$158 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

The Talbott Hotel

4 stars
View map of 20 E. Delaware, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Talbott Hotel

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
1307 out of 1307
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aunt Rhonda
Business
Wheaton, IL
Feb 3, 2013

Anniversary celebration

Celebrating our anniversary (the week before Christmas) at the Talbott provided for a perfect location to enjoy the city. Also the staff made us feel so special and remembered. The room was perfect for romance:) Charming, comfortable bed, beautifully decorated for the holidays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Watertower center

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Micook
Business
Michigan
Jan 28, 2013

Very Friendly Staff

Hotel is in a great location but even better is the staff -- everyone was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are traditional and not huge, but comfy. Would happily stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ziggy grover
Business
Milwaukee, wi
Jan 28, 2013

Fantastic experience

Great location. Nice size room. Friendly people . We really liked the size of the hotel. Easy to get in and out of the hotel so we could enjoy all that chicago has to offer. Would definately stay at the Talbott again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dublins pub on rush has fantastic crab cakes.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AaronC
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Jan 28, 2013

Great Place to Spend Some Time

We had a great stay at the Talbott. Good location not too far from all the attractions and close to public transportation. Hotel staff is amazing. Probably not the greatest place to go if you have kids with you as there is not much to do at the hotel for kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
minor g
Business
new york
Jan 26, 2013

TAlbott Hotel

Perfect little hotel centrally located, quaint, lovely staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Indyguy
Business
Northern Indiana
Jan 23, 2013

Nice but not great

Saw lots of great reviews for this hotel so gave it a shot for a night in town with my wife. Given the basic king room on the second floor with a view of a brick wall and some utilities. Got a good rate so wasn't expecting a good view but I guess I also wasn't expecting such an incredibly poor one. Room was decent size and quiet and clean though. Some questionable looking grout in the tub/shower but not gross. Bathroom was small but adequate. Single serve coffee machine in the room but no supplies or instructions on how to get any. Fancy TV system hooked up to a Mac computer. Tried to turn it on and couldn't get past a blue screen - and I'm a seasoned technology guy. Front desk offered a suggestion of resetting the computer, which worked, but I had to do this a second time later when turning the system on. Also, the remote doesn't have a "last channel" button or a number pad to easily go to a channel. And the onscreen guide font size was super tiny. Since everyone has smartphones and laptops/tablets these days, they could probably just stick with a regular TV. Wifi in the room is free. Turn down service was a nice small touch, especially on a cold night to come back from dinner out with friends to a nice warm room. No ice machines in the hotel but a call to the front desk and ice was delivered free of charge in a few minutes. Bell desk was very happy to hold our bags in a locked room for a couple hours on checkout. Valet parking was $51 with in/out privileges. All the other employees were nice. The hotel is decorated with dark woods and lots of English hunting dog pictures. There is no large grand lobby; instead it feels as though you are entering an English guest house with a couple of small living rooms with leather furniture and fireplaces. Would probably prefer the former seeing as it is downtown Chicago and not London. Didn't check out the bar or restaurant. Great location a block or two from it all, but might have been more fun to be right on Michigan Ave. Also a Starbucks directly across the street (and two more within a couple blocks) for those needing their fix. Overall, it's a nice hotel if it's your style but might recommend you look elsewhere if you're seeking a bit more grandeur or excitement that you might expect with being in the heart of the city. Perhaps the more expensive rooms would have offered a better feel but I'll probably look elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tempo Cafe a block away seems like the place for Sunday brunch but expect to wait for a table if you're there after 10. Pancake House a few blocks north was also crowded.

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gunz
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Jan 22, 2013

the best hotel we've ever stayed

we're back at the talbott because it's the best---literally the best hotel we've stayed. the new restaurant attached was also a surprise pleasure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
howarrd
Business
bloomfield hills, mi
Jan 22, 2013

Great location, excellent staff

Very friendly. great location, wonderful value. Nice small hotel, very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gramflo
Business
Golden,CO
Jan 21, 2013

Winter in Chicago

Amazing! At every step there was someone trying to make our trip as pleasant and hassle free as possible. Always greeted by a smile and a friendly word. We will stay here again without hesitation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Talbott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CPAMOM20
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 21, 2013

Pleasant stay

Was an overall pleasant stay. We had breakfast in the restaurant, which was very good. We also stopped into the bar one night - we are seniors and felt a little out of place, as everyone in there on that Friday evening seemed to be under 30.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top