicago's Gold Coast neighborhood since 1927. The hotel mingles old-world sophistication with modern conveniences - the lobby has a cozy, open-fire warmth and the vintage-style boardrooms feature 1920s mahogany walls. Awarded the Best in Stay Award by Orbitz in 2014 - 2015, the Talbott features exclusive touches like the creative Tippling Brothers cocktail menu at the Mercadito Fish Co., and the knowledgeable 'Concierge Blog' on the hotel's site, setting the hotel far apart from other Chicago accommodations.
Key facts
  • 149 guestrooms
  • Pets allowed (up to 50 pounds, and fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces: 3 rooms, up to 200 guests
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant/bar: Mercadito Fish Co.
Neighborhood
With a prime location just a few blocks from Washington Square Park, Oak Street and the Magnificent Mile, The Talbott Hotel comes with easy access to shops like Bloomingdale's and Macy's, as well as the scenic Lakefront Trail on the shores of Lake Michigan. The Art Institute of Chicago is less than two miles from The Talbott's front entrance, boasting a staggering collection of over 250,000 works of art, including work by Vincent van Gogh, Claude Monet and Mary Cassatt.
Hints and tips
For privileged views of Chicago and a bit of distance from busy Delaware Street, ask for a room on the upper floors.
For a more personalized stay, the Talbott Hotel's packages offer everything from the princess treatment for young daughters - including milk and cupcakes at turndown - to a $50 gift certificate  for the 900 North Michigan Shops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8994 -87.6275
Area served
Chicago, Illinois.
Nearby airports
O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Area description
The Talbott Hotel is located at 20 East Delaware Place, an elegant tree lined street in the heart of Chicago's prestigious Gold Coast. Just off Michigan Avenue, our guests have immediate access to some of the world's most sophisticated shopping, fine dining, and entertainment.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Talbott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Talbott Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Each expansive One Bedroom Suite, approximately 700 square feet, offers a separate bedroom and living area with a sofa and oversized working desk. The enormous, spa-like suite bathroom features a soaking tub and separate glass enclosed shower along with two separate vanity areas and a separate sitting area.
Deluxe King
Elegant Deluxe King Rooms feature over 360 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
Executive King
Our Executive King rooms with an astounding 475-square-feet of living space share the same premium pillow top king bed with six down pillows and a down duvet as all of our king bedded rooms, along with dual vanity sinks and a separate tub and shower.
Deluxe Parlor King
Deluxe Parlor King rooms feature 435 square feet of space, an intimate sitting area and an oversized desk along with our famous king bed.
Superior Double Queen
Luxuriously appointed, 403-square-foot Superior Double Queen guest room features two queen-size pillow-top beds with feather pillows, an armoire, working desk with a Mac Mini computer and two sitting chairs"perfect for families or guests who need ample space for sharing.
Superior King
Superior King rooms feature over 400 square-feet of living space a king size pillow top bed, a luxurious bathroom with Italian marble and granite, an armoire and a large work desk equipped with a Mac Mini and the latest in technology.
Deluxe Double Queen
Spacious Deluxe Double Queen rooms offer 364 square foot guest rooms featuring two queen size pillow top beds with feather pillows, armoire, working desk and two sitting chairs.
Standard King Room
Standard King Rooms offer 316 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Delaware Room and the Gallery are located on the first floor and The Victoria Room on the second floor. Each of these is completely adaptable to serve the needs of our guests. Our experienced catering staff takes the greatest pride in servicing each private function exactly as the guest requires. Capacities and dimensions are detailed below. The Delaware Room may be combined with the lobby of the hotel, allowing comfortable capacity for a 175 guest cocktail reception.

Dining

Mercadito Fish Co.
A contemporary American seafood eatery is the latest concept developed by Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval of the esteemed Mercadito Hospitality group. Located in the heart of Chicago's thriving Gold Coast neighborhood at The Talbott Hotel, Mercadito Fish features the best of casual and fine dining seafood restaurants. Fresh seasonal catches and personable service amplify its modern day sensibility, inspiring exploration of new flavors and approachability. The restaurant showcases a range of familiar and new seafood preparations, as well as an expertly customized beverage program. Matched with a warm and thoughtfully designed environment, Mercadito Fish offers exquisitely prepared seafood without compromising atmosphere and price.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1201)

Ratings and reviews for The Talbott Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
1201 out of 1201
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RNRBabbie
Business
Iowa
Oct 31, 2011

Great Hotel

The room was absolutely beautiful. The staff was very friendly and courteous. Location was perfect for walking to Michigan Avenue, great restaurants in the area. We would go back again anytime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Run n Travel
Business
Alabama
Nov 8, 2011

Overwhelmingly Pleased!

