The Standard Club

4 stars
View map of 320 South Plymouth Court, Chicago, IL 60604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Standard Club

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 16, 2010

Building with character

We usually stay at the Embassy Suites. It was booked so we tried this one from [...] pricing. It was far better than we expected. As soon as I walked into the front lobby I knew we were in good shape. Very spacious and quiet. The room was very large, (we left our kids at home for our anniversary)but it was plenty big. The bathroom was great. The location was perfect for us. Easy to get in and out of. The building has character. You have to see it to really take it all in. It is not perfect, but it was a great time. I liked it better than the Embassys that we stay in. Of course it is older and not as 'nice'... but I just loved it. I played basketball for hours. They have a HUGE area for any spa needs you may have. I look forward to returning to Chicago and staying at the "Standard Club" again. If you are looking for a safe quiet place to stay... this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We like Giordano's pizza but there are all kinds of places to eat. It is located very near the Sear's Tower. Very easy to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vegas
Jan 31, 2010

good value

thoroughly enjoyed the warmth and courteous staff. nice clean room and thick luxurious towels. not a 5 star but well worth the value. would recommend to friends and will stay there again when i return to the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 3, 2009

Not Impressed

I was expecting something more for a 4-star rating and a high rating from [...] users. The room was run down, and honestly had an old, musty smell to it. Also, at 5:45 a.m. an unbelievable loud banging sound which came from the pipes for shower woke me from my sleep. I relayed my concerns to the staff at checkout and they showed no sympathy for my situation. I would never stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago visitor
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 2, 2009

Comfortable place to stay.

While the common areas of Standard Club may be a bit dated, I found my stay very enjoyable. The staff was very service oriented and personable. My room was spacious and comfortable having all the amenities I needed. My only frustration is that I couldn't figure out how to adjust the room temperature. While not unbearable, the room was a bit too warm for my comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walking distance to many good restaurants in the loop and off Michigan Ave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gainesville, FL
Oct 23, 2009

Clean

Somewhat dated, but clean, friendly service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Oct 11, 2009

We loved it!

We were in town during the weekend of the Chicago Marathon. The hotel was about half of a block from the marathon route, so for us, the location was great. It was also within walking distance of good shopping and dinning. The hotel was beautiful, the room was clean and quite large. We were impressed with the quality of everything, especially for the price that we paid through [...]. We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middletown OH
Oct 11, 2009

Great hotel!!

We went to Chicago to see a play, and the Standard Club was conveniently located to the theater district as well as Harris Tower, the public library and the Magnificent Mie. And as an added bonus, the Chicago Marathon ran by, so we altered our plans to get up early and watch it. The room was clean and roomy -- I've stayed in pricier broom closets in Boston and New York -- and the service was top-notch. I'd stay here again anytime it's available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weary traveller!
Business
London, UK
Sep 29, 2009

Great place, will go back!

To check out Chicago, including the blues/jazz scene!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Sep 21, 2009

Not 5 star, but nice nevertheless

An aging hotel, but still well kept up. Nice large rooms with some older charm. If they do not keep up with renovations this could go downhill in the next few years, but so far it is a very pleasant place (09/09). Staff is courteous as well. I would absolutely stay here again for the price I got it for here on Orbitz. Don't expect this to stand toe to toe with the newer real 5 star class resorts, but with proper expectations, it is a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Just keep in mind that downtown Chicago parking will cost you a minimum of $25 a day no matter what hotel you stay at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ATM
Business
ATL
Sep 18, 2009

Great business hotel

Great business hotel, central location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top