$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

The Palmer House Hilton

4 stars
View map of 17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
709 reviews
awesome family trip

After we upgraded our room to a king from a tiny tiny double everything was fantastic. Great hotel... See full review

  • big oz
  • Aug 28, 2015
Weekend

Great hotel in a great location! Friendly staff and great experience. See full review

  • Keith P.
  • Aug 26, 2015

Exquisite brass peacock doors welcome guests to The Palmer House Hilton, which is a National Landmark Historical Hotel. The old-world elegance of the lobby belies the modernity of a stay in Chicago's Loop. Guest rooms feature flat-screen TVs and ample space for unwinding and relaxing and pets are also allowed within the building.

Executive suites provide private check-in, elevator service and other perks. Guest rooms are decorated based on different themes, and you can choose the atmosphere you desire. Whether you want a room blending the hip with the historical or one that is convenient, accessible and business-oriented, you can get a room that fits your needs.

Highlights

The Palmer House Hilton is right in the middle of Chicago's financial, business and theater districts. Guests can easily walk to the Willis Tower, Grant Park, Millennium Park, the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and the Art Institute of Chicago. Numerous subway lines located nearby also make getting around Chicago a breeze.

The on-site Lockwood Restaurant and Bar serves three meals daily with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Afternoon tea services in the lobby pay homage to a time gone by, and for a drink in the evenings, guests can head to Potter's Lounge.

A fitness center provides a perfect place for guests to unwind, and the Balance Spa offers massages, pedicures, skin therapy and hair styling. 

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Palmer House Hilton also booked these hotels.

★★★
$125
3.3 / 5 1,174 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 272 reviews
★★★
$103
4.1 / 5 542 reviews
★★★★
$143
4.1 / 5 321 reviews
★★★
$179
4.3 / 5 220 reviews
★★★
$116
4.0 / 5 301 reviews
★★★
$145
3.2 / 5 304 reviews
★★★
$107
4.0 / 5 557 reviews
★★★★
$146
4.0 / 5 268 reviews

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.9 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.2 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Palmer House Hilton

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
709 out of 709
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fromOmaha
Business
Omaha
Oct 27, 2011

No attention to detail.

My power didn't work when I got there, the bathrooms are incredibly tiny, the room had a tray from the previous stay outside the door and there was trash from the last tenants inside. The bed is really comfortable...but that's it. The view was awful. My TV remote didn't work really well and the 27" TV in the executive suite is many years behind. Also, they took down the Internet half-way through my stay and then brought it back with some "new" service that only gave me 56k. I fully intended on staying the 2 days after the conference for some R&R, but I went home instead because that would be more relaxing. I'll never stay here again. But I would visit the dining inside. AVOID THIS PLACE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Lockwood has a great butternut squash soup.

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nickvirca
Business
san diego
Apr 25, 2013

tough for business

This was a very frustrating experience...because of poor to non-existent cell phone reception throughout the hotel. I could not do my business without leaving the hotel..missed important calls, etc. As a result, I will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Guest X
Family
New York City
Jun 24, 2013

Not worth it

For a luxury hotel, this was a disappointment. I understand that you pay for the location and the gorgeous historic hotel (beautifully and tastefully restored), and the staff was excellent all around. However, some basics are required and this fell short. The minimum I ask for from a hotel is a good night's sleep. That was impossible on this hotel's "Serenity" beds, which sagged terribly. It would have been bad enough if I had the bed to myself, but since I was sharing it with my husband the bed sank to his side and I spent the whole night feeling like I was going to fall downhill. The room was spacious with a walk-in closet but no coffeemaker or mini-fridge. Also, given what they charge, you'd think that would include the gym and pool, but if you want to use those it's an additional $10 per person per day. Given all the other choices in the area, you can get a better value and more comfortable stay elsewhere, then just visit the Palmer House lobby to soak in the setting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Akron
Mar 18, 2010

Be warned.

If you are booking this hotel because of the free valet parking, don't do it.[...]The room itself was ok, if small, but the light-switch in the bathroom was smashed and had exposed wires (great for in a bathroom, eh?). Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lebanon
Oct 18, 2008

Overproced and basic room accomodations

This is considered one of Chicago's premier hotels. Extensive renovations were just completed but, unfortunately, none were to the rooms. No coffee maker (they want you to pay $2 per cup in the lobby in the AM), no refrigerator/minibars, ice maker on alternate floors, inadequate elevators for the hotel size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 16, 2009

Hotel with history, rooms with nothing

As parents of 2 young kids, we were excited for our trip to Chicago away from them for a short weekend. We were looking forward to 4 things: Friends, Cubs, U2 concert, and a comfortable, relaxing room in a highly rated hotel. 3 out of 4 isn't bad, but our room was quite a disappointment. VERY small room, tiny window with no view, oddly sloped tub that was quite slippery, poor analog TV, no wireless, no coffee maker... my bedroom at home is more comfortable. We've stayed at the Hilton Chicago previously for less than half the price - wish we'd just gone back there again. The Palmer House might be worth the visit for the lobby, bar and restaurant, but if you're looking for a relaxing room and amenities found at most other hotels, find somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Chicago, IL
Feb 3, 2010

Terrible, Horrendous, Preposterous

My experience with this hotel was awful. The customer service was lousy and slow, the room was too small, and the on duty manager was rude. I will never stay here again, and I will advise all of my friends,and business associates to never come to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
East Brunswick
Aug 25, 2008

Pool and gym

Amenities included pool, gym, fitness center... There was no pool and the Hilton no longer owned the gym, so there was an $18 per day charge to use it. I left the hotel and found one one more suitable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Feb 21, 2010

The Palmer House Hilton is a rip-off!!

This package which I purchased on [...] was not a deal! The money which I "saved" was forfeited because the Palmer House Hilton charged me $51 a day to park my car! For a three-day stay, that was $153 out of pocket. I was never informed by [...] Palmer House that I'd received this charge until I received my bill the morning of check out. Rediculous considering I had to tip the valet each time I left or arrived at the hotel. And $15 dollars a day to use the internet! I will never use this "hotel" [...] again the future! This is criminal activity in my opinion!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mixed on this one
Couples
Kansas City MO
Feb 22, 2010

The tradition changes....

We stay at the Palmer House when we attend conferences in Chicago. It is a stately building. But this year, there were problems we have not had before. First, they now have wi-fi available, but it is not free. The cost is $7.50 per hour. On-line it indicated that Hilton hotels charge about $4, but this was almost double. Many hotels have free wi-fi. Wi-fi is wi-fi, so the level of service is not a factor that could justify this exorbitant cost. They also charge for their fitness center, even when you are only going to use the machines. There is no business center in-house for copies, etc. Our bed was against a wall that separated us from the bathroom in the next room. It did not separate us from the bathroom noises. When someone took a shower (at 5:30 a.m.), the pipes "sung" like old pipes do,but very loudly. An empty wine glass sat outside someone's room door for days without being picked up by housekeeping. The concierge desk had only one person and there was always a line. If you called down, you were put on hold while they dealt with the people in the line. The staff were all very nice, and the location can't be beat, but the luxury prices for normal services felt like a ripoff this year. I doubt we'll return....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top