The Standard Club

4 stars
View map of 320 South Plymouth Court, Chicago, IL 60604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Standard Club

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Todd 93
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 29, 2010

Standard Club...slightly above standard.

Great customer service and focus with great work out facilities, which, as a business traveler, I really appreciate. They've got a lap pool, indoor basketball court, comprehensive weight room, sauna, steam room, etc. The decor and feel are a little dated i.e. 1960's country club and stuffy (they demand a dress code), the location works for easy access to the Chicago business district. For the price and location, it's above average. If you want a more high end feel, the W is close by at 2X the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cedarburg, WI
Jul 28, 2010

Great Find!

Our stay was unfortunatley quite short...checked in around 8:30 pm and out midmorning, the next day. As a result, we didn't even have a chance to check out the pool,fitness center and dining rooms; which all appeared on the website to be beautiful. If our room was any indication though, they definitely were first class. Our room was spotless and the furnishings and amenities were lovely. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Definitely look forward to returning for a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjeastcoaster
Business
Boston, Ma
Jul 21, 2010

Incredible value

The Standard Club was excellent and a cost-effective way for a single person or couple to stay right in downtown Chicago. The staff was friendly and helpful, the surrrounding area safe and the hotel seemed to have good security, and the room very clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Photographer
Business
Columbia, SC
Jul 21, 2010

[...]

Fantastic staff willing to help with anything[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plymouth Restaurant and Bar across the street has fantastic breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks, try the Honey Dipper drink for a sweet afternoon cocktail.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 20, 2010

Great place

From the moment I stepped out of the taxi to the moment I walked through the doors to leave, the staff was very enthusiastic, helpful, and friendly without being overbearing. The room was large, clean, and quiet, although the bed was not especially comfortable. The mattress was a bit lumpy and the pillows thin, but that's a minor nitpick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
St. Louis train traveler
Business
St. Louis
Jul 19, 2010

Very good value

The hotel was nicer than expected but we could not use the hotel restaurante because they have a dress code.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant for breakfast is right across the street if you do not have the proper attire for the hotel restaurant but for dinner on the weekends you will have to walk pretty far. The hotel is in the financial district and everything is closed on Sunday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Midnitefarie
Business
Clarksville Tennessee
Jun 23, 2010

Everything I expected.

Everyone was very nice and personable. The hotel was very clean, beautifully decorated, warm and inviting. When we arrived we had been 2300 miles on the Amtrak and looked like hot wet rats, but the gentleman at the desk was absolutely understanding and had us in our room in no time. The ladies and men standing outside waiting for their car kinda stared at us and made us feel uneasy, but that didn't have any to do with The Standard Club Hotel. The bed was amazing. King size and lots of pillows made for a great night sleep. We were just located in a great part of town for restaurants too. My husband walked a block and brought back great italian food. We will stay again and highly recommends it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel dining was not an option for us. It is a formal type atmosphere with a dress code, so my husband walked about a block and brought back amazing italian food to the room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
guenee, il
Jun 18, 2010

stay

Nice service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Jun 14, 2010

perfect and central location

The hotel was easy to get to from the airport on the train and it was an easy walk from the hotel to many popular Chicago landmarks and locations. The view from our window was of the incredible gargoyles on the top of the public library, amazing! The staff were very helpful and informative with directions and advice. I would stay at The Standard Club again without hesitation and have already recommended it to friends. The hotel also had the larget sizes of complimentary toiletries I have ever encountered!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Centreville, VA
Jun 12, 2010

Good and Convenient

very friendly and helpful staff. great bathroom. nice breakfasts. bed was nice and firm. very convenient to work location. free wireless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Berghoff Restaurant and Marquette Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top