$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Palmer House Hilton

4 stars
View map of 17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Palmer House Hilton

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
718 out of 718
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Preciousss77
Business
Colorado
Oct 16, 2014

Historic Chicago

The Palmer House was a very large and well located hotel in downtown Chicago. Our room was quite big with two double beds and a spacious sitting area. The hotel is older but well maintained and updating has kept with the historic style. Very quiet and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blader
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 15, 2014

Excellent hotel with beautiful lobby.

Great experience. Upgraded to a mini-suite on executive floor. Beds are very comfortable, furniture us nice, but not luxurious Bathrooms well equipped, but typical Hilton. Very attentive staff. Perfect location - very central but minimal traffic noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Augie53
Business
indianapolis
Oct 12, 2014

Palmer house

Quick and easy check-in. One of the quietest rooms we have ever stayed in while visiting Chicago. Easy access to public transportation. Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use bike share to move quickly around the city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CincyQ
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Oct 6, 2014

if you enjoy history and architecture, this is a great hotel in a very good location.

my wife and I have stayed here on multiple occasions and the hotel was very clean and in a great location. Seeing that we only spend 8 hours a day in the hotel, we have never been the type turned off by smaller rooms. We dont need an enormous room to enjoy our stay. Our room had recently been updated and very clean. And if you enjoy it history and a little bit of nostalgia this is a great place to stay. Having a drink in the lobby on a Friday or Saturday evening makes you remember why you chose this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Smokey mountain
Business
Detroit
Oct 6, 2014

Get Away

It wasn't what I expected, the room was very small, the bed was by the door. The elevators was crazy, I mean it was three couples on three different floors, and I had to take three different elevators! And the parking cost $75.00! Ordered some food later on that night, and the security wouldn't let the delivery guy up so t had to get dressed and go down stairs to get the food! I don't think I will go back there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good Pizza!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BB Riley
Business
Indianapolis
Oct 5, 2014

Awesome

Great place to be. Two thumbs up. Great service and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lmm3c
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Oct 3, 2014

Beautiful facility, rooms and service are so-so

Gorgeous building and lobby. Grand is the word for this. The location can't be beat. It took me (I timed it) 25 minutes to check in at 1:15 in the afternoon. It was crazy. The room needed updating and the elevator system is so convoluted you can't get to your room. My room was connected to an elevator wall and I heard the dinging and the elevator going up and down all evening. I had four other colleagues staying there as well and we all commented on how sub-par this facility was for the price.They too all had check in issues. I should have stayed at a Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mamalu411
Business
ottawa, il
Oct 1, 2014

Girls Night

Room was beautiful, could have been a little cleaner. Friendly staff, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irish Monarchy
Business
Chicago Suburbs
Sep 28, 2014

Heart of the Park

Walking distance to Millenium park was perfect - lakefront is right there. breakfast amazing, entire hotel had cozy charm you just can't get with modern hotels - but never felt short changed. Enjoy & shall be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Bag check - got there early & left after check out & our luggage was in great hands!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Silencedogood
Business
New York
Sep 27, 2014

Venerable Old Hotel

It's overall ok. Lobby is spectacular. Check-in can get backed up. They do not have check-in kiosks for some reason. Rooms are clean, but walls are thin and may of the rooms are so interior your phone will barely work. WiFi is ok, but have to pay. Location is good but a bit sparse at night. Also keep in kind it is one of the few hotels with a pool in Chicago. Small, indoors but nice and clean. Overall, not bad, but there is much better in Chicago. Just comes down to your budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top