The Standard Club

4 stars
320 South Plymouth Court, Chicago, IL 60604
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
40 reviews
Great place to stay in Chicago!

I was in Chicago for a conference. I booked a room at the Standard Club, because all conference... See full review

  • SimonaQueen
  • Nov 18, 2010
Better than I could have even expected.

The room was spacious and provided an admirable view. The interior of the room was very well kept,... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 15, 2010
Dress up and join the club at this exclusive downtown Chicago hotel
Guests blend in with members of the Standard Club during a stay in one of 60 spacious, upper-floor rooms. Doubling as a hotel, this timeless and prestigious destination serves as a clubhouse for this private city club founded in 1869. As business high rollers and fashionable society mavens come and go, guests of the Standard Club join them in the extensive fitness center with free exercise classes and a swimming pool or in the dining room and cocktail lounge. To maintain the old world atmosphere, business casual attire is required.

 

Highlights
  • Elegant main dining room restaurant and cocktail lounge
  • Fitness center with free exercise classes
  • Swimming pool
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Near transportation and attractions

 

Rooms
Just 60 rooms and suites on the upper floors of the Standard Club keep it classy with Honduras mahogany furnishings and Italian marble baths. Executive desk areas feature two dual-line telephones with voicemail, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access and, upon request, a fax machine. Guests of the Standard Club sleep well after evening turndown service with chocolates and wake to a free morning newspaper.

 

Features
Blocks from the Willis Tower, financial and federal buildings, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants, the Standard Club has been designated a 5-star private club by Platinum Clubs of America. Opt for self parking or evening valet service, which are among the unique, club-style amenities that include a tailor shop, theater ticket and event service, check cashing and secretarial services (fees apply). Stop by the fitness center at the Standard Club to enjoy an indoor swimming pool, running track, pick-up basketball games, group exercise classes and large lounges with steam rooms.

 

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (11.2 mi/18.1 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.7 mi/30.1 km)
  • Several subway stations

 

Attractions
  • Willis Tower (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Soldier Field (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Navy Pier (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • McCormick Place (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (4.8 mi/7.7 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access
  • In-room fax machines available
  • Fourth floor business center
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 600 people

The Standard Club Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Luxuriously appointed, our guest rooms offer Honduras mahogany furnishings, Italian marble baths and comfortable lounge seating. Executive desk areas offer two, dual-line, direct dial telephones with voice mail and desk for lap top computers and a fax line. Complimentary wireless Internet (WiFi) is available in all rooms.
DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
Luxuriously appointed, our guest rooms offer Honduras mahogany furnishings, Italian marble baths and comfortable lounge seating. Executive desk areas offer two, dual-line, direct dial telephones with voice mail and desk for lap top computers and a fax line. Complimentary wireless Internet (WiFi) is available in all rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

41.8775 -87.6288
Area served
Chicago is a city of roughly 3 million residents, and the greater Chicagoland area encompasses about 8 million. The Club itself has a Membership of about 1,300.
Nearby airports
The Standard Club is easily accessible from either of the area's major international airports, Midway or O'Hare, roughly 11 miles and 18 miles, respectively. The Club is also a 10-minute walk from Chicago's Union Station, a major Amtrak hub.
Area description
Located in the center of the business, legal, financial and cultural districts, this handsome landmark offers an elegant and unique setting with ready access to market centers, exclusive Michigan Avenue and the city's famous cultural attractions. Guests may stroll through the museums, visit the national stages for the performing arts and enjoy Chicago's exciting professional sports - all within walking distance of the Club. The clubhouse itself is nestled on quiet Plymouth Court in Printer's Row, at the heart of the booming South Loop.

Nearby points of interest

  • Harold Washington Library: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.2 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.2 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Union Station: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.9 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.2 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The guest rooms at The Standard Club provide convenient and luxurious accomodations for business travelers, meeting attendees and conference participants. Executive desk areas offer two, dual-line, direct dial telephones with voice mail, as well as complimentary wireless internet access. The Business Center, located on the fourth floor, affords guests the opportunity to access a fully equipped business office while visiting the Club.The Club's 25 private dining and meeting rooms provide dining and conference facilities to accommodate groups from two to 600.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard Club

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. William the Explorer
Business
Rosebud, Texas
May 18, 2010

Unbeatable location plus a health club!

