$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

The Palmer House Hilton

4 stars
17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
680 reviews
Amazing Hotel!

The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are very clean and spacious. That noted, other than the cleaning... See full review

  • J Greer
  • Oct 26, 2014
Awesome

Great place to be. Two thumbs up. Great service and staff. See full review

  • BB Riley
  • Oct 5, 2014
Step into the lobby of Palmer House® A Hilton hotel and gaze at the famous frescoed ceiling of this landmark Chicago, Illinois hotel. This AAA four-diamond rated hotel has been hosting visitors to the Chicago Loop for over 140 years. Today, the Palmer House Hilton continues to thrive in the heart of the theatre and financial district, just steps from the Art Institute, Millennium Park and State Street shopping. A short walk away is Grant Park where summer festivals take place. Family attractions like the Chicago Children’s Museum and Navy Pier are just a quick cab ride away.Enjoy comfort and elegance in your Guest room or suite at this Chicago hotel. Amenities include flat-screen TVs and wireless internet access. Elegant suites feature abundant space with comfortable seating and wet bar areas, creating an ideal setting for entertaining. On the Executive Level you can enjoy private check-in, complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.This Chicago hotel features 130,000 sq. ft. of function space with over 77 meeting rooms, seven ballrooms and two exhibition halls. Lockwood Restaurant and Bar, located just off the lobby, is open throughout the day serving contemporary American cuisine. Small plates and classic cocktails are served in Potters Lounge. Balance Spa features 14 treatment rooms including hydrotherapy services for the ultimate pampering. The fitness center offers over 10,000 sq. ft. of cardio and free weight equipment, an indoor pool, whirlpool, and saun

Hotel Map

41.8801 -87.6269
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 11.16, MI, NE; Gary RegionalAirport, (GYY), 25.00, MI, SE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Palmer House Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.9 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.2 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (680)

Ratings and reviews for The Palmer House Hilton

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
680 out of 680
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco,CA
Sep 20, 2009

The great time in The Palmer House

It was very comfortable to stay in The Palmer House. We always could receive the full information about tours,hotel staff was very friendly.Great location helped us to better see Chicago and we are very impressed of our trip.We will recommend our friends to stay in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TAC visitor
Business
Austin, Texas
Sep 16, 2009

The hotel was fabulous.

The hotel was wonderful. I loved the location because we were able to walk to several places that where close to the hotel. The rooms were spotless and the bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to many restuarants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 16, 2009

Hotel with history, rooms with nothing

As parents of 2 young kids, we were excited for our trip to Chicago away from them for a short weekend. We were looking forward to 4 things: Friends, Cubs, U2 concert, and a comfortable, relaxing room in a highly rated hotel. 3 out of 4 isn't bad, but our room was quite a disappointment. VERY small room, tiny window with no view, oddly sloped tub that was quite slippery, poor analog TV, no wireless, no coffee maker... my bedroom at home is more comfortable. We've stayed at the Hilton Chicago previously for less than half the price - wish we'd just gone back there again. The Palmer House might be worth the visit for the lobby, bar and restaurant, but if you're looking for a relaxing room and amenities found at most other hotels, find somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bisonator
Business
Nashville, TN
Sep 14, 2009

Great stay!

We stayed here on opening night of the U2 concert. The location was great and the hotel was far above my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seat1A
Business
New York, NY
Sep 14, 2009

Better than I expected

The first room we had, which I think was a single, was very very small, but the bed was comfortable. The hotel was completely full, but they offered a switch the following night. The new room (on a renovated floor) was great. Sitting area, comfy bed, modern furnishings that went with the old style of the hotel. The restaurant (Lockwood) and its bar were also very good, albeit pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Blue Line El from O'Hare stops right near the airport - saves $40 in a taxi and takes about an hour at normal times.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo,N.Y.
Sep 13, 2009

Ideal

We were pleased overall with our stay.Most everything we saw was within walking distance or accessible by metro or bus- a real cost savings! The Concierge, [...], was spectacular- patient, knowledgeable and humorous. Really made us feel comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Forget renting a car- the metro system is great!!And walking the area really gave you a feel for the city and allowed you to appreciate the architecture.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Dakota
Sep 13, 2009

OK place

Check in was a little slow, bathroom was tiny, although room was good sized. $50 a night to park!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Sep 13, 2009

Quality Place

Of course the best part was sharing time with old friends. The location is excellent as we did a lot of walking sightseeing right from the front door. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Sep 13, 2009

Decent Stay, Good Location but....

We stayed at this hotel for one night during the last weekend of August so we can enjoy downtown Chicago. The good: The lobby was beautiful and our room was nice enough. The location was also great and 2 blocks from Grant Park which made sightseeing super easy. Also it was one block away from most buses, the red line and 2 blocks away from the blue making travel from the airport affordable (although they had construction so the trains were running in sections with bus service in lieu of train service - really annoying). The beds were super comfortable which was nice. The bad: We had the handicapped accessible room which made the room large enough for 3 people. Unfortunately there was no shower tub so we had a "small lake" in our bathroom after everyone showered. Also there were other little things such as the room had a musty smell when we walked in and the toiletry products seemed watered down. Also we had to ask for extra towels although they knew we had 3 people in the room. The hotel staff was nice enough but this was NOT a Hilton caliber hotel but similar to a upscale Howard Johnson. They also charge you to use their gym/fitness center which I thought was insane. All in all it was affordable compared to the other hotels but its good to know what to expect before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 12, 2009

Magnificent

I found the experience at the Palmer House to be most enjoyable. It was a relaxing environment. Great food, neighboring restaurants and shopping areas in the location. In addition, the service of the personnel was great. Bravo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Lake shore area was and is a beautiful site. The environment is warm, soothing and calming. The type of surrounding much needed when one desires to just get away from it all...from the work and responsibilities of daily life.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top