$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2014 Check-out: Apr 22, 2014

The Palmer House Hilton

4 stars
17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
615 reviews
st.Patrick's day stay

The Palmer Hotel was beautiful on the inside and out. Parking was easy and convenient. The check in... See full review

  • DiMaggio
  • Mar 16, 2014
Great Stay... Great Price!

You cannot beat the Palmer House. Always reasonably priced and the property is beautiful. Lobby and... See full review

  • PurdueDoc
  • Mar 4, 2014
Step into the lobby of Palmer House® A Hilton hotel and gaze at the famous frescoed ceiling of this landmark Chicago, Illinois hotel. This AAA four-diamond rated hotel has been hosting visitors to the Chicago Loop for over 140 years. Today, the Palmer House Hilton continues to thrive in the heart of the theatre and financial district, just steps from the Art Institute, Millennium Park and State Street shopping. A short walk away is Grant Park where summer festivals take place. Family attractions like the Chicago Children’s Museum and Navy Pier are just a quick cab ride away.Enjoy comfort and elegance in your Guest room or suite at this Chicago hotel. Amenities include flat-screen TVs and wireless internet access. Elegant suites feature abundant space with comfortable seating and wet bar areas, creating an ideal setting for entertaining. On the Executive Level you can enjoy private check-in, complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.This Chicago hotel features 130,000 sq. ft. of function space with over 77 meeting rooms, seven ballrooms and two exhibition halls. Lockwood Restaurant and Bar, located just off the lobby, is open throughout the day serving contemporary American cuisine. Small plates and classic cocktails are served in Potters Lounge. Balance Spa features 14 treatment rooms including hydrotherapy services for the ultimate pampering. The fitness center offers over 10,000 sq. ft. of cardio and free weight equipment, an indoor pool, whirlpool, and saun

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Palmer House Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8801 -87.6269
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 11.16, MI, NE; Gary RegionalAirport, (GYY), 25.00, MI, SE;

Nearby points of interest

  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.9 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.2 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (615)

Ratings and reviews for The Palmer House Hilton

Overall score

4.1 / 5
615 out of 615
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
Cowabunga Joe
Business
Plymouth
May 10, 2013

Great Business Experience

Great location and value. The executive floor is well worth the extra expense as the continental breakfast and after work reception were both convenient and well done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
Ienjoytraveling
Georgia
May 6, 2013

Nice hotel with large rooms and great amenities

The first night, I was assigned a room located in front of the elevators and beside the vending machine room. The room was small, loud and just seemed odd for the hotel. The next morning, I asked to be relocated to a different room and without hesitation (but also without an apology for being sleep deprived) was reassigned to a different room. The second room was lovely and very spacious (complete opposite of my first room) and was exactly what I would have expected from this hotel. I'm very shocked that they would assign anyone to room 8-202 unless they were at full capacity and it was a necessity; however, this was not the case. I was very pleased that they were very quick to offer me a different room, but never offered an apology or to comp my room even after I explained to them that I barely got any sleep the night before from hearing the vast number of people, elevators, ice-machine, drink machine purchases, etc. I would recommend this hotel as it was beautiful, spacious and had all of the amenities we needed (including a bar, several restaurants, and a full service Starbucks in the lobby).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
Sally2526
Houston, Tx
Apr 29, 2013

Sarah

This hotel has the WOW factor! great price and exquisite furnishings. As soon as you walk into the hotel you say wow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
keatzie
Toronto
Apr 29, 2013

Great experience

We loved our weekend at the Palmer House. Fabulous location, superb beds and linens, quiet and comfortable, and the service was perfect. I would not choose to eat dinner there. Like any large hotel chain, it is better to stay there and eat elsewhere. I will return to this location over and over and will suggest it to all of my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
nickvirca
Business
san diego
Apr 25, 2013

tough for business

This was a very frustrating experience...because of poor to non-existent cell phone reception throughout the hotel. I could not do my business without leaving the hotel..missed important calls, etc. As a result, I will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
Business Manager
Business
Minneapolis
Apr 21, 2013

Great location, great value (for room)

Comfortable room, great location in heart of downtown. Beautiful lobby/bar area which was quite busy in the evening. My only negative comments involve the view from my room (which was so dark I really couldn't tell what time of day it was outside) and the fact that the hotel charges extra for room internet use and to use their fitness center. Both, in my opinion, should be included in their room rate, even if that meant the room rate would rise slightly. Otherwise, I'd say the Palmer House is a very good choice for someone interested in being close to lots of attractions (and transportation options) in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
Great lakes
Business
Grand Rapids MI
Apr 20, 2013

Great location, clean room

Room was small, but clean and modernly styled, and with all the necessary features.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
returner
Business
Tallahassee, Fl
Apr 15, 2013

solid deal

Fine, although the "special" price was only for the small interior rooms, no internet, no water, no coffee...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
HoneyPot
Detroit, MI
Apr 9, 2013

Great Getaway.

Went with five friends for a bachelors party, wonderfully located, and with great amenities the Palmer House made a stunning home base. The lobby is to die for. My one complaint is that the pool area could use a little sprucing up, but aside from that the hotel was an amazing choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Brunch at Publican, is a must.

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
TanjaGNC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Apr 8, 2013

Beds are awesome

Extremely comfortable beds, clean bathroom could be bigger

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Vapiano

Back to menu Return to top