$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

The Talbott Hotel

4 stars
View map of 20 E. Delaware, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Talbott Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
1294 out of 1294
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
No smoker surprise
Business
Tennessee
Sep 24, 2012

Loud and smoky

The room on the 3rd floor was over the service entrance with trucks and workers working late and night and early mornings. Incredibly loud, couldn't sleep. Room and hallway had very potent smoke odor. Great location and staff, but room itself is not what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leonitus
Business
scottsdale
Oct 5, 2012

Comfortable bed

Location is good.Very comfortable room although small.Tv/computer remote did not work but those things happen. Need to check those more frequently. Staff was pleasant but not that helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Indyguy
Business
Northern Indiana
Jan 23, 2013

Nice but not great

Saw lots of great reviews for this hotel so gave it a shot for a night in town with my wife. Given the basic king room on the second floor with a view of a brick wall and some utilities. Got a good rate so wasn't expecting a good view but I guess I also wasn't expecting such an incredibly poor one. Room was decent size and quiet and clean though. Some questionable looking grout in the tub/shower but not gross. Bathroom was small but adequate. Single serve coffee machine in the room but no supplies or instructions on how to get any. Fancy TV system hooked up to a Mac computer. Tried to turn it on and couldn't get past a blue screen - and I'm a seasoned technology guy. Front desk offered a suggestion of resetting the computer, which worked, but I had to do this a second time later when turning the system on. Also, the remote doesn't have a "last channel" button or a number pad to easily go to a channel. And the onscreen guide font size was super tiny. Since everyone has smartphones and laptops/tablets these days, they could probably just stick with a regular TV. Wifi in the room is free. Turn down service was a nice small touch, especially on a cold night to come back from dinner out with friends to a nice warm room. No ice machines in the hotel but a call to the front desk and ice was delivered free of charge in a few minutes. Bell desk was very happy to hold our bags in a locked room for a couple hours on checkout. Valet parking was $51 with in/out privileges. All the other employees were nice. The hotel is decorated with dark woods and lots of English hunting dog pictures. There is no large grand lobby; instead it feels as though you are entering an English guest house with a couple of small living rooms with leather furniture and fireplaces. Would probably prefer the former seeing as it is downtown Chicago and not London. Didn't check out the bar or restaurant. Great location a block or two from it all, but might have been more fun to be right on Michigan Ave. Also a Starbucks directly across the street (and two more within a couple blocks) for those needing their fix. Overall, it's a nice hotel if it's your style but might recommend you look elsewhere if you're seeking a bit more grandeur or excitement that you might expect with being in the heart of the city. Perhaps the more expensive rooms would have offered a better feel but I'll probably look elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempo Cafe a block away seems like the place for Sunday brunch but expect to wait for a table if you're there after 10. Pancake House a few blocks north was also crowded.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChangeofPace
Business
Minnesota
Mar 15, 2013

Dwayne "The Rock" Bellman

The review is based on a sale price for one night's stay and the other night at regular price. Our family was welcomed by Dwayne "The Rock" Bellmen who was very hospitable. We had some initial questions about the room size and view which the lady at the Front Desk was unable to answer. Dwayne was able to answer all our questions and gave us further advice about parking and places to eat and see. Very helpful in every respect! The room was clean and tidy. In short , it was presentable. The view was not desirable, but there really isn't much the Hotel can do about the view. After all, it is downtown Chicago and there are buildings on either side of the Hotel. You may have an upgrade to a street view and a few more extra square feet for a cost of $70.00. However, if there are more than three of you, you will have have to pay an extra $20.00 for a role out bed. Since we were not going to be in the room for very much time we decided we could look at a wall at night time to save $90.00. The location is what makes the Hotel very desirable. The Hotel room was quiet . There is place to 'people watch' in the foyer while sitting in front of a blazing fire. To be sure, a little cool in March, but we spent a good hour visiting with folks coming in an out of the foyer. There are many local restaurants for mom and dad and for the kids within walking distance. Our teenagers did not grumble at our time at the Hotel. When compared with the other Hotels in the surrounding area who provide a greater array of amenities but then you consider how little time you actually spend in your room, a case can easily be made to stay at the Talbot. The bottom line: If the Talbot could offer the discounted rate that I received for one night and extend it for the length of any given stay and I was in Chicago to sight see, I would recommend the Talbot to a friend. When we return to Chicago I will be sure to check out the Talbot before I check any other Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Original Pancake House" for breakfast (5mins) Lumindades for deep dish pizza (10mins) and a longer walk to "Jakes" about six blocks south on State and Superior (35mins).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sand castle girl
Business
Michigan
Apr 6, 2013

