$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

The Talbott Hotel

4 stars
20 E. Delaware, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
1,277 reviews
lovely classic hotel

Would stay again, loved it. The location was perfect, we walked everywhere or took public... See full review

  • TnMK
  • Feb 22, 2015
Business trip

Wonderful staff, great value, will most certainly stay there again. See full review

  • Viola grand
  • Feb 21, 2015
Independently-owned and with a dedication to green practices, The Talbott Hotel has been a fixture in Chicago's Gold Coast neighborhood since 1927. The hotel mingles old-world sophistication with modern conveniences - the lobby has a cozy, open-fire warmth and the vintage-style boardrooms feature 1920s mahogany walls. Awarded the Best in Stay Award in 2014 - 2015, the Talbott features exclusive touches like the creative Tippling Brothers cocktail menu at the Mercadito Fish Co., and the knowledgeable 'Concierge Blog' on the hotel's site, setting the hotel far apart from other Chicago accommodations.
Key facts
  • 149 guestrooms
  • Pets allowed (up to 50 pounds, and fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces: 3 rooms, up to 200 guests
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant/bar: Mercadito Fish Co.
Neighborhood
With a prime location just a few blocks from Washington Square Park, Oak Street and the Magnificent Mile, The Talbott Hotel comes with easy access to shops like Bloomingdale's and Macy's, as well as the scenic Lakefront Trail on the shores of Lake Michigan. The Art Institute of Chicago is less than two miles from The Talbott's front entrance, boasting a staggering collection of over 250,000 works of art, including work by Vincent van Gogh, Claude Monet and Mary Cassatt.
Hints and tips
For privileged views of Chicago and a bit of distance from busy Delaware Street, ask for a room on the upper floors.
For a more personalized stay, the Talbott Hotel's packages offer everything from the princess treatment for young daughters - including milk and cupcakes at turndown - to a $50 gift certificate  for the 900 North Michigan Shops.
Policies and fees

Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Talbott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Talbott Hotel Rooms

Superior Double Queen
Luxuriously appointed, 403-square-foot Superior Double Queen guest room features two queen-size pillow-top beds with feather pillows, an armoire, working desk with a Mac Mini computer and two sitting chairs"perfect for families or guests who need ample space for sharing.
Superior King
Superior King rooms feature over 400 square-feet of living space a king size pillow top bed, a luxurious bathroom with Italian marble and granite, an armoire and a large work desk equipped with a Mac Mini and the latest in technology.
Deluxe Double Queen
Spacious Deluxe Double Queen rooms offer 364 square foot guest rooms featuring two queen size pillow top beds with feather pillows, armoire, working desk and two sitting chairs.
Standard King Room
Standard King Rooms offer 316 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
One Bedroom Suite
Each expansive One Bedroom Suite, approximately 700 square feet, offers a separate bedroom and living area with a sofa and oversized working desk. The enormous, spa-like suite bathroom features a soaking tub and separate glass enclosed shower along with two separate vanity areas and a separate sitting area.
Deluxe King
Elegant Deluxe King Rooms feature over 360 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
Executive King
Our Executive King rooms with an astounding 475-square-feet of living space share the same premium pillow top king bed with six down pillows and a down duvet as all of our king bedded rooms, along with dual vanity sinks and a separate tub and shower.
Deluxe Parlor King
Deluxe Parlor King rooms feature 435 square feet of space, an intimate sitting area and an oversized desk along with our famous king bed.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi

Dining

Mercadito Fish Co.
A contemporary American seafood eatery is the latest concept developed by Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval of the esteemed Mercadito Hospitality group. Located in the heart of Chicago's thriving Gold Coast neighborhood at The Talbott Hotel, Mercadito Fish features the best of casual and fine dining seafood restaurants. Fresh seasonal catches and personable service amplify its modern day sensibility, inspiring exploration of new flavors and approachability. The restaurant showcases a range of familiar and new seafood preparations, as well as an expertly customized beverage program. Matched with a warm and thoughtfully designed environment, Mercadito Fish offers exquisitely prepared seafood without compromising atmosphere and price.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Delaware Room and the Gallery are located on the first floor and The Victoria Room on the second floor. Each of these is completely adaptable to serve the needs of our guests. Our experienced catering staff takes the greatest pride in servicing each private function exactly as the guest requires. Capacities and dimensions are detailed below. The Delaware Room may be combined with the lobby of the hotel, allowing comfortable capacity for a 175 guest cocktail reception.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1277)

