$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

The Palmer House Hilton

4 stars
View map of 17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Palmer House Hilton

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
703 out of 703
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EDGK
Business
Exeter, NH
Feb 15, 2014

Amazing place....amazing prices..great employee

Well, besides being persoally escorted to the hotel by one of its employees(Daniel Lynch- who saw me get on the train at midway airport and then told me I should check out his amazing hotel and he would personally escort me there).......then finding out I was staying at a historic property (I'm a history buff) and then receiving a $99 rate ...then walking through a beautiful lobby...then opening the door to a beautiful room in great shape....nice bed and bedding and very comfortable...well, I'm just very happy. It could have been a sressful situation until a nice person on a train went out of his way to help...... THANK YOU DANIEL LYNCH!!! (you are lucky Hilton Hotels!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brinkley
Business
Braden
Jan 29, 2014

Jan 24-26

Great location downtown. When we got there we had to wait 30 mins almost for them to bring our luggage up to us. Other than that, it was a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sailor Girl 1996
Business
St Paul, MN
Jan 27, 2014

weekend getaway for the Strictly Sail Show

Had a great time. Beautiful place, esp the lobby. Great and friendly help. Our room was perfect and clean, maybe some waters would have been nice. Gorgeous photography on the floors. The stairs to the rooms (we don't do elevators, and so we walked to the 8 th floor) could have been swept better, and some floors did not have numbers on the door leading out. All in all, we were very pleased. Karen and Stephan Kistler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Andy's jazz club, and make reses early!

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wedding Dress Shopper
Business
Lansing, Mi
Jan 13, 2014

Weekend Trip

Great experience. Clean. Small room. Very elegant in lobby. Good food but high priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BILLCinNYC
Business
New York City
Dec 30, 2013

Wonderful old world feel

Loved being there of the holidays. The grand old lobby makes Staying there feel "special" Although the rooms are very modern, large and comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. Easy access to theaters and all the connecting subway trains. There is a bank of "Mac" computers available for free in the lobby. Great for printing email or changing flights, check in etc. Starbucks in the hotel and CVS stores across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are planning on seeing theater in Chicago, this is a very handy place to stay. It's also pleasant walk to shopping districts

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
xristina
Business
Batavia, IL
Dec 29, 2013

great place

lovely hotel, lobby, and ambiance. good room, small but that is fine. I wish there was a fridge in the room. that would have helped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Local loco
Business
Evergreen park, IL
Dec 17, 2013

Great location!

This hotel is famous for a reason! Great location and great staff! I was a little dissappointed by the hot tub, but everything else makes up for it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast place right outside the hotel on State street.

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kristisk8
Business
New York, NY
Dec 10, 2013

Mediocre rooms but nice common areas & fantastic gym

I found this hotel to be sort of an odd combination of very grand common spaces but with outdated, low amenity rooms (however, they are very big). Also, the rooms oddly enough do not have mini fridges/mini bars which I would ordinarily not care about, but I am nursing and needed somewhere to keep the milk and the hotel was not willing to freeze my ice packs for me and charged $40 for a fridge to be delivered to the room. The bathroom was also outdated and it took running the water for quite some time in both the sink and the shower to get any water that approached warm water. However, I booked this hotel for its gym and that was quite nice. In general, you can find other hotels in the area that are cheaper and the same or better quality-wise. The staff I dealt with were friendly, professional and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gradstud90
Business
midwest
Nov 28, 2013

Great location/hotel/price!

I checked in late and the staff was welcoming, the room was very clean, and the amenities were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
conferenceattendee78
Business
South Carolina
Nov 25, 2013

Good

beautiful hotel. could use a coffee machine in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top