$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

The Palmer House Hilton

4 stars
View map of 17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
703 reviews
Loved it!

We always stay at the Palmer House and it never disappoints! The Libby is amazing and the scene is... See full review

  • Melissa G.
  • Jul 26, 2015
Business comfort in heart of Loop

Beautiful lobby and well appointed room. Extremely comfortable linens and bed.... slept better than... See full review

  • JoAnne M.
  • Jul 14, 2015

Exquisite brass peacock doors welcome guests to The Palmer House Hilton, which is a National Landmark Historical Hotel. The old-world elegance of the lobby belies the modernity of a stay in Chicago's Loop. Guest rooms feature flat-screen TVs and ample space for unwinding and relaxing and pets are also allowed within the building.

Executive suites provide private check-in, elevator service and other perks. Guest rooms are decorated based on different themes, and you can choose the atmosphere you desire. Whether you want a room blending the hip with the historical or one that is convenient, accessible and business-oriented, you can get a room that fits your needs.

Highlights

The Palmer House Hilton is right in the middle of Chicago's financial, business and theater districts. Guests can easily walk to the Willis Tower, Grant Park, Millennium Park, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and the Art Institute of Chicago. Numerous subway lines located nearby also make getting around Chicago a breeze.

The on-site Lockwood Restaurant and Bar serves three meals daily with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Afternoon tea services in the lobby pay homage to a time gone by, and for a drink in the evenings, guests can head to Potter's Lounge.

A fitness center provides a perfect place for guests to unwind, and the Balance Spa offers massages, pedicures, skin therapy and hair styling. 

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Palmer House Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.9 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.2 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Palmer House Hilton

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 703
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olakunle A.
Business
N/A
May 19, 2015

Awesome trip

The Hotel met my expectations. The personnel at the front desk were very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olakunle A.
Business
N/A
May 19, 2015

Awesome trip

The Hotel met my expectations. The personnel at the front desk were very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob9950
Business
Glendale, Az
Jul 29, 2014

Very Good

Wonderful ambience, terrific location. 1st class experience. Couple of nits: noise from the EL trains, and the electrical sockets were a little loose, so it didn't always make a connection when I plugged in my cell phone. Otherwise, terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go to the Art Institute, get there early, so you can have the 1st half hour less crowded

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
premo1
Business
farmington michigan
Jul 27, 2014

weekend fun

The hotel was great. The location is good. The room was large and very clean. Modern bathroom. Fun bar. Beautiful lobby. Nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great architecture store right around the corner for unique gifts. I go there whenever I am in Chicago.

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mystery Onward
Business
North Fork, CA
Jul 5, 2014

Little Bit of History

I really appreciated the good deal on this hotel via An online deal. On a teacher's salary, I don't stay in Hilton's much. I could sense how old the building was by its architectural style and detailed craftsmanship however it has been kept up well and modified with new technologies in tasteful ways. It was a little problematic not having complimentary wifi in the rooms. Being on the 19th of approximately 23 floors, it was hard to connect well with my cell carrier. All things considered, this was a very comfortable place to be located in the heart of Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed getting around to Chicago attractions by using the blue bike share called Divvy which are racked up at many locations. $7 for 24 hrs and no extra charge if you rack the bike at another location within 30 minutes. Chicago is a great biking city, especially more towards the lake front.

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikemcc28
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jun 8, 2014

Beautiful historic hotel in a great location

The Palmer House is a Chicago landmark, and once you set foot in the beautiful, ornate lobby, you'll understand why. Rooms aren't huge but are comfortable (I do wish there was more counter space in the bathroom, however). Location in the Loop is fantastic; you're steps away from Symphony Center, Millennium Park, and the Art Institute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BILLCinNYC
Business
New York City
Dec 30, 2013

Wonderful old world feel

Loved being there of the holidays. The grand old lobby makes Staying there feel "special" Although the rooms are very modern, large and comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. Easy access to theaters and all the connecting subway trains. There is a bank of "Mac" computers available for free in the lobby. Great for printing email or changing flights, check in etc. Starbucks in the hotel and CVS stores across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are planning on seeing theater in Chicago, this is a very handy place to stay. It's also pleasant walk to shopping districts

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Orlando Baseball Fan
Business
Orlando
May 28, 2013

Less Than I Expected

I found the lobby to be very stately, and the staff were more than pleasant. On the other hand, the rooms are small and the bathrooms even smaller. It's quite cramped. I could not have imagined traveling with anyone and staying at this hotel. Further, I actually came back to my room one afternoon with all of the clean linens stacked on top of the ironing board and the bed completely bare. The pillow cases had not been swapped and there were no new towels in the room. Had to call housekeeping to address the problem. They did, and quickly, but I've never stayed anywhere that I had to call housekeeping for not making the bed. The elevator situation is charming at first, but after many 5-10 minute waits to actually catch one going in the right direction, it became quite frustrating. I could not get a cell call out of this hotel, and I could not even make a local call without going through concierge. Even still I was charged for a local call. I got a fair rate as part an airfare/hotel bundle, but other than the fact that the staff was pleasant, what you pay to stay (room service, parking, etc.), I found this to be less than optimal. I hope Hilton can make a few changes to really put this historic hotel in the category it deserves to be in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza and ribs. Better than Palmer House room service. All you need to know!

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eastside Jan
Business
Detroit
May 22, 2013

distinctive experience

with a location in the heart of the historic center of the city, and unique and impressive architecture, this hotel offers a distinctive experience of the city. you can walk quickly to most destinations, or you can sit in the lobby and admire the view. and you don't pay nearly the luxury hotel prices for this experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
keatzie
Business
Toronto
Apr 29, 2013

Great experience

We loved our weekend at the Palmer House. Fabulous location, superb beds and linens, quiet and comfortable, and the service was perfect. I would not choose to eat dinner there. Like any large hotel chain, it is better to stay there and eat elsewhere. I will return to this location over and over and will suggest it to all of my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top