$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 28, 2015 Check-out: Jun 29, 2015

The Talbott Hotel

4 stars
View map of 20 E. Delaware, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Talbott Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
1356 out of 1356
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
howarrd
bloomfield hills, mi
Jan 22, 2013

Great location, excellent staff

Very friendly. great location, wonderful value. Nice small hotel, very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, il
Jul 20, 2011

Really nice

Eat, drink, and shop

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeeQue
Business
Saudi Arabia
May 10, 2014

Would I go back to The Talbott

No. I stayed at a large sweet, so I expected an executive lounge. There was nothing worth another visit in that hotel. I thought of moving to The Peninsula Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
May 3, 2010

decent...good area

stayed one night just for a pleasure trip to the windy city. Room was clean and quite. Staff was good although had limited contact. Parking people could have offered more information...in & out priviledges, etc... not sure if we were entitled to a discount coupon at the parking garage or not? We valet parked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan Avenue, State Street, Rush Street just steps away. Also convenient 'market/grocery' type stores very close if you needed that kind of thing.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New Year's traveler
Business
IL
Jan 1, 2010

Talbott Hotel

We upgraded to a larger room with a separate shower and tub, but the stall was very small and not worth the upgrade

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempo Cafe has a decent breakfast

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Towdpoint Traveler
Business
New York City
Jun 25, 2014

Well...

I am a big fan of the Talbott and stay here frequently. Not sure what happened on my last vistit but I did not have a reservation when I arrived, and the city was booked solid. Fortunately they found a room for me...$564 dollars later...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TCINDC
Business
Washington DC
Jul 2, 2014

Look elsewhere for a Chicago botique hotel weekend visit

The Talbott Hotel is conveniently located a block from the Michigan Ave magnificent mile shopping and our room was well appointed and spacious. Unfortunately, our three day visit started with a poor check-in experience and we suffered from anemic air conditioning throughout our stay. We checked in at 4:00 pm on a Saturday (an hour after the published check-in time) but had to stand in the lobby for 15 minutes while our room was "inspected" as explained by an almost surly front desk clerk. The room air conditioner was activated by a motion sensor in the room so the room always heated up when we were away. Despite an inaccurate thermostat which said the room cooled to 65 degrees, the room never got any cooler than the upper 70's and that only after an hour of running on maximum cool. The front desk said that they contacted an engineer to address our a/c complaint but the problem persisted throughout our visit. The hotel appeared to be short staffed on the weekend. Our room was not cleaned until 4:00 pm on Sunday, two hours before a too early 6:00 pm offer for a turn down service. Room cleaning was timely on Monday morning. During my next visit to Chicago I will try a different boutique hotel such as the James.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Golubnar
Business
Greater Chicago Area
Oct 13, 2014

Special Occasion

The Talbott presents as an old-school, elegant hotel, and for the most part doesn't disappoint, at least as far as staff attentiveness and cleanliness are concerned. The entire place, however, appears to be served by only two, small and slow elevators, which you will invariably have to share with the cleaning and janitorial staff. Not the stuff of 4 stars, I'm afraid. The lobby and bar, too, are great disappointments and have clearly been photographed with width and depth-enhancing lenses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nody
Business
omaha ne
Nov 20, 2014

overall cleaness

The carpet was not cleaned under the chairs. I found a contact lens(used) on the bathroom floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
isthatonsale
Business
TAMPA
Feb 11, 2015

Underwhelmed

Stayed there over a 3-day holiday weekend. Very nice hotel but didn't live up to the hype. Fast assistance from the doorman and a quick check-in. The room was superb with wonderful amenities. The front desk staff was quick to remedy any issues, including bringing new batteries for the remote at 4am. My issue is that we were "upgraded" to a room that shared a wall with the cleaning closet. All afternoon it sounded like the housekeeping staff and the mop were having a fight! Also the room overlooked an alley and looked directly into the rooms of the other hotel. At 4:30am the beeping of trucks backing out of the alley and the yelling from staff giving instructions was quite the ruckus. We actually downloaded a white noise app to help us sleep. Staff also left early because it was a holiday. There was no room service and the restaurant downstairs was closed, so we ordered pizza and had it delivered. The front desk staff did not seem pleased by this. We also had to put up with a night of "ding-dong-ditch". Just a side note: They were adamant that room service be charged and not paid in cash. Since it was their preference and not policy, we would make it a point when ordering to say we were paying cash. Nevertheless, 3 charges had to be reversed. I actually had room service refuse to take cash the first time until I called the front desk and had her speak with him. The biggest thing that left a bad impression was the lack of professionalism of a certain housekeeper. She acted a little too familiar for my taste. I doubt we'll stay there again but I would offer a cautionary recommendation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CA couple
Business
Berkeley
Mar 3, 2015

CA couple

Booked this for a weekend visit to Chicago. Location is great. Value, OK. Room was dated and fusty and a bit dreary. . .not to our taste. Would not stay here again, given options in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top