$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

The Talbott Hotel

4 stars
20 E. Delaware, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
1,489 reviews
Great Hotel for everyone

This hotel exceeded our expectations. The rooms were lovely, very spacious, clean, and nicely... See full review

  • LD Minneapolis
  • Jul 28, 2014
Perfect location and value

We liked it very much. Would recommend it. OK to recommend to a friend. See full review

  • Kenny J
  • Jul 28, 2014
Independently-owned and with a dedication to green practices, The Talbott Hotel has been a fixture in Chicago's Gold Coast neighborhood since 1927. The hotel mingles old-world sophistication with modern conveniences - the lobby has a cozy, open-fire warmth and the vintage-style boardrooms feature 1920s mahogany walls. Awarded the Best in Stay Award by Orbitz in 2012, the Talbott features exclusive touches like the creative Tippling Brothers cocktail menu at the Little Market Brasserie, and the knowledgeable 'Concierge Blog' on the hotel's site, setting the hotel far apart from other Chicago accommodations.
Key facts
  • 149 guestrooms
  • Pets allowed (up to 50 pounds, and fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces: 3 rooms, up to 200 guests
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant/bar: Little Market Brasserie
Neighborhood
With a prime location just a few blocks from Washington Square Park, Oak Street and the Magnificent Mile, The Talbott Hotel comes with easy access to shops like Bloomingdale's and Macy's, as well as the scenic Lakefront Trail on the shores of Lake Michigan. The Art Institute of Chicago is less than two miles from The Talbott's front entrance, boasting a staggering collection of over 250,000 works of art, including work by Vincent van Gogh, Claude Monet and Mary Cassatt.
Hints and tips
For privileged views of Chicago and a bit of distance from busy Delaware Street, ask for a room on the upper floors.
For a more personalized stay, the Talbott Hotel's packages offer everything from the princess treatment for young daughters - including milk and cupcakes at turndown - to a $50 gift certificate  for the 900 North Michigan Shops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Talbott Hotel Rooms

Superior Double Queen
Luxuriously appointed, 403-square-foot Superior Double Queen guest room features two queen-size pillow-top beds with feather pillows, an armoire, working desk with a Mac Mini computer and two sitting chairs"perfect for families or guests who need ample space for sharing.
Superior King
Superior King rooms feature over 400 square-feet of living space a king size pillow top bed, a luxurious bathroom with Italian marble and granite, an armoire and a large work desk equipped with a Mac Mini and the latest in technology.
Deluxe Double Queen
Spacious Deluxe Double Queen rooms offer 364 square foot guest rooms featuring two queen size pillow top beds with feather pillows, armoire, working desk and two sitting chairs.
Standard King Room
Standard King Rooms offer 316 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
One Bedroom Suite
Each expansive One Bedroom Suite, approximately 700 square feet, offers a separate bedroom and living area with a sofa and oversized working desk. The enormous, spa-like suite bathroom features a soaking tub and separate glass enclosed shower along with two separate vanity areas and a separate sitting area.
Deluxe King
Elegant Deluxe King Rooms feature over 360 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
Executive King
Our Executive King rooms with an astounding 475-square-feet of living space share the same premium pillow top king bed with six down pillows and a down duvet as all of our king bedded rooms, along with dual vanity sinks and a separate tub and shower.
Deluxe Parlor King
Deluxe Parlor King rooms feature 435 square feet of space, an intimate sitting area and an oversized desk along with our famous king bed.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Talbott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8994 -87.6275
Area served
Chicago, Illinois.
Nearby airports
O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Area description
The Talbott Hotel is located at 20 East Delaware Place, an elegant tree lined street in the heart of Chicago's prestigious Gold Coast. Just off Michigan Avenue, our guests have immediate access to some of the world's most sophisticated shopping, fine dining, and entertainment.

Nearby points of interest

  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Delaware Room and the Gallery are located on the first floor and The Victoria Room on the second floor. Each of these is completely adaptable to serve the needs of our guests. Our experienced catering staff takes the greatest pride in servicing each private function exactly as the guest requires. Capacities and dimensions are detailed below. The Delaware Room may be combined with the lobby of the hotel, allowing comfortable capacity for a 175 guest cocktail reception.

