$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

The Talbott Hotel

4 stars
20 E. Delaware, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
1,459 reviews
Great in every way

Had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Talbott Hotel. Rooms are clean, beds are comfy, staff is... See full review

  • happytrav3ls
  • Jul 11, 2014
Perfect Location

This hotel is centrally located, close to all the fun and restaurants on Rush St and then shopping... See full review

  • JustaDent
  • Jul 11, 2014
Independently-owned and with a dedication to green practices, The Talbott Hotel has been a fixture in Chicago's Gold Coast neighborhood since 1927. The hotel mingles old-world sophistication with modern conveniences - the lobby has a cozy, open-fire warmth and the vintage-style boardrooms feature 1920s mahogany walls. Awarded the Best in Stay Award by Orbitz in 2012, the Talbott features exclusive touches like the creative Tippling Brothers cocktail menu at the Little Market Brasserie, and the knowledgeable 'Concierge Blog' on the hotel's site, setting the hotel far apart from other Chicago accommodations.
Key facts
  • 149 guestrooms
  • Pets allowed (up to 50 pounds, and fees may apply)
  • Conference and event spaces: 3 rooms, up to 200 guests
  • Fitness center
  • Laundry service
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant/bar: Little Market Brasserie
Neighborhood
With a prime location just a few blocks from Washington Square Park, Oak Street and the Magnificent Mile, The Talbott Hotel comes with easy access to shops like Bloomingdale's and Macy's, as well as the scenic Lakefront Trail on the shores of Lake Michigan. The Art Institute of Chicago is less than two miles from The Talbott's front entrance, boasting a staggering collection of over 250,000 works of art, including work by Vincent van Gogh, Claude Monet and Mary Cassatt.
Hints and tips
For privileged views of Chicago and a bit of distance from busy Delaware Street, ask for a room on the upper floors.
For a more personalized stay, the Talbott Hotel's packages offer everything from the princess treatment for young daughters - including milk and cupcakes at turndown - to a $50 gift certificate  for the 900 North Michigan Shops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Talbott Hotel Rooms

Superior Double Queen
Luxuriously appointed, 403-square-foot Superior Double Queen guest room features two queen-size pillow-top beds with feather pillows, an armoire, working desk with a Mac Mini computer and two sitting chairs"perfect for families or guests who need ample space for sharing.
Superior King
Superior King rooms feature over 400 square-feet of living space a king size pillow top bed, a luxurious bathroom with Italian marble and granite, an armoire and a large work desk equipped with a Mac Mini and the latest in technology.
Deluxe Double Queen
Spacious Deluxe Double Queen rooms offer 364 square foot guest rooms featuring two queen size pillow top beds with feather pillows, armoire, working desk and two sitting chairs.
Standard King Room
Standard King Rooms offer 316 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
One Bedroom Suite
Each expansive One Bedroom Suite, approximately 700 square feet, offers a separate bedroom and living area with a sofa and oversized working desk. The enormous, spa-like suite bathroom features a soaking tub and separate glass enclosed shower along with two separate vanity areas and a separate sitting area.
Deluxe King
Elegant Deluxe King Rooms feature over 360 square-feet of luxurious living space as well as the king bed and the same luxurious bedding as all of our premium rooms.
Executive King
Our Executive King rooms with an astounding 475-square-feet of living space share the same premium pillow top king bed with six down pillows and a down duvet as all of our king bedded rooms, along with dual vanity sinks and a separate tub and shower.
Deluxe Parlor King
Deluxe Parlor King rooms feature 435 square feet of space, an intimate sitting area and an oversized desk along with our famous king bed.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

41.8994 -87.6275
Area served
Chicago, Illinois.
Nearby airports
O'Hare and Midway Airports.
Area description
The Talbott Hotel is located at 20 East Delaware Place, an elegant tree lined street in the heart of Chicago's prestigious Gold Coast. Just off Michigan Avenue, our guests have immediate access to some of the world's most sophisticated shopping, fine dining, and entertainment.

Nearby points of interest

  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.2 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.2 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.6 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 1 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 1 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1.1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.2 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.2 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.4 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Delaware Room and the Gallery are located on the first floor and The Victoria Room on the second floor. Each of these is completely adaptable to serve the needs of our guests. Our experienced catering staff takes the greatest pride in servicing each private function exactly as the guest requires. Capacities and dimensions are detailed below. The Delaware Room may be combined with the lobby of the hotel, allowing comfortable capacity for a 175 guest cocktail reception.

