$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

The Palmer House Hilton

4 stars
View map of 17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
704 reviews
Loved it!

We always stay at the Palmer House and it never disappoints! The Libby is amazing and the scene is... See full review

  • Melissa G.
  • Jul 26, 2015
Business comfort in heart of Loop

Beautiful lobby and well appointed room. Extremely comfortable linens and bed.... slept better than... See full review

  • JoAnne M.
  • Jul 14, 2015

Exquisite brass peacock doors welcome guests to The Palmer House Hilton, which is a National Landmark Historical Hotel. The old-world elegance of the lobby belies the modernity of a stay in Chicago's Loop. Guest rooms feature flat-screen TVs and ample space for unwinding and relaxing and pets are also allowed within the building.

Executive suites provide private check-in, elevator service and other perks. Guest rooms are decorated based on different themes, and you can choose the atmosphere you desire. Whether you want a room blending the hip with the historical or one that is convenient, accessible and business-oriented, you can get a room that fits your needs.

Highlights

The Palmer House Hilton is right in the middle of Chicago's financial, business and theater districts. Guests can easily walk to the Willis Tower, Grant Park, Millennium Park, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and the Art Institute of Chicago. Numerous subway lines located nearby also make getting around Chicago a breeze.

The on-site Lockwood Restaurant and Bar serves three meals daily with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Afternoon tea services in the lobby pay homage to a time gone by, and for a drink in the evenings, guests can head to Potter's Lounge.

A fitness center provides a perfect place for guests to unwind, and the Balance Spa offers massages, pedicures, skin therapy and hair styling. 

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Palmer House Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.9 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.2 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Palmer House Hilton

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 704
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jon J
Business
N/A
Jul 28, 2015

Not recommended

My two night stay was not what I expected. I arrived at 1:30 am and had to wait in line for at least 20 minutes while the desk clerk tried to resolve an issue with a family taht was also checking in. I was exhausted and asked the clerk to find someone else who could help me while he took care of the family, but he said there was no one else available. The small room he gave me was next to a very noisy ice machine room, so the next day I asked to be moved. The desk clerk said management wouldn't permit me to move because the hotel was to be full that night. I had to ask for the manager, who agreed to move me, but the room was tiny. And the elevators are a nightmare. I often counted 10 - 15 people waiting on my floor to catch an elevator down, and when it would arrive it couldn't fit all those waiting. The same was true of the elevators ging up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ALONSO O.
Business
LUTZ
Jul 15, 2015

ACEP 2014

Very small room. Old fashion history hotel, Its ok, just walk in, look at it. but do not stay... VERY TINY ROOMS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoAnne M.
Business
N/A
Jul 14, 2015

Business comfort in heart of Loop

Beautiful lobby and well appointed room. Extremely comfortable linens and bed.... slept better than I do at home! Only issues were online pricing. Was originally told only room available was a one double bed room and that I would have to pay $40 per night for a roll away. When I arrived was able to get a room with two double beds for a $25 per night up charge. Wish they would have had that on the web and there would have been less confusion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sandra T.
Business
Redwood City
Jun 25, 2015

Palmer House

Room had a brick wall as a view. Not great! Location is great but it is an old hotel an the elevators didn't work very well either. Old world charm but...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business Traveler
Business
Bolingbrook
Jun 17, 2015

Business Meeting at hotel

The hotel rooms are older however you can't beat the location. The fitness center was huge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MaTravelling Professional
Business
N/A
May 26, 2015

Great for Business!

Hotel is very convenient for business in the Chicago loop. Amenities are as advertised. Great place to stay for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cheryl S.
Business
Orange
Apr 15, 2015

Unimpressed

My one night stay was marked by an attitude that reflects the hotel staff considers it a privilege to allow you to use their rooms. They provide no information, are rude and unhelpful. The hotel is elegant in the public rooms. The hotel rooms are large but the bathrooms are not what one would expect of an elegant establishment- more hotel in quality. All and all a huge disappointment. Oh and the valet parking- if you are unfamiliar with Chicago is about $75 a night $18.00 in tax. So you might be better off to buy your car a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sleepyRoadster
Business
N/A
Apr 14, 2015

Convenience in the Loop

Rated the Wifi at 1 b/c we didn't use, there is a fee for it. Everything else is great, amazing old fashioned hotel spaces and hallways, sophisticated bar in lobby, a minute walk from Chicago's best downtown attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flament
Business
N/A
Feb 28, 2015

Beautiful historic property

Lap of luxury, great bar and appetizers, elevated right out wabash street entrance. near museums, clubs, pubs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pete L.
Business
West Des Moines
Feb 28, 2015

Great for business

I switched from another hotel that I would typically stay every month when I come to Chicago for business. I wasn't quite pleased with their fitness center so my assistant booked the Palmer House to give a try. I have been very pleased with this hotel and the amenities. It is a great value and very close to our office. This has been my new hotel when I book travel to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top