The Standard Club

4 stars
320 South Plymouth Court, Chicago, IL 60604
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
40 reviews
Great place to stay in Chicago!

I was in Chicago for a conference. I booked a room at the Standard Club, because all conference... See full review

  • SimonaQueen
  • Nov 18, 2010
Better than I could have even expected.

The room was spacious and provided an admirable view. The interior of the room was very well kept,... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Nov 15, 2010
Dress up and join the club at this exclusive downtown Chicago hotel
Guests blend in with members of the Standard Club during a stay in one of 60 spacious, upper-floor rooms. Doubling as a hotel, this timeless and prestigious destination serves as a clubhouse for this private city club founded in 1869. As business high rollers and fashionable society mavens come and go, guests of the Standard Club join them in the extensive fitness center with free exercise classes and a swimming pool or in the dining room and cocktail lounge. To maintain the old world atmosphere, business casual attire is required.

 

Highlights
  • Elegant main dining room restaurant and cocktail lounge
  • Fitness center with free exercise classes
  • Swimming pool
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access
  • Near transportation and attractions

 

Rooms
Just 60 rooms and suites on the upper floors of the Standard Club keep it classy with Honduras mahogany furnishings and Italian marble baths. Executive desk areas feature two dual-line telephones with voicemail, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access and, upon request, a fax machine. Guests of the Standard Club sleep well after evening turndown service with chocolates and wake to a free morning newspaper.

 

Features
Blocks from the Willis Tower, financial and federal buildings, museums, theaters, shops and restaurants, the Standard Club has been designated a 5-star private club by Platinum Clubs of America. Opt for self parking or evening valet service, which are among the unique, club-style amenities that include a tailor shop, theater ticket and event service, check cashing and secretarial services (fees apply). Stop by the fitness center at the Standard Club to enjoy an indoor swimming pool, running track, pick-up basketball games, group exercise classes and large lounges with steam rooms.

 

Transportation
  • Midway International Airport (11.2 mi/18.1 km)
  • O'Hare International Airport (18.7 mi/30.1 km)
  • Several subway stations

 

Attractions
  • Willis Tower (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Art Institute of Chicago (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Millennium Park (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Field Museum of Natural History (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Soldier Field (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Navy Pier (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • McCormick Place (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Lincoln Park Zoo (4.8 mi/7.7 km)

 

Business
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access
  • In-room fax machines available
  • Fourth floor business center
  • Meeting space accommodates up to 600 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Standard Club Rooms

STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
Luxuriously appointed, our guest rooms offer Honduras mahogany furnishings, Italian marble baths and comfortable lounge seating. Executive desk areas offer two, dual-line, direct dial telephones with voice mail and desk for lap top computers and a fax line. Complimentary wireless Internet (WiFi) is available in all rooms.
DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
Luxuriously appointed, our guest rooms offer Honduras mahogany furnishings, Italian marble baths and comfortable lounge seating. Executive desk areas offer two, dual-line, direct dial telephones with voice mail and desk for lap top computers and a fax line. Complimentary wireless Internet (WiFi) is available in all rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Harold Washington Library: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.2 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.2 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.2 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.3 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.5 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Union Station: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.9 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.2 mi
  • Soldier Field: 1.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The guest rooms at The Standard Club provide convenient and luxurious accomodations for business travelers, meeting attendees and conference participants. Executive desk areas offer two, dual-line, direct dial telephones with voice mail, as well as complimentary wireless internet access. The Business Center, located on the fourth floor, affords guests the opportunity to access a fully equipped business office while visiting the Club.The Club's 25 private dining and meeting rooms provide dining and conference facilities to accommodate groups from two to 600.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard Club

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 40
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sandy, utah
Nov 16, 2010

