The Standard Club

4 stars
View map of 320 South Plymouth Court, Chicago, IL 60604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Standard Club

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carrera 3k
Business
Cleveland, OH
Apr 22, 2010

Better than Standard

We had a great time at The Standard Club. I was in town for the KBIS show and my family really enjoyed the pool and fitness areas. The staff was a great help, and very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

There are plenty of things to do within walking distance if you don't mind a 45-60 minute walk.

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vegas
Jan 31, 2010

good value

thoroughly enjoyed the warmth and courteous staff. nice clean room and thick luxurious towels. not a 5 star but well worth the value. would recommend to friends and will stay there again when i return to the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 4, 2010

Nice rooms, fantastic yoga!

While the lobby feels a little like a ghost town, the rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The toiletries are incredibly generous - you'll be stocked for months! But the greatest surprise was the yoga class at the fitness center. The instructor was both knowledgeable and likable - it was truly one of the best classes I have attended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Machesney Park, IL
Jun 9, 2010

Business Trip

The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was very accommodating to getting our bags to the room to wake-up call and getting an early morning taxi (5:30 AM). The stay was a business/leisure trip. The only problem I had was location. My GPS quit working in the tall buildings. It is on a small side street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some the larger restaurants are a few blocks away, but a very manageable walk on a nice day.

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York, NY
Jul 20, 2010

Great place

From the moment I stepped out of the taxi to the moment I walked through the doors to leave, the staff was very enthusiastic, helpful, and friendly without being overbearing. The room was large, clean, and quiet, although the bed was not especially comfortable. The mattress was a bit lumpy and the pillows thin, but that's a minor nitpick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anoroks2
Business
ma
May 5, 2010

Dated, but fine

great staff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Memphis, TN
Sep 21, 2009

Not 5 star, but nice nevertheless

An aging hotel, but still well kept up. Nice large rooms with some older charm. If they do not keep up with renovations this could go downhill in the next few years, but so far it is a very pleasant place (09/09). Staff is courteous as well. I would absolutely stay here again for the price I got it for here on Orbitz. Don't expect this to stand toe to toe with the newer real 5 star class resorts, but with proper expectations, it is a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Just keep in mind that downtown Chicago parking will cost you a minimum of $25 a day no matter what hotel you stay at.

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cedar Falls, IA
Apr 24, 2010

Nice hotel, Great Location

We spent two nights at the Standard Club and it was enjoyable. We didn't spend much time there, only to sleep, as we were out and about for the day and evening. It was a great location to get to anywhere in the Loop area. A little bit older, but still in great shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

One block from State St. where there are tons of shopping locations.

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cedarburg, WI
Jul 28, 2010

Great Find!

Our stay was unfortunatley quite short...checked in around 8:30 pm and out midmorning, the next day. As a result, we didn't even have a chance to check out the pool,fitness center and dining rooms; which all appeared on the website to be beautiful. If our room was any indication though, they definitely were first class. Our room was spotless and the furnishings and amenities were lovely. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Definitely look forward to returning for a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Davison, MI
Nov 15, 2010

Great hotel

We had a great stay at the hotel. It was in a really good area within walking distance from shopping and restaurants. The staff was really friendly and helpful with everything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top