Ratings and reviews for The Talbott Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
1277 out of 1277
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick B
Business
newport beach
Feb 16, 2015

Excelent hotel

Large Clean rooms, good amenities, wonderful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James M.
Business
Gahanna
Feb 14, 2015

Everything we wanted

I proposed to my girlfriend on this trip. They set up everything that I requested and were very helpful. No issues whatsoever and we got a good deal in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jafet r.
Business
N/A
Feb 14, 2015

awesome time

I was in Chicago with friends and decided I wanted to stay in the city. I booked the hotel quickly and was able to check in just as quick. The restaurant downstairs serves some delightful drinks and is a great place to meet with friends before a night out on the town. It was a great stay and I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Weiran J.
Business
Ann Arbor
Feb 12, 2015

Awesome trip

The hotel just meets my expectation. The location is good and the staff are very friendly. We really spent a great time in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
isthatonsale
Business
TAMPA
Feb 11, 2015

Underwhelmed

Stayed there over a 3-day holiday weekend. Very nice hotel but didn't live up to the hype. Fast assistance from the doorman and a quick check-in. The room was superb with wonderful amenities. The front desk staff was quick to remedy any issues, including bringing new batteries for the remote at 4am. My issue is that we were "upgraded" to a room that shared a wall with the cleaning closet. All afternoon it sounded like the housekeeping staff and the mop were having a fight! Also the room overlooked an alley and looked directly into the rooms of the other hotel. At 4:30am the beeping of trucks backing out of the alley and the yelling from staff giving instructions was quite the ruckus. We actually downloaded a white noise app to help us sleep. Staff also left early because it was a holiday. There was no room service and the restaurant downstairs was closed, so we ordered pizza and had it delivered. The front desk staff did not seem pleased by this. We also had to put up with a night of "ding-dong-ditch". Just a side note: They were adamant that room service be charged and not paid in cash. Since it was their preference and not policy, we would make it a point when ordering to say we were paying cash. Nevertheless, 3 charges had to be reversed. I actually had room service refuse to take cash the first time until I called the front desk and had her speak with him. The biggest thing that left a bad impression was the lack of professionalism of a certain housekeeper. She acted a little too familiar for my taste. I doubt we'll stay there again but I would offer a cautionary recommendation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FoSjo21
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

a nice weekend getaway

When we arrived it was great. Recommend valet your car it's worth the $60. Right down town. Easy to get to. The bar is clean and classy. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marc and Shelley B.
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Our Stay at the Talbott Hotel in Chicago

The Talbott Hotel in Chicago was rated as a 4 star hotel, but I'd give it 5 stars. From the minute we walked through the door (held open by the door man) and went to the Reception Desk we were treated like royalty. Our room was up-graded to a Deluxe room without asking and were given free breakfast buffet vouchers for the length of our stay when I asked if their restaurant was open for breakfast. Our bed was turned down each night and chocolate candy placed on our pillows. The bedding was luxurious with a beautifully thick duvet and even the bathroom was spacious and offered Molton Brown products. We love to cruise and I would say this room was as lovely and well equipped as a suite on a Celebrity Cruise Ship . We will stay at this hotel again and have already recommended it to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is located right off of the Magnificent Mile. It is also located near the train and elevated lines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John L.
Business
Naperville
Feb 4, 2015

Great location

Hotel was in a great location, a ton of great dining and nightlife close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DPH
Business
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

Business travel

The 4.6 rating on this hotel is spot on. Great location, staff, value, room comfort. Apple TV in the room was cool and easy to use as I'd never tried it before. Access to the Equinox (full gym) in the bottom of the Bloomingdales' building on Michigan Ave a few blocks away beats almost every other hotel gym I've been to. However, bring warm ups to get there in the winter. I will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChemistryRules
Business
Stockbridge
Jan 26, 2015

Nice Chicago hotel

This is a generally lovely hotel, and has an absolutely spectacular location - very convenient for shopping the Miracle Mile and visiting museums at the north end of downtown. Staff were generally friendly and accommodating, although occasionally misinformed (we were told when we checked in that Sunday brunch was available until 3:30 pm and discovered at 1:00 pm that it had actually ended at 11:30 am - oops!). Parking was terrifyingly expensive, but not out of line with other downtown hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top