Not knocked out

The first thing about our room I noticed was that we did not get a king bed. I specifically asked about that as I have a tall husband. Instead we had a fold out "Murphy" bed, and it was not comfortable. Basically we got the suite that adjoins the master room. The location was alright, though when we asked questions like where to go to eat no one was very helpful. No one asked us if we needed anything, or if they could help us with directions. The dress code did not make this situation easier, as we did not plan to dress for dinner (or breakfast, or lunch). We also got a newspaper exactly 1 night out of 3. It was clean though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to a bears game if you can, we had a blast. The fans there were the nicest people in Chicago!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Niagara Falls
Nov 15, 2010

Meh

The place is quiet and suitable for seniors and families. It is decent but not beautiful like in the pictures. Parking is $35 a day. $70 for 24 hrs and 7 minutes was billed to us. We waited awhile for them to bring our car. Make sure you go to lobby early if you are close on the 24 hrs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

One good bar/restaurant closeby is open late called the South Loop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Nov 15, 2010

Better than I could have even expected.

The room was spacious and provided an admirable view. The interior of the room was very well kept, and looked almost new it was so clean and polished. The staff in the lobby was very gratious and helpful with any requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked everywhere. It's not at the center of the mile by any means, but it's all within a quick 10 minute walk, making the price well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Troy Powers
Business
Cleveland, OH
Aug 9, 2010

Not worth the money

The hotel was okay. I exected much more for $200/night though. The bath tub was old. Every time I returned to my room I had to call back down for a new room key because the one I had no longer worked. This gets annoying 3-5 times per day. Also, there was a stack of pillows in one of my chairs. They looked to be decorative pillows, perhaps for the bed. But...why weren't they on the bed? Why did they remain stacked in one of my chairs for the entire weekend?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cedarburg, WI
Jul 28, 2010

Great Find!

Our stay was unfortunatley quite short...checked in around 8:30 pm and out midmorning, the next day. As a result, we didn't even have a chance to check out the pool,fitness center and dining rooms; which all appeared on the website to be beautiful. If our room was any indication though, they definitely were first class. Our room was spotless and the furnishings and amenities were lovely. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Definitely look forward to returning for a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Photographer
Business
Columbia, SC
Jul 21, 2010

[...]

Fantastic staff willing to help with anything[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plymouth Restaurant and Bar across the street has fantastic breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks, try the Honey Dipper drink for a sweet afternoon cocktail.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 20, 2010

Great place

From the moment I stepped out of the taxi to the moment I walked through the doors to leave, the staff was very enthusiastic, helpful, and friendly without being overbearing. The room was large, clean, and quiet, although the bed was not especially comfortable. The mattress was a bit lumpy and the pillows thin, but that's a minor nitpick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
yorkville, il.
Jun 1, 2010

GREAT LOCATION

My husband and I were in Chicago over the Memorial Day week-end to see the Farnsworth Play at Timeline Theater. We decided to leave our car at home and take the train in and use public transportation. The location of this hotel was perfect. We were less than a block away from the CTA station that we took to go to the North Side of Chicago. A short walk from the Metra Station and in the heart of Chicago. The room was very nice and comfortable. A large bathroom and was very clean. Only complaint I have is there could have been coffee in the lobby for the guests. We didn't have time to check out the other hotel ammenities so I am not able to rate. Nice stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not up to Standard
Business
Toronto, CANADA
May 26, 2010

Standard - 141-yrs old, needs facelift

Nice old place, but it desperately needs a facelift. It's also more of a club than a hotel, so you're sort of second priority to members. Although, the staff are helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Forget the John Hancock Observatory... go to the Signature lounge one floor higher and spend your $29 on a few cocktails while enjoying the same scenery in comfort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cedar Falls, IA
Apr 24, 2010

Nice hotel, Great Location

We spent two nights at the Standard Club and it was enjoyable. We didn't spend much time there, only to sleep, as we were out and about for the day and evening. It was a great location to get to anywhere in the Loop area. A little bit older, but still in great shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

One block from State St. where there are tons of shopping locations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top