$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

The Talbott Hotel

4 stars
20 E. Delaware, Chicago, IL 60611
Best In Stay Elite
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
1,219 reviews
our tour of the talbot

this group really had the holiday spirit and seemed genuine to their guests there was a feeling... See full review

  • ann the traveling princes
  • Dec 7, 2014
Chicago holiday weekend

Perfect place to stay. Location excellent. Staff pleasant and helpful. See full review

  • Olga Doro
  • Dec 1, 2014
Independently-owned and with a dedication to green practices, The Talbott Hotel has been a fixture in Chicago's Gold Coast neighborhood since 1927. The hotel mingles old-world sophistication with modern conveniences - the lobby has a cozy, open-fire warmth and the vintage-style boardrooms feature 1920s mahogany walls. Awarded the Best in Stay Award in 2014 - 2015, the Talbott features exclusive touches like the creative Tippling Brothers cocktail menu at the Mercadito Fish Co., and the knowledgeable 'Concierge Blog' on the hotel's site, setting the hotel far apart from other Chicago accommodations.
Key facts
  • 149 guestrooms
  • Pets allowed (up to 50 pounds, and fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces: 3 rooms, up to 200 guests
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant/bar: Mercadito Fish Co.
Neighborhood
With a prime location just a few blocks from Washington Square Park, Oak Street and the Magnificent Mile, The Talbott Hotel comes with easy access to shops like Bloomingdale's and Macy's, as well as the scenic Lakefront Trail on the shores of Lake Michigan. The Art Institute of Chicago is less than two miles from The Talbott's front entrance, boasting a staggering collection of over 250,000 works of art, including work by Vincent van Gogh, Claude Monet and Mary Cassatt.
Hints and tips
For privileged views of Chicago and a bit of distance from busy Delaware Street, ask for a room on the upper floors.
For a more personalized stay, the Talbott Hotel's packages offer everything from the princess treatment for young daughters - including milk and cupcakes at turndown - to a $50 gift certificate  for the 900 North Michigan Shops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Talbott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Talbott Hotel Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
Each expansive One Bedroom Suite, approximately 700 square feet, offers a separate bedroom and living area with a sofa and oversized working desk. The enormous, spa-like suite bathroom features a soaking tub and separate glass enclosed shower along with two separate vanity areas and a separate sitting area.
Deluxe King
Elegant Deluxe King Rooms feature over 360 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
Executive King
Our Executive King rooms with an astounding 475-square-feet of living space share the same premium pillow top king bed with six down pillows and a down duvet as all of our king bedded rooms, along with dual vanity sinks and a separate tub and shower.
Deluxe Parlor King
Deluxe Parlor King rooms feature 435 square feet of space, an intimate sitting area and an oversized desk along with our famous king bed.
Superior Double Queen
Luxuriously appointed, 403-square-foot Superior Double Queen guest room features two queen-size pillow-top beds with feather pillows, an armoire, working desk with a Mac Mini computer and two sitting chairs"perfect for families or guests who need ample space for sharing.
Superior King
Superior King rooms feature over 400 square-feet of living space a king size pillow top bed, a luxurious bathroom with Italian marble and granite, an armoire and a large work desk equipped with a Mac Mini and the latest in technology.
Deluxe Double Queen
Spacious Deluxe Double Queen rooms offer 364 square foot guest rooms featuring two queen size pillow top beds with feather pillows, armoire, working desk and two sitting chairs.
Standard King Room
Standard King Rooms offer 316 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Delaware Room and the Gallery are located on the first floor and The Victoria Room on the second floor. Each of these is completely adaptable to serve the needs of our guests. Our experienced catering staff takes the greatest pride in servicing each private function exactly as the guest requires. Capacities and dimensions are detailed below. The Delaware Room may be combined with the lobby of the hotel, allowing comfortable capacity for a 175 guest cocktail reception.

Dining

Mercadito Fish Co.
A contemporary American seafood eatery is the latest concept developed by Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval of the esteemed Mercadito Hospitality group. Located in the heart of Chicago's thriving Gold Coast neighborhood at The Talbott Hotel, Mercadito Fish features the best of casual and fine dining seafood restaurants. Fresh seasonal catches and personable service amplify its modern day sensibility, inspiring exploration of new flavors and approachability. The restaurant showcases a range of familiar and new seafood preparations, as well as an expertly customized beverage program. Matched with a warm and thoughtfully designed environment, Mercadito Fish offers exquisitely prepared seafood without compromising atmosphere and price.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1219)

Ratings and reviews for The Talbott Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
1219 out of 1219
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Aug 1, 2007

Great location

The Talbot Hotel is located about 50 yards from Rush Street. It is conveniently located to Michigan Ave. There are plenty of eateries all located within short walking distance. The Goddess wine bar and grocery located just across the street from the hotel is a great place to get delicious prepared food at reasonable prices. The hotel menu is excellent. It is a short walk from the hotel to Oak St. Beach, and world class shopping surrounds the hotel. The sheets were real soft, the room decor was cozy and updated. Simply elegant. The wireless Internet worked flawlessly. We will stay thee again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't bother renting a car. take a cab, because EVERYTHING is within a short walking distance. Bloomingdales, Saks, Bentley, Cartier, all withing a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 24, 2008

One of all time favorites.

