$165 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

The Palmer House Hilton

4 stars
View map of 17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Palmer House Hilton

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
757 out of 757
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
another RI traveler
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Lovely grand hotel

Very short trip due to airline snafu's but we enjoyed our one night in the grand old hotel with it's beautiful lobby and rooms, convenient downtown location - hope to go back for a longer stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roland
Business
Humble
Mar 3, 2015

Trip to Chicago

This hotel is beautiful from the lobby. The rooms are a little outdated but overall a cool place to stay. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LisaAnn43
Business
North Branch
Mar 1, 2015

Great trip

The hotel was clean and comfortable, was there during 4th of July weekend of 2014 and had a blast. It was nice that room had a refrigerator and the beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flament
Business
N/A
Feb 28, 2015

Beautiful historic property

Lap of luxury, great bar and appetizers, elevated right out wabash street entrance. near museums, clubs, pubs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pete L.
Business
West Des Moines
Feb 28, 2015

Great for business

I switched from another hotel that I would typically stay every month when I come to Chicago for business. I wasn't quite pleased with their fitness center so my assistant booked the Palmer House to give a try. I have been very pleased with this hotel and the amenities. It is a great value and very close to our office. This has been my new hotel when I book travel to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flament
Business
N/A
Feb 22, 2015

Beautiful historic property

Right by museums, shopping and the elevated. Great bar in the lobby with inventive little drinks and appetizers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N/A
Feb 20, 2015

Great hotel!

Seriously loved staying at the Palmer House Hilton. It actually exceeded my expectations and I am so happy I decided to book this hotel. Rooms were clean, sheets were so soft and the pillows and bed were amazing! Staff was incredibly friendly. The pool, hot tub, steam room in women's locker was so relaxing and very clean! If I ever plan another trip to Chicago I will definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaclyn P.
Business
N/A
Feb 18, 2015

beautiful but pricey

parking Is horribly expensive. 47 a night. Internet is only free in the lobby. It's 30 a week. Don't even think about room Service. . With fees plus price a grilled cheese will cost around 22 dollars. All together with parking, fees, and internet I paid an additional 300 to what I had already paid in advance. Not a cheap hotel but beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NH Family Traveler
Business
Peekskill
Feb 9, 2015

Nice hotel - pillows need work

The hotel is near the overhead transit system. Depending upon where your room is you may hear trains go by. Overall everything was fine. What seems to be common in most hotels is true here as well. All the bed pillows were squishy. We love to have the 4 pillows on each bed but it would be nice if 2 were firm and 2 were squishy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sara S.
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Difficult experience

I was so looking forward to staying here. Unfortunately the staff that works in the rooms (housekeeping) are so loud that I had to ask for my room to be moved once, and when I encountered similar staff shouting/laughing/yelling on the second floor. I also had several items disappear from my room, including a rather expensive bottle of perfume and some clothes. The front desk staff seems very professional and nice, although when I called security about my missing items, they checked the lost and found and said "not there, sorry" and didn't offer to investigate further. When I discussed my concerns with the front desk manager at check out, he gave me a free breakfast voucher, and offered me a free night in the future. He took my business card and said he would follow up with me. Nearly a week later no one has followed up. Last but not least, when I checked in to my second room, there was hair in the sink and tub, some of the towels were missing, and the trial size cosmetics were all half used. They took them away and brought fresh ones, but only conditioner and bar soap. I had to leave a note asking for body wash and shampoo. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top