Dining

Little Market Brasserie
Little Market Brasserie is a comfortable alternative to the usual downtown dining scene and will offer a moderately priced menu. Little Market Brasserie offers Chicago a taste of different regions of the United States while using ingredients from around the world. Chef Ryan Poli and Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval traveled around 12 different cities looking for ideas and inspiration. The menu at Little Market Brasserie features a diverse, yet approachable selection of dishes inspired by classic French Brasseries while using a variety of ingredients from different parts of the world. Menu items include short rib-cognac poutine and cheese curds - Little Market's version of French Fries.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1459)

Ratings and reviews for The Talbott Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
1459 out of 1459
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicago Overnighter
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 24, 2014

Excellent Stay

Terrific location away from traffic and street noise in a clean, beautifully appointed hotel with many nice touches. Great for an overnight business stay while providing nice area to walk around in. I was surprized at good size of the room and comfort level. Staff couldn't have been more attentive and accommodating to every question, every need. When in Chicago again, I'm headed back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great restaraunt and bar attached to hotel.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Veteran
Illinois
Apr 17, 2014

Talbott Hotel

Very nice hotel and great location. Valet was a little pricey. All staff were extremely nice and helpful. Received a free upgrade to a 1 bedroom suite because my room was not ready upon check in, this was a nice bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sleepless weekend
Mpls, mn
Apr 14, 2014

Anniversary getaway

Fantastic hotel!! We had a corner suite, it was so clean and comfortable - one of the finest hotels I've seen, can't believe it doesnt have a 5 star rating!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sagill2004
Heber, Ut
Apr 14, 2014

Unbelievable deal!

This felt like a very plush old European hotel just a block from Michigan Ave. and the JH bldg for less than the cost of a chain hotel our in the boondocks. The service was top-notch and the room was extremely comfortable. Best hotel bed that I've slept on in ages. I can't recommend The Talbott highly enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Garrett's Popcorn is as good, if not better, than Nuts on Clark and the lines are much shorter and faster. A new store is opening at Water Tower Place soon.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
al somthingovski
st louis
Apr 11, 2014

Good but possibly overhipped

It could be better but, you get what you would expect from the hotel with 4.5 stars. If I compare my stay at Talbots to the stay at Sofitel, I would argue for the Sofitel. What is the price difference again? My room was not one of the delux rooms, it had all I asked for, so I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BPet13
Reno, NV, USA
Apr 10, 2014

First time in Chicago

The Talbott Hotel is in the perfect location and I would definitely stay here again. Right across the street is a small market and a coffee house. It's close to the train and to downtown, but it's a little quieter. The staff is friendly and the room big and comfortable. I would have liked a view next time, but that's the only reason I didn't give it a 5 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neurosurgeon
Indianapolis, IN
Apr 8, 2014

visiting the kids

Overall very good. The strong point is their staff the weak point is the cost to vallet park a car for even 1 day. Welcome to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Staying here literally puts you a short walk from everywhere

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cactus Patch
Bideford Devon
Apr 6, 2014

Splendiferous place to stay

Wonderful. We have never experienced any better anywhere in the world. A lot better than a lot of 5 star hotels we have stayed at. We cannot pick out any member of staff who excelled above the others,they were all brilliant. Centrally located for almost everything in Chicago. We are going back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Really upmarket shopping Malls in Michigan Ave. Quality of goods is excellent while pricing is reasonable. Nothing is too much trouble for the shop staff.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrs Oca
Illinois
Apr 5, 2014

Perfect couples getaway

My husband and I stayed at The Talbott for a night and enjoyed it so much! We stayed in a deluxe king bed room. The bed was beyond comfortable, we didn't want to get up the next morning!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chloe2727
Ottawa, Canada
Apr 5, 2014

I'd go back :)

This was a great hotel. Very comfortable and the staff were absolutely wonderful - especially the men who were at the doors every morning and at valet. So kind and friendly. The room had nice amenities. I especially liked the nice Molton Brown touches ... And they have apples at the front desk! Nice touch. TV set up, which I was able to use as my computer, was great but (my only real complaint) remote wasn't very good. The gym access just up the street was really good. If you go, be sure to use the gym facilities. The restaurant next door//attached was probably the least good restaurant I tried in all of Chicago. Food was mediocre and staff not exceptionally good (they could/should connect with the training team at the hotel:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a last minute ticket place near Macy's that sells last minute (day of) tickets to shows around town! Be sure to check it out. Great prices to some cool Second City shows, among others.

Back to menu Return to top