$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2014 Check-out: Jul 12, 2014

The Palmer House Hilton

4 stars
17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
1,085 reviews
Enjoyable couple overnight

What an enjoyable time at an historic yet updated Palmer House. The staff and facilities were... See full review

  • pecos billy
  • Jul 5, 2014
Little Bit of History

I really appreciated the good deal on this hotel via An online deal. On a teacher's salary, I don't... See full review

  • Mystery Onward
  • Jul 5, 2014
Step into the lobby of Palmer House® A Hilton hotel and gaze at the famous frescoed ceiling of this landmark Chicago, Illinois hotel. This AAA four-diamond rated hotel has been hosting visitors to the Chicago Loop for over 140 years. Today, the Palmer House Hilton continues to thrive in the heart of the theatre and financial district, just steps from the Art Institute, Millennium Park and State Street shopping. A short walk away is Grant Park where summer festivals take place. Family attractions like the Chicago Children’s Museum and Navy Pier are just a quick cab ride away.Enjoy comfort and elegance in your Guest room or suite at this Chicago hotel. Amenities include flat-screen TVs and wireless internet access. Elegant suites feature abundant space with comfortable seating and wet bar areas, creating an ideal setting for entertaining. On the Executive Level you can enjoy private check-in, complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.This Chicago hotel features 130,000 sq. ft. of function space with over 77 meeting rooms, seven ballrooms and two exhibition halls. Lockwood Restaurant and Bar, located just off the lobby, is open throughout the day serving contemporary American cuisine. Small plates and classic cocktails are served in Potters Lounge. Balance Spa features 14 treatment rooms including hydrotherapy services for the ultimate pampering. The fitness center offers over 10,000 sq. ft. of cardio and free weight equipment, an indoor pool, whirlpool, and saun

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Palmer House Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8801 -87.6269
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 11.16, MI, NE; Gary RegionalAirport, (GYY), 25.00, MI, SE;

Nearby points of interest

  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.9 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.2 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1085)

Ratings and reviews for The Palmer House Hilton

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 1085
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LBJwade
Business
WI
Jul 3, 2014

OK

the room is fine. but the boys ask for more tips is not fine, they ask for more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jorgeman
Business
Connecticut
Jun 21, 2014

Great location

Desk person very helpful. Rooms were very comfortable especially after delayed flight problems into Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Using Subway from O'hara the stop is near hotel. Fast way to get into loop

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schaft29
Business
Columbus, Oh
Jun 15, 2014

Very nice hotel

Great location and a very nice hotel. Room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
McBondy
Business
Sarasota
Jun 14, 2014

Grrand lobby but not so much upstairs

The Palmer House is one of Chicagos grand hotels that has been recommended to me on several occasions. It is extremely well located and has a beautiful lobby level concourse teeming with guests and locals. Unfortunately for me it all stopped there. As a hHilton honors member upon check in I was told that while they could and my frequent stay number to my account they doubted I would receive credit because I had booked through Obitz. My room was so small that there wasn't even room for a dresser.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scoots McGoo
Business
Mpls, MN
Jun 1, 2014

Downtown & next to Orange line

Cool and bustling first floor. Fresh juice bar on first floor too, awesome. 1 block from the El train stop, perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tra la la la la
Business
Anfield at the Kop end
May 17, 2014

Historic Charm,Fantastic Staff,Needs small upgrades

I was here on business, amd thoroughly enjoyed the Palmer House. The staff was excellent. My room was a smaller room with a queen bed. As with most historic hotels, the Palmer House needs a little freshening up. Two of the light fixtures in my room didnt work at all,and the shower when turned to hot just trickled out water. These are small nuisances to me, and overall the hospitality of the staff made up for this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Miller's is right next door to the hotel. Good food

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Schubi
Business
Hong Kong
May 11, 2014

Stay in Chicago

The bathroom was extremely small, no fridge in the room. Definitely not a business style hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy B1313
Business
Colorado
Feb 28, 2014

Great location, great hotel.

Close to everything, I have stayed here before and came back for a reason!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cisco CCIE
Business
Kansas City
Feb 16, 2014

Spent 2 weeks here

I was very comfortable staying here for two weeks. There's a Freshi downstairs for healthy food. The fitness facility is the best I've ever seen in a hotel, top notch. It's close to a lot in downtown Chicago, which was nice as I went all over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Willis Tower is a few blocks one way and Michigan avenue is a few blocks the other way.

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EDGK
Business
Exeter, NH
Feb 15, 2014

Amazing place....amazing prices..great employee

Well, besides being persoally escorted to the hotel by one of its employees(Daniel Lynch- who saw me get on the train at midway airport and then told me I should check out his amazing hotel and he would personally escort me there).......then finding out I was staying at a historic property (I'm a history buff) and then receiving a $99 rate ...then walking through a beautiful lobby...then opening the door to a beautiful room in great shape....nice bed and bedding and very comfortable...well, I'm just very happy. It could have been a sressful situation until a nice person on a train went out of his way to help...... THANK YOU DANIEL LYNCH!!! (you are lucky Hilton Hotels!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top