The Standard Club

4 stars
View map of 320 South Plymouth Court, Chicago, IL 60604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Standard Club

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Machesney Park, IL
Jun 9, 2010

Business Trip

The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was very accommodating to getting our bags to the room to wake-up call and getting an early morning taxi (5:30 AM). The stay was a business/leisure trip. The only problem I had was location. My GPS quit working in the tall buildings. It is on a small side street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some the larger restaurants are a few blocks away, but a very manageable walk on a nice day.

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 4, 2010

Nice rooms, fantastic yoga!

While the lobby feels a little like a ghost town, the rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. The toiletries are incredibly generous - you'll be stocked for months! But the greatest surprise was the yoga class at the fitness center. The instructor was both knowledgeable and likable - it was truly one of the best classes I have attended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
yorkville, il.
Jun 1, 2010

GREAT LOCATION

My husband and I were in Chicago over the Memorial Day week-end to see the Farnsworth Play at Timeline Theater. We decided to leave our car at home and take the train in and use public transportation. The location of this hotel was perfect. We were less than a block away from the CTA station that we took to go to the North Side of Chicago. A short walk from the Metra Station and in the heart of Chicago. The room was very nice and comfortable. A large bathroom and was very clean. Only complaint I have is there could have been coffee in the lobby for the guests. We didn't have time to check out the other hotel ammenities so I am not able to rate. Nice stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not up to Standard
Business
Toronto, CANADA
May 26, 2010

Standard - 141-yrs old, needs facelift

Nice old place, but it desperately needs a facelift. It's also more of a club than a hotel, so you're sort of second priority to members. Although, the staff are helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Forget the John Hancock Observatory... go to the Signature lounge one floor higher and spend your $29 on a few cocktails while enjoying the same scenery in comfort.

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristen Job Seeker
Business
Iowa City, IA
May 25, 2010

Great hotel for budget

The hotel staff was very nice and helpful, though it seemed like they were understaffed since the front deak doesn't open until 9am and the operator can't help with reservation issues. The amenities were incredibly nice with lots of extras at no cost to us. We were in town for a job interview and don't have a lot of money right now so the little extras were very helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very close to Willis Tower and the Chicago Art Institute.

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grosse Pointe blank
Business
grosse pointe, MI
May 25, 2010

standardclub1

Good location; staf was very friendly and helped me check in early. Good with directions. Good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. William the Explorer
Business
Rosebud, Texas
May 18, 2010

Unbeatable location plus a health club!

This is a classy hotel. It is located in the middle of the financial center of Chicago; $5.00 taxi ride from Union Station and within walking distance of public transportation from O'Hare. The Health Club was wonderful. A members only club but guests get in with the regular room rate, GRAND! The room was HUGE; Great DEEP tub; Delectible complimentary bath products in copious quantities. The TV is very small, but why watch TV with a health club on the 6th floor? There are great restaurants within walking distance. For breakfast the in-house restaurant was convenient and reasonably priced. I had the Lox and Bagel. It was perfect to my tastes. Lots of lox, the bagel was toasted just right, and the tomatoes were extraordinary. At first, the coffee was a bit weak to my taste. I let the waiter know and he brewed me up my own caraffe of coffee which was just right. All the staff were eager to help and very friendly. To top it all off, the morning's Wall Street Journal was waiting at my door. I recommend this establishment for business, couples and single travelers. There is a casual business attire dress code except when going to and from the Health Club. A complimentary robe is provided for that activity. The only bad thing about my stay at the Standard Club: it had to end.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

From public transportation subway from O'hare Airport.

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
anoroks2
Business
ma
May 5, 2010

Dated, but fine

great staff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cedar Falls, IA
Apr 24, 2010

Nice hotel, Great Location

We spent two nights at the Standard Club and it was enjoyable. We didn't spend much time there, only to sleep, as we were out and about for the day and evening. It was a great location to get to anywhere in the Loop area. A little bit older, but still in great shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

One block from State St. where there are tons of shopping locations.

Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carrera 3k
Business
Cleveland, OH
Apr 22, 2010

Better than Standard

We had a great time at The Standard Club. I was in town for the KBIS show and my family really enjoyed the pool and fitness areas. The staff was a great help, and very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

There are plenty of things to do within walking distance if you don't mind a 45-60 minute walk.

Back to menu Return to top