$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

The Palmer House Hilton

4 stars
View map of 17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Palmer House Hilton

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
713 out of 713
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jami Lynn
Business
Michigan
Dec 8, 2014

perfect location for a theatre trip

Walking distance to the theatres which is perfect. Walking distance to many good restaurants. Beautiful old hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Weekend Warrior Dad
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 3, 2014

Utilitarian room for the night

This hotel probably closer to a 3 star experience. Check in was a huge bottleneck (even for a HiltonHonors member). The hotel was probably near capacity and struggled to accommodate the crowd (tough to find a seat, get a coffee, get a drink). The room was quite cheap vs. other 4 star hotels, but was the SMALLEST I've stayed in. And the hotel is in a bit of an evening deadsville (not many eating drinking options compared to N. Michigan Ave). This hotel should be an option only for the most price sensitive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
miss bold and beautiful
Business
Huntsville Alabama
Dec 2, 2014

a great romantic getaway

the staff was very helpful the architecture is beautiful felt like homew ..nice family getaway couldn't ask for anything more...!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

the boutiques

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fhk1
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 29, 2014

Fun Family Mini Vacation

The hotel is historic, beautiful, and has all modern updates. The fitness center is fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The cafeteria in the lower level of the Art Institute is fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WWTraveler71
Business
Houston, Texas
Nov 28, 2014

Best Friends Reunion

I booked the Palmer Hilton Hotel to redeem a Hilton Certificate Rebate that I received at a Hilton Grand Vacation promotional event in Vegas. The room I selected was the Hip & historic - 2beds 2bath...Larger room-2bathrooms 37" flat panel hdtv...Serenity bed luxury linens in room safe. When I read the description, I thought it was a two-bedbroom/2 bathroom. This was not the case. The room is one large room with 2 double beds and two separate bathrooms. The hotel is historic with a beautiful lobby. The rooms are slightly dated but tastefully decorated and the hotel location is great. I'm not 100% sure the Hilton rebate center will accept my receipt because I booked through a 3rd party travel site instead of directly through Hilton so that will also determine if I continue to stay at Hilton hotels in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel lifts are slow and crowds tend to gather at peak times. Suggestion, when an lift door opens on your floor, get on it even if it is going in the opposition direction you wish to go. You can always ride up and then reset the button to the floor you desire. Else, you will be waiting for a lift for 15 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy social worker
Business
LA
Nov 24, 2014

Great place

Great service, comfortable, clean and great staff, I am very very very happy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Turkey Day Guest
Business
Illinois
Nov 24, 2014

Good Location and Clean Rooms

The rooms are a little small but they were very nice. Great location within walking distance to almost anything. Was perfect for the Thanksgiving parade. There was a conference room upstairs that they let people sit in to watch the parade from inside. Very accommodating staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlie Esther
Business
Third Coast
Nov 23, 2014

Come for the location; stay for the staff

I've stayed at the Palmer House many times for convenience sake. Internet access in the room costs extra and the shower curtains come with a mildew scent. However, the rooms are otherwise comfortable and the hotel staff, especially everyone working the Concierge Desk, is excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dirty Bit
Business
Rochester, NY
Nov 20, 2014

Awesome

We were in town for the IMTS at McCormick place. We stayed for three nights. This hotel is great. Very reasonable rates and very cozy rooms! I would recommend The Palmer House to others and would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

TJ Maxx is right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wine Xplorer
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 17, 2014

Nice Weekend Stay in the City

Great location and amenities. Overall enjoyable stay. A bit surprised to be awaken by a crying child at 6am on Sunday morning. Room on 20th floor a bit dated. Nice continental breakfast included in stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top