Dining

Little Market Brasserie
Little Market Brasserie is a comfortable alternative to the usual downtown dining scene and will offer a moderately priced menu. Little Market Brasserie offers Chicago a taste of different regions of the United States while using ingredients from around the world. Chef Ryan Poli and Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval traveled around 12 different cities looking for ideas and inspiration. The menu at Little Market Brasserie features a diverse, yet approachable selection of dishes inspired by classic French Brasseries while using a variety of ingredients from different parts of the world. Menu items include short rib-cognac poutine and cheese curds - Little Market's version of French Fries.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1489)

Ratings and reviews for The Talbott Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
1489 out of 1489
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

99% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JimGottberg
Aurora, IL
Dec 23, 2013

Great first-time stay

My girlfriend and I wanted to spend a weekend in Chicago right before Christmas to enjoy the holiday lights and revisit some old traditions. She had stayed at the Tallbott previously and said it was a picturesque boutique hotel with a very traditional feel. She couldn't have been more right. The staff was terrific and very attentive. Upon check-in, Cameron immediately upgraded us to a larger King suite facing Delaware street free of charge and without us asking. The room was incredible - very clean with modern amenities but still managed to have a very classic atmosphere. I would like to make the Tallbott a holiday tradition for us. Thank you to all the wonder staff at the Tallbott for making our stay enjoyable and very memorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Christ Kindl Market was fantastic (only during the holidays).

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sleepless weekend
Mpls, mn
Apr 14, 2014

Anniversary getaway

Fantastic hotel!! We had a corner suite, it was so clean and comfortable - one of the finest hotels I've seen, can't believe it doesnt have a 5 star rating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Annapolis, MD
Jul 24, 2011

Great stay with great price

Pleasant, helpful staff; great location; spacious room, VERY comfortable bed; heartily recommended; fabulous price point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Grapevine, TX
Oct 31, 2008

Neighborhood Hotel with plenty of old world charm

Sandwiched between State and Michigan the Talbot Hotel provides you that small hotel experience with freindly service and plenty of old world charm. Located on E. Delaware a quiet side street a mere two blocks from Water Tower Square at the North end of the Magnificent mile and at the foot of Rush the Talbot is ideally located for your visit to Chicago. Inimate and cozy the Talbot offers you old world charm. The rooms are big (especially compared to New York and London standards) tastefully decorated and clean. You got to love the big sren TV's and the large and elegant bathrooms. The hotel has a small bar and restaurant/Cafe in the lobby, but located just blocks away from the great restaurants in Chicago you'll probably want to take advantage of the Talbot's great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bicyclebetty
Palm Desert, Ca.
Oct 18, 2013

Event Weekend Stay

We usually travel to Chicago in November or December, however due to a 90th birthday celebration we traveled mid October, Our rooms were perfect, as usual, however this is the first time booked on your website. I received an upgrade upon arrival, and was very pleased with that. The rooms were pricier than normal because of an event happening that weekend, however, the same excellent location, ammenities, service, stood out again. Their bar wine prices are over the top expensive, and not that good of a selection. I ordered room service and had an excellent mini-meal with impeccable service. The food prices I found reasonable. I would book this hotel again with your website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several excellent mini-marts, one right across from hotel; you can get sweets, wines, fruit, yogurts, etc., for a quick and reasonable price if in a hurry to get going on shopping or touring, rather than room service or eating in restaurant. In previous visits the restaurant provided excellent food and service at reasonable prices. I have no reason to expect that to have changed.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Altos, CA
Aug 3, 2011

Definitely one of the best hotels ever!

The staff were helpful, friendly and seemed happy and proud of their hotel. It's a one-of-a-kind place. Its very beautifully decorated and the restaurant is outstanding. The bed was very comfortable, too. They had state of the art internet, cable, etc. and had a "green option" for cooling and heating (just push the green button) to save energy. Passes are available for working out in the most amazing fitness center I've ever seen, which was located around the corner. I've stayed in hotels all over the Chicago area and this is my new favorite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SpartanVirtue
Business
East Lansing, MI
Jun 16, 2010

Super!!

Outstanding stay - beautiful accommodation and womderful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom1
Nevada, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Fantastic Stay!!

Could not say enough about the Talbott Hotel! It was quiet, lovely, and in a super location. The staff from the bellman all the way to check-out were very helpful and kind. A gentleman by the name of Dwayne who worked at the front desk and also the next day as a bellman was incredible. He heard my son talking about his school and then remembered there was a function going on in the city that went along with what he was studying and brought us all the information about it. So wonderful! I can't wait to come back to Chicago, just to stay at the Talbott!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
chevy chase md
Jul 13, 2009

beautiful hotel but I was misled

The hotel is absolutely lovely. Our one problem: I first used the Orbitz website to see what was available, and then went to the Talbotts site to get info on the hotel. The Talbotts site indicated that breakfast was included for hotel guests, and BECAUSE of that, I chose the Talbott when booking on Orbitz. We were very upset to discover when we arrived at the hotel that breakfast vouchers are provided ONLY for guests who book through the Talbotts website. That wasn't AT ALL clear to me when I was making my reservation. I really feel like I was misled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Spiaggia -- great food and service in a beautiful room; great way to taste Spiaggia-quality food at a lower price

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
drlongjon78
NYC
Jul 26, 2013

Great Staff and Locale

They were the best staff I have ever experienced. The hotel was so nice and comfortable. Even the maids were awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top