$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

The Talbott Hotel

4 stars
20 E. Delaware, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
1,459 reviews
perfect in every way

Loved everything about this hotel from location to staff to cleanliness to comfort of our room. We... See full review

  • jonandstacey
  • Jul 9, 2014
Great Chicago Location

The hotel has been renovated, very clean with great service. This is a nice place to know about in... See full review

  • ejlaney
  • Jul 9, 2014
Independently-owned and with a dedication to green practices, The Talbott Hotel has been a fixture in Chicago's Gold Coast neighborhood since 1927. The hotel mingles old-world sophistication with modern conveniences - the lobby has a cozy, open-fire warmth and the vintage-style boardrooms feature 1920s mahogany walls. Awarded the Best in Stay Award by Orbitz in 2012, the Talbott features exclusive touches like the creative Tippling Brothers cocktail menu at the Little Market Brasserie, and the knowledgeable 'Concierge Blog' on the hotel's site, setting the hotel far apart from other Chicago accommodations.
Key facts
  • 149 guestrooms
  • Pets allowed (up to 50 pounds, and fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces: 3 rooms, up to 200 guests
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant/bar: Little Market Brasserie
Neighborhood
With a prime location just a few blocks from Washington Square Park, Oak Street and the Magnificent Mile, The Talbott Hotel comes with easy access to shops like Bloomingdale's and Macy's, as well as the scenic Lakefront Trail on the shores of Lake Michigan. The Art Institute of Chicago is less than two miles from The Talbott's front entrance, boasting a staggering collection of over 250,000 works of art, including work by Vincent van Gogh, Claude Monet and Mary Cassatt.
Hints and tips
For privileged views of Chicago and a bit of distance from busy Delaware Street, ask for a room on the upper floors.
For a more personalized stay, the Talbott Hotel's packages offer everything from the princess treatment for young daughters - including milk and cupcakes at turndown - to a $50 gift certificate  for the 900 North Michigan Shops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8994 -87.6275
Area served
Chicago, Illinois.
Nearby airports
O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Area description
The Talbott Hotel is located at 20 East Delaware Place, an elegant tree lined street in the heart of Chicago's prestigious Gold Coast. Just off Michigan Avenue, our guests have immediate access to some of the world's most sophisticated shopping, fine dining, and entertainment.

The Talbott Hotel Rooms

Superior Double Queen
Luxuriously appointed, 403-square-foot Superior Double Queen guest room features two queen-size pillow-top beds with feather pillows, an armoire, working desk with a Mac Mini computer and two sitting chairs"perfect for families or guests who need ample space for sharing.
Superior King
Superior King rooms feature over 400 square-feet of living space a king size pillow top bed, a luxurious bathroom with Italian marble and granite, an armoire and a large work desk equipped with a Mac Mini and the latest in technology.
Deluxe Double Queen
Spacious Deluxe Double Queen rooms offer 364 square foot guest rooms featuring two queen size pillow top beds with feather pillows, armoire, working desk and two sitting chairs.
Standard King Room
Standard King Rooms offer 316 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
One Bedroom Suite
Each expansive One Bedroom Suite, approximately 700 square feet, offers a separate bedroom and living area with a sofa and oversized working desk. The enormous, spa-like suite bathroom features a soaking tub and separate glass enclosed shower along with two separate vanity areas and a separate sitting area.
Deluxe King
Elegant Deluxe King Rooms feature over 360 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
Executive King
Our Executive King rooms with an astounding 475-square-feet of living space share the same premium pillow top king bed with six down pillows and a down duvet as all of our king bedded rooms, along with dual vanity sinks and a separate tub and shower.
Deluxe Parlor King
Deluxe Parlor King rooms feature 435 square feet of space, an intimate sitting area and an oversized desk along with our famous king bed.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi

Dining

Little Market Brasserie
Little Market Brasserie is a comfortable alternative to the usual downtown dining scene and will offer a moderately priced menu. Little Market Brasserie offers Chicago a taste of different regions of the United States while using ingredients from around the world. Chef Ryan Poli and Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval traveled around 12 different cities looking for ideas and inspiration. The menu at Little Market Brasserie features a diverse, yet approachable selection of dishes inspired by classic French Brasseries while using a variety of ingredients from different parts of the world. Menu items include short rib-cognac poutine and cheese curds - Little Market's version of French Fries.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Delaware Room and the Gallery are located on the first floor and The Victoria Room on the second floor. Each of these is completely adaptable to serve the needs of our guests. Our experienced catering staff takes the greatest pride in servicing each private function exactly as the guest requires. Capacities and dimensions are detailed below. The Delaware Room may be combined with the lobby of the hotel, allowing comfortable capacity for a 175 guest cocktail reception.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1459)