We had a perfect stay at the Talbott Hotel last week with our two teenage sons. The concierge helped us with several reservations for Easter Brunch, dinners, and tours even before we arrived at the hotel. The staff was genuinely friendly. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated. Beds are comfortable and it is very quiet.. The hotel is walking distance to shopping, theatre and terrific restaurants. We have traveled extensively including very upscale accommodations and we will certainly be returning to the Talbott!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Untouchables gangster tour. It is a bus tour that originates at what is ranked the best MacDonalds in the U.S.( good place to have a Macmuffin before the tour) The two fellows who run the tour provide a hilarious 2 hour tour which is easy to hear and follow.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 21, 2007

My review of The Talbott Hotel

The Talbott Hotel was quite comfortable. Location was terrific as it was a short walking distance to restaurants, nightclubs, shopping on Michigan Avenue and State Street. We would definitely stay here again! The staff was very helpful and informative on suggestions for jazz and blues clubs as well as specific restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for walking along the lakefront as well as nightlife in the Goldcoast neighborhood of Chicago.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carsten
Business
Germany
Jul 7, 2009

A PERFECT HOTEL TO STAY

very nice location in the heart of chicago, short ways to the pier, the shopping miles and the hancock tower. the stuff is very friendly and proffesional, they can arrange you anything what you want, really outstanding. beautifull rooms for this price. when we visit chicago again, we will stay in the talbott hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

on the 95th floor of the hancock tower. beautifull view, very good food, and nice winemenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
college shopper
Business
Pekin, IL
Jul 25, 2009

Great Location

Loved the location. We were visiting Loyola and DePaul. Plenty of parking. Plenty of outside eateries. Beds were very comfortable. Decent size rooms. Nice big bath towels. Nice flat screen t.v. Only thing bathroom lighting just a little too dark for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Centralia, IL
Jan 9, 2010

Great Stay!!

The staff was fantastic. The concierge was extremely helpful in answering any questions we had and placing our dinner reservations. Everything about the staff was extremely courteous, accomodating and professional. The location offers a short walk to tons of shopping and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Must walk to Ditka's while you are staying at the Talbott. The concierge will be happy to make a reservation for you. Bar is a bit loud, but a great place for really good food and to watch a game. One of the larger rooms would be better for quiet dinner. The Feast, across the street, has an excellent brunch during the weekend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spoiled woman on her 25th Anniversary
Business
Grand Rapids,MI
Mar 23, 2010

Beautiful & wonderful escape

Our trip to the Talbott was absolutely wonderful- they answered questions I had even before I arrived.They gave exact directions ,very helpful,gave us early arrival and held our bags until later in the afternoon.Plenty of towels,hair dyer,iron and board in the room. We lacked for nothing except more time to enjoy their fabulous hotel. The hotel was close to everything we wanted to visit One tiny thing - was the in room coffee machine.It did not produce a decent cup of coffee. But there was plenty of coffee shops in the area to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

too many good choices to decide from :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio Valley....Ohio, W. Va., and Pa
Jul 27, 2010

It was awesome

Ok....I will be returning for sure....Staff was outstanding, location was awesome, rooms super clean and very updated. Bellhops were out of this world...excellent information was given....super nice Valet parking was worth the price of $100 for 2 nights...didn't have to deal w/ it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ditka's was excellent....my husband had the meatloaf...it was mouth watering...it was a tower of delicious...everyone stared as it was brought to the table. I had the fish & chips which was sooooooo good. Then we drove to Al's Italian Beef in Little Italy OMG it was too die for ( it was on Travel channel's "Man vs. Food") you could take a cab if you didn't want to drive...it was 12 minutes from our hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kingsport,Tn
Mar 1, 2011

The Talbott Hotel

We went to Chicago to take my daughter and her friend to the American Girl Store. The hotel was conveniently located near the store. Easy walking distance. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Tourista
Business
Lincoln, NE
May 23, 2011

A classy experience

All the staff at the Talbott were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed - ice, directions, dinner reservations. Their concierge staff was excellent! The food at the attached bistro - Bice - was superb. Their breakfasts, especially, were so tasty. Best coffee ever. The room was beautiful. Huge flatscreen, good movie channels. The mattress was perfect, down pillows and a down duvet made every night like sleeping on a cloud. Not sure if you can tell but we loved The Talbott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Let the Talbott concierge help you pick where to go for dinner. We chose a place that we saw while walking around and it was not a good experience. But every time Gene or Kathy, the Talbott concierge staff, chose a restaurant for us, it was AMAZING!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top