room service

since the new restaurant took over at the hotel, the room service food is terrible, even the coffee, i asked if they had a sesame bagel to order for room service, and the guy actually said there is a Starbucks across the street, or another store around the corner, seriously! I have been staying there for 20 years, i do not think i will go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent hotelier
Business
Iowa
Apr 8, 2013

Average business/family getaway

With high remarks from other reviewers I was expecting more. Only one staff at front desk when checking in; had to wait longer than normal while clerk answered calls. Staff not as personal as anticipated. Requested room away from elevator in quiet location-was put next to maids closet-whom opened and let the door slam at least 50 times throughout the day. Was given a key and never told what it was for; found out on own it was for minibar. Room was clean but somewhat outdated; whirlpool tub was very small and barely able to fit my 6' frame. Security cameras in every hall and in elevators-made me wonder why in such a highly rated hotel. Would have rather them have been hidden.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChicagoFun
Business
Chicago
Apr 22, 2013

Not so great getaway weekend

Generator "testing" was going on all day. We noted the noise during the early evening and thought it wouldn't continue well into the evening and wee hours of the next morning...not so great for getting any sleep. We actually did our own investigation and walked into the alley behind the hotel (twice) and the offending generator was actually a large portable generator, more typically used for construction. It certainly was not a permanent generator for the property. It also had absolutely no sound deadening panels and was located in a position that nicely amplified noise even more. Further, the person monitoring the generator was not very forthcoming on the situation other than to state when they would be done. What is incongruous to your explanation as your staff and the person with the generator (after my second trip outside) indicated this was for the restaurant, and not the apartment. Therefore, it appears there is a conflict in what you state and what others state. We indicated to your staff a simply call to the police would have sufficed to shut down the operation as the decibel noise rating outside was to the level of a jet airplane. This far exceeds Chicago's noise allowance. I saw another guest who appeared in the lobby complaining about the windows physically shaking in their room. Why didn't this prompt an immediate call to the police to investigate the issue? Regardless if this generator was actually in place for the hotel restaurant or apartments I'd state this a management failure on the part of the Talbott staff to honor your customers at your hotel with service befitting your rating. The bar remodel was a lesson in poor design of how to properly merge classic style with modern. Additionally, the room we stayed in is certainly showing its age with style and substandard lighting. The only nice part of the hotel: the friendly doormen!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Debbie1962
Business
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Nov 11, 2013

Beautiful Chicago Weekend...Hotel, not so much

We go to Chicago every November to celebrate my Husband's birthday and have stayed at many different hotels in different areas. The location for the Talbott could not be beat. However, when you open the draperies to see the view...you see ugly building and HVAC systems. This hotel is between buildings on either side so that there is no daylight to be seen! I was not happy and let them know to see if we could be moved...bottom line...the rooms are all this way unless it is a handicapped room. For this reason we will not be coming back to the Talbott. For the price $$$ I would like to see the sky! Also, we were not told you have to press a button for do not disturb...no hanging sign on your door. Also, there is a button on the wall if you'd like the room cleaned. So, we were disturbed early in the morning by housekeeping and the room was not cleaned until 6:00 pm becauses we didn't press the button. This should have all been explained on check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Sienna Tavern

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
summerluvn78
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jul 19, 2009

Great price for location

The hotel was a step above an updated holiday inn. Great price for the location though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

My two cents if you are not planning on driving do self park for 34 a day verses 48 valet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WI
Oct 19, 2009

great except for the toilet

Enjoyed the city with friends who had never experienced Chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top