The Standard Club

4 stars
320 South Plymouth Court, Chicago, IL 60604
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
40 reviews
Great place to stay in Chicago!

I was in Chicago for a conference. I booked a room at the Standard Club, because all conference... See full review

  • SimonaQueen
  • Nov 18, 2010
Better than I could have even expected.

The room was spacious and provided an admirable view. The interior of the room was very well kept,... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 15, 2010
Dress up and join the club at this exclusive downtown Chicago hotel
Guests blend in with members of the Standard Club during a stay in one of 60 spacious, upper-floor rooms. Doubling as a hotel, this timeless and prestigious destination serves as a clubhouse for this private city club founded in 1869. As business high rollers and fashionable society mavens come and go, guests of the Standard Club join them in the extensive fitness center with free exercise classes and a swimming pool or in the dining room and cocktail lounge. To maintain the old world atmosphere, business casual attire is required.

 

Highlights
  • Elegant main dining room restaurant and cocktail lounge
  • Fitness center with free exercise classes
  • Swimming pool
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Near transportation and attractions

 

Rooms
Just 60 rooms and suites on the upper floors of the Standard Club keep it classy with Honduras mahogany furnishings and Italian marble baths. Executive desk areas feature two dual-line telephones with voicemail, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access and, upon request, a fax machine. Guests of the Standard Club sleep well after evening turndown service with chocolates and wake to a free morning newspaper.

 

Features
Blocks from the Willis Tower, financial and federal buildings, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants, the Standard Club has been designated a 5-star private club by Platinum Clubs of America. Opt for self parking or evening valet service, which are among the unique, club-style amenities that include a tailor shop, theater ticket and event service, check cashing and secretarial services (fees apply). Stop by the fitness center at the Standard Club to enjoy an indoor swimming pool, running track, pick-up basketball games, group exercise classes and large lounges with steam rooms.

 

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (11.2 mi/18.1 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.7 mi/30.1 km)
  • Several subway stations

 

Attractions
  • Willis Tower (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Soldier Field (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Navy Pier (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • McCormick Place (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (4.8 mi/7.7 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access
  • In-room fax machines available
  • Fourth floor business center
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 600 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Standard Club Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Luxuriously appointed, our guest rooms offer Honduras mahogany furnishings, Italian marble baths and comfortable lounge seating. Executive desk areas offer two, dual-line, direct dial telephones with voice mail and desk for lap top computers and a fax line. Complimentary wireless Internet (WiFi) is available in all rooms.
DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
Luxuriously appointed, our guest rooms offer Honduras mahogany furnishings, Italian marble baths and comfortable lounge seating. Executive desk areas offer two, dual-line, direct dial telephones with voice mail and desk for lap top computers and a fax line. Complimentary wireless Internet (WiFi) is available in all rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Harold Washington Library: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.2 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.2 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Union Station: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.9 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.2 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The guest rooms at The Standard Club provide convenient and luxurious accomodations for business travelers, meeting attendees and conference participants. Executive desk areas offer two, dual-line, direct dial telephones with voice mail, as well as complimentary wireless internet access. The Business Center, located on the fourth floor, affords guests the opportunity to access a fully equipped business office while visiting the Club.The Club's 25 private dining and meeting rooms provide dining and conference facilities to accommodate groups from two to 600.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard Club

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beachwood, NJ
Dec 2, 2010

Quaint, old fashioned w/great service

Like stepping out of the movie Titanic, the Standard Club has its quaint charm. The service in this old time hotel was outstanding. Had to ask for a refrigerator in my room, which was brought very quickly. There is a dress code which was business casual, which is because they have business meetings in the hotel. I thought it was a good value all in all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

**A plus - there is a train station at the end of the block. If you are staying for the Convention Ctr, there are shuttles that you can walk to & use for free!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SimonaQueen
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 18, 2010

Great place to stay in Chicago!

I was in Chicago for a conference. I booked a room at the Standard Club, because all conference hotels were booked already. The Standard Club is really great place to stay during business trip. Free wireless internet access, very clean and nice place to live, quiet rooms, beautiful bathrooms, LARGE gym with all kinds of equipment for good workout, there are yoga, pilates and other classes every morning from 7am to 8am without additional charge, swimmimg pool, beautiful large restaurant with nice food and service. The Standard Club has a business dress code and cell phone policy, these rules make the environment very pleasant and respectful for people staying in the Club. I heard from my collegues that official conference hotels were much worse: people have to pay for internet and for use of tiny gyms. I highly recommend this place for all business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sandy, utah
Nov 16, 2010

Not knocked out

The first thing about our room I noticed was that we did not get a king bed. I specifically asked about that as I have a tall husband. Instead we had a fold out "Murphy" bed, and it was not comfortable. Basically we got the suite that adjoins the master room. The location was alright, though when we asked questions like where to go to eat no one was very helpful. No one asked us if we needed anything, or if they could help us with directions. The dress code did not make this situation easier, as we did not plan to dress for dinner (or breakfast, or lunch). We also got a newspaper exactly 1 night out of 3. It was clean though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to a bears game if you can, we had a blast. The fans there were the nicest people in Chicago!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Davison, MI
Nov 15, 2010

Great hotel

We had a great stay at the hotel. It was in a really good area within walking distance from shopping and restaurants. The staff was really friendly and helpful with everything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Niagara Falls
Nov 15, 2010

Meh

The place is quiet and suitable for seniors and families. It is decent but not beautiful like in the pictures. Parking is $35 a day. $70 for 24 hrs and 7 minutes was billed to us. We waited awhile for them to bring our car. Make sure you go to lobby early if you are close on the 24 hrs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

One good bar/restaurant closeby is open late called the South Loop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Nov 15, 2010

Better than I could have even expected.

The room was spacious and provided an admirable view. The interior of the room was very well kept, and looked almost new it was so clean and polished. The staff in the lobby was very gratious and helpful with any requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked everywhere. It's not at the center of the mile by any means, but it's all within a quick 10 minute walk, making the price well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Nov 14, 2010

Enormous Room

Nice place, spacious room, friendly staff. Location was convenient for my purpose (the Willis Tower), but a bit off track for Michigan Ave. restaurants and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the always exceptional Italian Village restaurant(s).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aqdf
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Nov 5, 2010

Very stuffy

I booked this place online for an overnight business trip to Chicago. It was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. One thing I didn't realize before I checked in was that this place has a dress code. They want you in business casual attire unless you are heading directly to or from your room, or to or from the fitness center. The main clients of this place seem to be rich elderly obese people who go around in suits. If that's you, then maybe you've found the perfect hotel. From my perspective though, it was one of the most unhip places I've stayed in the last decade. That said, all the basics were there. A clean room, helpful staff, free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 9, 2010

Great location

Staffs were very friendly. In some area, the lights were off so had to ask someone to turn it on. (ex. 4th Floor for computer area, and 1st Floor lady's room area) Location was great. My reason for this trip was to go to Lollapalooza so it was nice that I could walk to the event location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Troy Powers
Business
Cleveland, OH
Aug 9, 2010

Not worth the money

The hotel was okay. I exected much more for $200/night though. The bath tub was old. Every time I returned to my room I had to call back down for a new room key because the one I had no longer worked. This gets annoying 3-5 times per day. Also, there was a stack of pillows in one of my chairs. They looked to be decorative pillows, perhaps for the bed. But...why weren't they on the bed? Why did they remain stacked in one of my chairs for the entire weekend?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top