This is a classy hotel. It is located in the middle of the financial center of Chicago; $5.00 taxi ride from Union Station and within walking distance of public transportation from O'Hare. The Health Club was wonderful. A members only club but guests get in with the regular room rate, GRAND! The room was HUGE; Great DEEP tub; Delectible complimentary bath products in copious quantities. The TV is very small, but why watch TV with a health club on the 6th floor? There are great restaurants within walking distance. For breakfast the in-house restaurant was convenient and reasonably priced. I had the Lox and Bagel. It was perfect to my tastes. Lots of lox, the bagel was toasted just right, and the tomatoes were extraordinary. At first, the coffee was a bit weak to my taste. I let the waiter know and he brewed me up my own caraffe of coffee which was just right. All the staff were eager to help and very friendly. To top it all off, the morning's Wall Street Journal was waiting at my door. I recommend this establishment for business, couples and single travelers. There is a casual business attire dress code except when going to and from the Health Club. A complimentary robe is provided for that activity. The only bad thing about my stay at the Standard Club: it had to end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

From public transportation subway from O'hare Airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Oct 11, 2009

We loved it!

We were in town during the weekend of the Chicago Marathon. The hotel was about half of a block from the marathon route, so for us, the location was great. It was also within walking distance of good shopping and dinning. The hotel was beautiful, the room was clean and quite large. We were impressed with the quality of everything, especially for the price that we paid through [...]. We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Centreville, VA
Jun 12, 2010

Good and Convenient

very friendly and helpful staff. great bathroom. nice breakfasts. bed was nice and firm. very convenient to work location. free wireless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Berghoff Restaurant and Marquette Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middletown OH
Oct 11, 2009

Great hotel!!

We went to Chicago to see a play, and the Standard Club was conveniently located to the theater district as well as Harris Tower, the public library and the Magnificent Mie. And as an added bonus, the Chicago Marathon ran by, so we altered our plans to get up early and watch it. The room was clean and roomy -- I've stayed in pricier broom closets in Boston and New York -- and the service was top-notch. I'd stay here again anytime it's available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 16, 2010

Building with character

We usually stay at the Embassy Suites. It was booked so we tried this one from [...] pricing. It was far better than we expected. As soon as I walked into the front lobby I knew we were in good shape. Very spacious and quiet. The room was very large, (we left our kids at home for our anniversary)but it was plenty big. The bathroom was great. The location was perfect for us. Easy to get in and out of. The building has character. You have to see it to really take it all in. It is not perfect, but it was a great time. I liked it better than the Embassys that we stay in. Of course it is older and not as 'nice'... but I just loved it. I played basketball for hours. They have a HUGE area for any spa needs you may have. I look forward to returning to Chicago and staying at the "Standard Club" again. If you are looking for a safe quiet place to stay... this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We like Giordano's pizza but there are all kinds of places to eat. It is located very near the Sear's Tower. Very easy to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Nov 15, 2010

Better than I could have even expected.

The room was spacious and provided an admirable view. The interior of the room was very well kept, and looked almost new it was so clean and polished. The staff in the lobby was very gratious and helpful with any requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked everywhere. It's not at the center of the mile by any means, but it's all within a quick 10 minute walk, making the price well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grosse Pointe blank
Business
grosse pointe, MI
May 25, 2010

standardclub1

Good location; staf was very friendly and helped me check in early. Good with directions. Good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SimonaQueen
Business
Seattle, WA
Nov 18, 2010

Great place to stay in Chicago!

I was in Chicago for a conference. I booked a room at the Standard Club, because all conference hotels were booked already. The Standard Club is really great place to stay during business trip. Free wireless internet access, very clean and nice place to live, quiet rooms, beautiful bathrooms, LARGE gym with all kinds of equipment for good workout, there are yoga, pilates and other classes every morning from 7am to 8am without additional charge, swimmimg pool, beautiful large restaurant with nice food and service. The Standard Club has a business dress code and cell phone policy, these rules make the environment very pleasant and respectful for people staying in the Club. I heard from my collegues that official conference hotels were much worse: people have to pay for internet and for use of tiny gyms. I highly recommend this place for all business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Midnitefarie
Business
Clarksville Tennessee
Jun 23, 2010

Everything I expected.

Everyone was very nice and personable. The hotel was very clean, beautifully decorated, warm and inviting. When we arrived we had been 2300 miles on the Amtrak and looked like hot wet rats, but the gentleman at the desk was absolutely understanding and had us in our room in no time. The ladies and men standing outside waiting for their car kinda stared at us and made us feel uneasy, but that didn't have any to do with The Standard Club Hotel. The bed was amazing. King size and lots of pillows made for a great night sleep. We were just located in a great part of town for restaurants too. My husband walked a block and brought back great italian food. We will stay again and highly recommends it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel dining was not an option for us. It is a formal type atmosphere with a dress code, so my husband walked about a block and brought back amazing italian food to the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago visitor
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 2, 2009

Comfortable place to stay.

While the common areas of Standard Club may be a bit dated, I found my stay very enjoyable. The staff was very service oriented and personable. My room was spacious and comfortable having all the amenities I needed. My only frustration is that I couldn't figure out how to adjust the room temperature. While not unbearable, the room was a bit too warm for my comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walking distance to many good restaurants in the loop and off Michigan Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top