$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

The Talbott Hotel

4 stars
View map of 20 E. Delaware, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Talbott Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
1294 out of 1294
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent hotelier
Business
Iowa
Apr 8, 2013

Average business/family getaway

With high remarks from other reviewers I was expecting more. Only one staff at front desk when checking in; had to wait longer than normal while clerk answered calls. Staff not as personal as anticipated. Requested room away from elevator in quiet location-was put next to maids closet-whom opened and let the door slam at least 50 times throughout the day. Was given a key and never told what it was for; found out on own it was for minibar. Room was clean but somewhat outdated; whirlpool tub was very small and barely able to fit my 6' frame. Security cameras in every hall and in elevators-made me wonder why in such a highly rated hotel. Would have rather them have been hidden.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa shopper extroadinair
Business
Australia
Apr 8, 2013

Perfect for a girl's weekend of shopping in chicago

It was ideal in terms of location, you could sight-see, shop and dine with such ease. I couldn't fault it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cru restaurant accoss the road from the hotel did a great breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom loves to travel
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 8, 2013

First time at The Talbott Hotel

This was the first time my husband and I stayed at The Talbott Hotel and we will be going back. We stayed in a suite which was extremely large and well-appointed for the price. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The lobby area is "no frills" but functional and the staff was extremely nice and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
louweezeee
Business
Westchester county, NY
Apr 7, 2013

Great location; convenient to shopping

The room was spotless; the cleaning staff noticed immediately that the hair dryer was broken and replaced it without our having to request this. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Also, the nightly happy hour couldn't be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Purple Pig was outstanding! Great food but be prepared for a long wait. Luckily there was a fabulous wine bar (Eno) across the street where we happily waited.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheesehead Badger in CA
Business
Walnut Creek, California
Apr 7, 2013

Suburban moms' exquisite escape

Three friends and I experienced shopping, wine tasting, and the glories of the Purple Pig before rejuvenating at The (warm, welcoming, cheerfully-staffed) Talbott Hotel. Drinks were good--service fireside near bar in lobby was a dream as we chatted and shared teenage-rearing woes and strategies. Lived the gorgeous room, linens, and super clean. Restorative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Purple Pig has awesome food. Right across from Intercontinental Hotel. Had to wait 90 minutes, so we started at Enyo across the street from the Pig, phenomenal. Attitudinal waitstaff but great wine selection and artisan cheeses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Songbird73
Business
Avon, OH
Apr 6, 2013

Talbott Hotel is the BEST

This location and staff are perfect at the Talbott!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mag mile, Hancock Tower, Gold Coast and Old Town all easy walking distance from hotel. Concierge was a wonderful help!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sand castle girl
Business
Michigan
Apr 6, 2013

room service

since the new restaurant took over at the hotel, the room service food is terrible, even the coffee, i asked if they had a sesame bagel to order for room service, and the guy actually said there is a Starbucks across the street, or another store around the corner, seriously! I have been staying there for 20 years, i do not think i will go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Panama67
Business
Louisville, KY
Apr 4, 2013

Great Chicago Hotel and Location

This hotel made our family stay in downtown Chicago even better. We arrived to the hotel early and were immediately put in our room within 10 minutes. The staff were friendly and were always available to answer any questions we had about getting around the city. When we go back to Chicago, this will be our first choice. Starbucks, Walgreens, and other stores within 1-block. There is no reason to stay anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lawyer on Business
Business
Orange County, California
Apr 4, 2013

Great Hotel

What a great hotel! Excellent location (just down the street from the Four Seasons), rooms much larger than one typically finds in hotels located in a city, and a very helpful - it just doesn't get much better. Moreover, a tremendous value. I would stay at The Talbott again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Montana Ash
Business
Helena, MT
Apr 4, 2013

This hotel rocks

The vintage look of the hotel lobby and rooms belies all the modern comforts and cleanliness you would expect of a top hotel near the Mile. Walking distance of literally anything great, from the best restaurants (Spiaggia around the corner, Purple Pig less than a mile away right on Michigan Ave.) and world class shopping galore to simple stuff like a super efficient and friendly Starbucks kitty corner on Delware (open at 5 am). The staff is nice, gets the job done quickly without any nonsense, and takes care of this hotel with superb service. Personalized wake-up calls, friendly room attendants who clean your room while you're out in the am and it's all totally ready for you by afternoon nap time. And, even near the elevator, our room was darned near sound proof--very restful. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Only problems: our TV cable, connected to a computer, kept going out from time to time as we watched. No big deal: we weren't there to watch TV on our vacation. And, our room did not have one of those U-shaped door stoppers at the top, which is a good back-up to the regular deadbolt and lock. However, the hotel was absolutely safe, clean and satisfactory.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If the weather is right, forego public transit and cabs and just walk to the Art Institute, Field Museum and Shedd at the Museum complex--lovely shopping and eating all along the way (including the outstanding Purple Pig near the river on Michigan Ave.--have the bone marrow appetizer and expect great service, world class Mediterranean food and fun atmosphere at cool prices).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top