$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

The Palmer House Hilton

4 stars
17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
701 reviews
Palmer House trip

As always, the Palmer House is a very fun place to stay. The atmosphere feels quite elegant, the... See full review

  • Stevie
  • Jan 20, 2015
Great Hotel

Loved this hotel. Very classy old hotel. We really enjoyed our stay here. See full review

  • nathan c.
  • Jan 9, 2015
Step into the lobby of Palmer House® A Hilton hotel and gaze at the famous frescoed ceiling of this landmark Chicago, Illinois hotel. This AAA four-diamond rated hotel has been hosting visitors to the Chicago Loop for over 140 years. Today, the Palmer House Hilton continues to thrive in the heart of the theatre and financial district, just steps from the Art Institute, Millennium Park and State Street shopping. A short walk away is Grant Park where summer festivals take place. Family attractions like the Chicago Children’s Museum and Navy Pier are just a quick cab ride away.Enjoy comfort and elegance in your Guest room or suite at this Chicago hotel. Amenities include flat-screen TVs and wireless internet access. Elegant suites feature abundant space with comfortable seating and wet bar areas, creating an ideal setting for entertaining. On the Executive Level you can enjoy private check-in, complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.This Chicago hotel features 130,000 sq. ft. of function space with over 77 meeting rooms, seven ballrooms and two exhibition halls. Lockwood Restaurant and Bar, located just off the lobby, is open throughout the day serving contemporary American cuisine. Small plates and classic cocktails are served in Potters Lounge. Balance Spa features 14 treatment rooms including hydrotherapy services for the ultimate pampering. The fitness center offers over 10,000 sq. ft. of cardio and free weight equipment, an indoor pool, whirlpool, and saun

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Palmer House Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.9 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.2 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (701)

Ratings and reviews for The Palmer House Hilton

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 701
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bob9950
Business
Glendale, Az
Jul 29, 2014

Very Good

Wonderful ambience, terrific location. 1st class experience. Couple of nits: noise from the EL trains, and the electrical sockets were a little loose, so it didn't always make a connection when I plugged in my cell phone. Otherwise, terrific.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go to the Art Institute, get there early, so you can have the 1st half hour less crowded

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
premo1
Business
farmington michigan
Jul 27, 2014

weekend fun

The hotel was great. The location is good. The room was large and very clean. Modern bathroom. Fun bar. Beautiful lobby. Nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great architecture store right around the corner for unique gifts. I go there whenever I am in Chicago.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mystery Onward
Business
North Fork, CA
Jul 5, 2014

Little Bit of History

I really appreciated the good deal on this hotel via An online deal. On a teacher's salary, I don't stay in Hilton's much. I could sense how old the building was by its architectural style and detailed craftsmanship however it has been kept up well and modified with new technologies in tasteful ways. It was a little problematic not having complimentary wifi in the rooms. Being on the 19th of approximately 23 floors, it was hard to connect well with my cell carrier. All things considered, this was a very comfortable place to be located in the heart of Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I enjoyed getting around to Chicago attractions by using the blue bike share called Divvy which are racked up at many locations. $7 for 24 hrs and no extra charge if you rack the bike at another location within 30 minutes. Chicago is a great biking city, especially more towards the lake front.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikemcc28
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jun 8, 2014

Beautiful historic hotel in a great location

The Palmer House is a Chicago landmark, and once you set foot in the beautiful, ornate lobby, you'll understand why. Rooms aren't huge but are comfortable (I do wish there was more counter space in the bathroom, however). Location in the Loop is fantastic; you're steps away from Symphony Center, Millennium Park, and the Art Institute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BILLCinNYC
Business
New York City
Dec 30, 2013

Wonderful old world feel

Loved being there of the holidays. The grand old lobby makes Staying there feel "special" Although the rooms are very modern, large and comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. Easy access to theaters and all the connecting subway trains. There is a bank of "Mac" computers available for free in the lobby. Great for printing email or changing flights, check in etc. Starbucks in the hotel and CVS stores across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are planning on seeing theater in Chicago, this is a very handy place to stay. It's also pleasant walk to shopping districts

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Orlando Baseball Fan
Business
Orlando
May 28, 2013

Less Than I Expected

I found the lobby to be very stately, and the staff were more than pleasant. On the other hand, the rooms are small and the bathrooms even smaller. It's quite cramped. I could not have imagined traveling with anyone and staying at this hotel. Further, I actually came back to my room one afternoon with all of the clean linens stacked on top of the ironing board and the bed completely bare. The pillow cases had not been swapped and there were no new towels in the room. Had to call housekeeping to address the problem. They did, and quickly, but I've never stayed anywhere that I had to call housekeeping for not making the bed. The elevator situation is charming at first, but after many 5-10 minute waits to actually catch one going in the right direction, it became quite frustrating. I could not get a cell call out of this hotel, and I could not even make a local call without going through concierge. Even still I was charged for a local call. I got a fair rate as part an airfare/hotel bundle, but other than the fact that the staff was pleasant, what you pay to stay (room service, parking, etc.), I found this to be less than optimal. I hope Hilton can make a few changes to really put this historic hotel in the category it deserves to be in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza and ribs. Better than Palmer House room service. All you need to know!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eastside Jan
Business
Detroit
May 22, 2013

distinctive experience

with a location in the heart of the historic center of the city, and unique and impressive architecture, this hotel offers a distinctive experience of the city. you can walk quickly to most destinations, or you can sit in the lobby and admire the view. and you don't pay nearly the luxury hotel prices for this experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
keatzie
Business
Toronto
Apr 29, 2013

Great experience

We loved our weekend at the Palmer House. Fabulous location, superb beds and linens, quiet and comfortable, and the service was perfect. I would not choose to eat dinner there. Like any large hotel chain, it is better to stay there and eat elsewhere. I will return to this location over and over and will suggest it to all of my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lin Awesome Girl
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Apr 8, 2013

Relaxing Weekend

The hotel is huge! Staff was very helpful and courteous. Hotel location is great, rooms clean and the beds are comfortable. I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping! Wear comfortable shoes. Oh.. 2 doors down is Miller's Pub. GREAT food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Birthday
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 11, 2013

Quick Trip

Perfect location to walk to anything you desire in downtown Chicago. Nice upscale Hotel to come home to to relax after a full day in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BIN 36 excellent dining experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top