$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

The Palmer House Hilton

4 stars
View map of 17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Palmer House Hilton

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
713 out of 713
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visits Chicago to see mom
Business
Knoxville,tn
Jul 4, 2014

Close to it all

Staff was lovely, room was clean--the hotel is beautiful and historic...loved the location, it was close to many "l" lines and buses. Also walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Quite a value without sacrificing amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LBJwade
Business
WI
Jul 3, 2014

OK

the room is fine. but the boys ask for more tips is not fine, they ask for more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aprilszoo2
Business
Battle Creek Michigan
Jun 26, 2014

Historic Charm

This is our 4th stay at the Palmer House. It is not the cheapest hotel but it is the best value for us. Perfect location, beautiful hotel, and easy to upgrade to Excutive level if you want to enjoy those amenities. Easy walk to Millinium Park and train station. I would love to see a discount for return guests (aside from the Hilton Honors program)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We live in Michigan. We drive to Michigan City and take the Southshore train. It is $8.50 each way and takes you right to Millinium Station. No need to mess with driving/parking and there are many time slots to ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daisy Jade
Business
Joliet, Illinois
Jun 24, 2014

Excellent Family Overnighter

The hotel was so pretty and clean. It was perfectly located for everything we wanted to do in the city and the staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The bakery on the corner of Wabash and Monroe is not a good choice but Vapiano on the other side of the street is amazing and pretty inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jorgeman
Business
Connecticut
Jun 21, 2014

Great location

Desk person very helpful. Rooms were very comfortable especially after delayed flight problems into Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Using Subway from O'hara the stop is near hotel. Fast way to get into loop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abigail Elizabeth
Business
Montpelier, VT
Jun 19, 2014

Anniversary getaway

The location couldn't have been better! We were able to explore the whole city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BIRTHDAY SUPER GIRL
Business
illinois
Jun 16, 2014

wonderful stay

OUR STAY WAS GREAT! FRIENDLY SMILES, THE ROOM WAS READY AND VERY CLEAN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Prof Joe
Business
South Bend IN
Jun 16, 2014

Chicago getaway

We were celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary. When I mentioned this to the clerk on check-in, he upgraded us to a nicer room. the staff were all friendly and helpful, and this is a beautiful, landmark hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schaft29
Business
Columbus, Oh
Jun 15, 2014

Very nice hotel

Great location and a very nice hotel. Room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
McBondy
Business
Sarasota
Jun 14, 2014

Grrand lobby but not so much upstairs

The Palmer House is one of Chicagos grand hotels that has been recommended to me on several occasions. It is extremely well located and has a beautiful lobby level concourse teeming with guests and locals. Unfortunately for me it all stopped there. As a hHilton honors member upon check in I was told that while they could and my frequent stay number to my account they doubted I would receive credit because I had booked through Obitz. My room was so small that there wasn't even room for a dresser.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top