$395 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Peninsula Chicago

5 stars
View map of 108 East Superior Street, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Peninsula Chicago

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
4.9
Cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.4

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ChrisfromBoston
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 21, 2014

5 stars really aren't enough

My wife and I were in town for an exhibition at one of the museums in town, and decided to splurge on a night at the Peninsula. This hotel (and from what I understand, the chain) sets the bar for how a hotel should be run. The staff was thoughtful and kind, and anticipated every one of our needs. The accommodations were top notch and spotless, with turndown service which didn't stop at turning down the bed - our room was cleaned and organized for us as well! This stay pretty much ruined us for any other hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The bar at the hotel is a very inviting room. The restaurant in the Ralph Lauren store around the corner is great and pretty reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kcenders
Business
Detroit, MI
Oct 12, 2014

Service + Location = Fantastic Stay

I stayed at The Peninsula while attending a 5 day course at Northwestern University's downtown campus. The location was perfect for I was never more than a 15 min walk from anywhere I wanted to be! The room was nice with a separate "dressing area" between the bedroom and bathroom for an extended stay. The sleeping area also has a sofa, coffee table and desk with chair. It felt more like a studio apartment than a hotel room. Amenities were as I would expect at this price-point hotel, with the addition of a personal fax machine in the room for scanning/copies/faxes (with a dedicated number) and both in-room wifi and modem wall-jack. That was unique and made my stay easier as I could stay connected to work when I needed to be. I can't say much about the dining options, for I only ate dinner at the bar one night. The staff was very accommodating and allowed me to order off any menu from any on-site restaurant and have it served to me there. Overall I was impressed with the Peninsula and will rate it as my top choice for Chicago luxury brand hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel Breakfasts can be pricy, especially at a luxury brand such as The Peninsula. One block away is a 7-11 where I picked up some cereal, granola bars and fruit. Every morning, I ordered room service for milk (for my cereal) and tea (to wake me up) and was able to enjoy an in-room breakfast without breaking the bank!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GUSMEXICO
Business
MEXICO
Oct 4, 2014

PERFECT WEEKEND

WE HAVE A VERY GOOD TIME IN THIS HOTEL, THE STAFF WAS VERY KIND.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sleep guy
Business
Arizona
Sep 1, 2014

Perfect

I have lived in Chicago and can endorse the location as perfect. In addition, the staff, room and pierro gourmet for breakfast is excellent. Cons: parking overpriced

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Saturday nite at al hambra palace was great food and dancing. Other upscale lounge was violet hour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tigerich
Business
Charleston, sc
Aug 23, 2014

Wonderful city- wonderful hotel

Top notch hotel. Location, room and service were excellent. Would return anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mexique. Unique Mexican food with a chef at the top of his game. Not on the beaten path.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SRNY
Business
NYNY
Aug 14, 2014

Unbelievable service

5 stars does not fairly describe this hotel. There was a single flaw, the hotel itself is fantastic, the location is great, and the service unparalleled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
allstar95
Business
near Chicago IL
Aug 12, 2014

Awesome hotel!

First off everyone was top notch from bellhops checking us in , the valet, to the concierge to the maids. The rooms are spacious and the beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept on. Even the pillows were very comphy! Can not beat the location. Mag mile at its finest. Even had Rod Stewart and his wife and kids in the elevator with us! Only complaint is the parking fee they charge, but most hotels in the area charge nearly the same. Also they put away the coffee at 9 am but Starbucks wasn't that far. Definitely would reccomend and stay again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giordanos pizza is right across the back side along with the Rosebud!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rob Cer
Business
St James, NY
Jul 29, 2014

Fantastic Chicago Weekend

This past weekend was a great time and quite frankly, the Peninsula made the difference. All the staff was so accommodating and made a fun weekend into an extraordinary weekend. I would absolutely stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hayden Rhys
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jul 9, 2014

Amazing…as usual.

This is the third time we have stayed here and every time it is wonderful! The service and rooms are unparalleled. Great size for downtown chicago and their normal rooms are bigger than suites in other hotels!! We have a wedding that is in another hotel in Chicago over the weekend after Labor Day and our entire family wants to change from the two suites we have in that hotel to The Peninsula! Keep up the great work!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Use the Concierge! They are great! The Peninsula does carry lots of clout so if something you think might be tough to get tickets for or reservations let the hotel concierge handle it...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jmd49er
Business
Franklin, TN
Jul 8, 2014

The Hotel took care of all of our needs

The service at the hotel was exceptional. Wonderful turn down service including complementary water bottles. Large room. Mood lighting. Great traditional bar. We enjoyed the Chocolate Bar buffet at The Lobby restaurant. We arrived early 9:00 am and our room was ready. Very helpful concierges; arranged our Architecture Foundation boat tour - a must do. Right off Michigan Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top