Ratings and reviews for The Talbott Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
1459 out of 1459
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hannahbee
Chicago,ill
Jan 14, 2013

Awesome place great staff

We loved the staff and the hotel itself. It was just a few blocks from the "main drag" so not right in the jumble but close enough to walk. The restraunt had an interesting selection. We tried the kale juice :) not too shabby. We gave the room comfort a 4 only because the air would only go to 65 and it was somewhat hot at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the real fast grilled cheese def a winner also the French toast was fantastic :)

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeeQue
Business
Saudi Arabia
May 10, 2014

Would I go back to The Talbott

No. I stayed at a large sweet, so I expected an executive lounge. There was nothing worth another visit in that hotel. I thought of moving to The Peninsula Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ticor
San Gabriel, California
May 10, 2014

Great

Very accommodating, clean, and outstanding concierge service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend Hugo's Frog Bar for sea food. Excellent value.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HB Steve
Huntington Beach, CA
May 9, 2014

Fantastic Boutique Hotel Near Maginficant Mile

What a fantastic hotel! Everyone, from the doormen to the front desk employees to the concierge to the housecleaners, are very professional, efficient and friendly. The rooms themselves are immaculate and of the highest standards. Bed linens, towels, TV, furniture, complimentary rodes/slippers, etc. are first class all the way. Guests have access to the top rated Equinox Fitness Center, located two blocks away on the world renowned Magnificent Mile of Michigan Ave. A very nice restaurant & bar is also located on the premises, serving healthy choices as well as American classics. All-in-all, this hotel deserves a FIVE star rating, not four. WIll definitely stay here again if I'm ever back in Chcago... which I plan on being.... wonderful city!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ditka's restaurant. A Chicago legend, both Mike Ditka and the restaurant. Very classy eatery, you get a choice of dining in the fancier portion with white tablecloths, etc., or the more casual yet upscale bar area. Nicely appointed paintings and photographs throughout the restaruant showing Chicago sports legends including Ditka, but done in a tasteful way that doesn't give the establishment a feel of your typical sports bar.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zebra9678
Chicago
May 7, 2014

Great Location

Two blocks from Michigan Avenue. Staff was very quick to please and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gibsons two blocks away.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DustinMPLS
Minneapolis, MN
May 5, 2014

Quiet, charming and convenient

The staff was very courteous and knowledgable. They went out of their way to assist me on a few different occasions. The wifi is free and each spacious room comes equipped with Apple TV. One might complain about not having a hotel gym on site but the fact that guests are comped a free day pass at Equinox Fitness (value $30) more than makes up for any little hotel gym that a competitor's hotel may offer. I'm somewhat difficult to please but The Talbott delivered in every aspect. If you want a quaint and quiet night in a spacious room that's conveniently located in Gold Coast, you will not be disappointed with The Talbott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have a regular fitness routine that you religiously adhere to, even while traveling, take full advantage of the hotel's complimentary day passes to Equinox Fitness.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edward's Wife
Boston, MA
May 5, 2014

Very pleased

Our room was beautiful, clean and comfortable. The staff was as friendly as can be and truly helpful, the lobby area was warm, inviting and comfortable and the restaurant connected to the hotel was divine. Nothing not to like about this sweet boutique hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is LOTS of high end shopping right around the corner.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elamo
Guadalaja
May 5, 2014

We will stay here again

Eventual thing Was fine except wi fi connection Theta did not care to fix The problem

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excelente menú and service

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TnMK
Northern ca
May 3, 2014

Wonderful!!

Great location We were able to walk everywhere One night we did take subway to see the Sox. Staff told us how to do it I will recommend this to others and would stay again in a heartbeat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Smith and wellensky steak house

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JAK1987
Boston, MA
Apr 29, 2014

Weekend trip to Chicago

We have stayed here twice and both have been great experiences. The staff is welcoming and helpful. The rooms and amenities are great. Hotel is in a good location, and is near the red line, making travel around the city easy. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ben's Boy
Ann Arbor, MI
Apr 28, 2014

Very Nice Hotel, Great Location

We stayed for two nights in late April, our first visit to this hotel in many years. With one exception everything was fine: the room was clean and very comfortable; the staff were competent and very welcoming; the location was terrific. We did benefit from an upgrade, even though we had booked their least expensive room. The only negative was that we had a bad experience in the restaurant associated with the hotel ("Little Market"). I had ordered Steak frites. The steak was alleged to be a strip steak, but it had more gristle than I've ever found in that cut before, and was initially undercooked. Still, there are plenty of other restaurants in the area, and maybe we were just unlucky in what we ordered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top