Spent weeks trying to find a "deal" on great rooms for myself and 3 friends. I picked the Talbott because the reviews were mostly positive. We were all extremely pleased and LOVED the Talbott. From the moment we arrived, the staff was helpful and pleasant. Jean, the concierge was fantastic. The doormen so sweet. The rooms are very large and comfortable with great areas to sit and relax. Turn down service and chocolate every night. Keurig coffee machines in the room. We enjoyed the bar in the evenings and they had great afternoon appetizers to boot. I can't say enough and will definitely be back and my friends all felt the same way. Location is convenient to everything. Book it....you won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have a late breakfast at the Pierrot Cafe at the Peninsula Hotel. It is just 4-5 blocks away and has a fantastic menu. Try the mushroom flatbread or any of the wonderful salads. Great coffee and deserts as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MABC
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Weekend with friends

This hotel was steps away from where the friend we were visiting in Chicago lived. This small hotel was lovely. The room was spacious. We had two queen beds. The bathroom had two sinks. The hotel was recently renovated so everything was clean and fresh. The staff was attentive and friendly. I would definitely go back. We were treated like royalty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Very pleasant restaurant in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2 happy travelers
Business
Livermore, CA, USA
Nov 23, 2011

Perfect location for sightseeing!

Our mother/adult daughter stay at the Talbott couldn't have been better. The suite was lovely, large and very clean. The bed was comfortable, with premium linens, and the towels were big and thick. This was our first trip to Chicago and the Talbott staff was welcoming and always ready to help. The location was perfect for sightseeing, only about two blocks from the Magnificent Mile and very close to the "El", which we found easy to ride. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
palomalsv
Business
Puebla, PUE, México
Dec 5, 2011

Lovely Talbott

Everything was great!!! definetly coming back!!! Staff, room, food, location, service, really it couldn´t get any better. Love it sooo much!!! Highly recomended, don´t even hesitate!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim and Laura
Business
Cleveland, OH, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Thank You Staff

All the small details are what made are stay perfect. My first trip to Chicago, I don't know what the other Hotels are doing in Chicago and will never have the opportunity to find out. When I return I am staying at The Talbott everytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Talk to Gene the Consierge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Badger Follower
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 11, 2011

Mom/Daughter Get Away

Awesome place to stay in Chicago! The staff was attentive, polite, and knew the area for great recommendations. Close to shopping and all the sights. The room was spacious, we had the two q ueen bed room. Internet was included. We will definitely stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at the Tempo was really, really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pmds
Business
St Cloud, MN, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Windy City Heaven

It was cold outside, but walking into the Talbott is warm and inviting! Staff are welcoming and helpful, two fireplaces are great for a chat and beverage, the rooms very comfortable. The last time we stayed at the Talbott was 20 years ago, and it's still classy and impeccably clean. Speedy for average joes like us, but really worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Field Museum was fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shopper2011
Business
Michigan, USA
Dec 15, 2011

Wonderful!

This was our first trip to Chicago, but won't be our last. This hotel is 2 short blocks from magnificant mile, and has non stop shopping as soon as you exit their doors. The staff is the reason we will be staying at this particular hotel again; they were wonderful! Don't hesitate to book this hotel, you won't regret it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grandma judy
Business
Champaign, IL, USA
Dec 15, 2011

Talbott stay

We were delighted with our stay of 2 nights. The room was quiet and comfortable. Had free wi-fi which is a must for me. We were able to park in the 900 Bldg parking garage (so the car was inside), which is just an easy half-block walk from the hotel, for $35/night (with validation from the hotel).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Goddess Grocery just across the street has really tasty food for take-out if one desires. The muffins at the Starbucks across the street were much better than the usual Starbucks fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top