$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2014 Check-out: Aug 12, 2014

The Palmer House Hilton

4 stars
17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
1,100 reviews
weekend fun

The hotel was great. The location is good. The room was large and very clean. Modern bathroom. Fun... See full review

  • premo1
  • Jul 27, 2014
Lovely hotel

We stayed at the Palmer House 35 years ago and were anxious to see if it still had the same feeling... See full review

  • Pops RPS
  • Jul 22, 2014
Step into the lobby of Palmer House® A Hilton hotel and gaze at the famous frescoed ceiling of this landmark Chicago, Illinois hotel. This AAA four-diamond rated hotel has been hosting visitors to the Chicago Loop for over 140 years. Today, the Palmer House Hilton continues to thrive in the heart of the theatre and financial district, just steps from the Art Institute, Millennium Park and State Street shopping. A short walk away is Grant Park where summer festivals take place. Family attractions like the Chicago Children’s Museum and Navy Pier are just a quick cab ride away.Enjoy comfort and elegance in your Guest room or suite at this Chicago hotel. Amenities include flat-screen TVs and wireless internet access. Elegant suites feature abundant space with comfortable seating and wet bar areas, creating an ideal setting for entertaining. On the Executive Level you can enjoy private check-in, complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.This Chicago hotel features 130,000 sq. ft. of function space with over 77 meeting rooms, seven ballrooms and two exhibition halls. Lockwood Restaurant and Bar, located just off the lobby, is open throughout the day serving contemporary American cuisine. Small plates and classic cocktails are served in Potters Lounge. Balance Spa features 14 treatment rooms including hydrotherapy services for the ultimate pampering. The fitness center offers over 10,000 sq. ft. of cardio and free weight equipment, an indoor pool, whirlpool, and saun

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Palmer House Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8801 -87.6269
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 11.16, MI, NE; Gary RegionalAirport, (GYY), 25.00, MI, SE;

Nearby points of interest

  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.9 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.2 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1100)

Ratings and reviews for The Palmer House Hilton

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
1100 out of 1100
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Satisfied traveler 2
Austin, TX
Mar 5, 2013

Excellent location and value

The Palmer House was located right in the heart of everything you need to do in Chicago. Many great restaurants and museums were either within walking distance or a short, and inexpensive bus ride away. The staff was very helpful in finding places to eat, where things were located, how to get there, and a great map to insure your return to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Getting around via bus is inexpensive, and extremely convenient from this hotel. Also many fine restaurants are within walking distance so a cab expense is not necessary.

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minnesota Visitor
Minnesota
May 26, 2013

Great Location

Very nice hotel with a terrific location. We were disappointed that they charge for internet. The room was clean and most of the staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a 3 day unlimited pass for the CTA. It was a terrific way to get around the city and a great deal at $20.00.

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex Mak HKG
Business
Hong Kong
May 23, 2013

Great location!

We had a tradeshow at the mccormick place and it's close. The parking is expensive at the hotel though! $60/night comparing to the self parking which is half the price. It's really great value if you are not driving at your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

To everywhere. The location is perfect!

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eastside Jan
Detroit
May 22, 2013

distinctive experience

with a location in the heart of the historic center of the city, and unique and impressive architecture, this hotel offers a distinctive experience of the city. you can walk quickly to most destinations, or you can sit in the lobby and admire the view. and you don't pay nearly the luxury hotel prices for this experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Florida Traveler Rick
Southwest Florida
May 17, 2013

Comfort & Location

We stayed 2 nights in May while moving my daughter out of her dorm in the Loop. The room was clean, large, very comfortable, with very comfortable queen beds and a sitting area. Hallways are lined with photos of past performers at the hotel from the 40's, 50's, and 60's. Lobby/lounge is huge, convenient and busy. Large Starbucks in the hotel on the street level is very convenient for a quick start in the morning. Easy hotel exits onto Monroe, State and Wabash. Excellent curbside assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent steaks 5 blocks north on Wacker, just east of Wabash.

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flaquita bonita
Business
DF
May 16, 2013

Luxury and history meet in one place

It was amazing to stay at this hotel since it is full of history and memories and you feel part of it! I loved the furniture and amenities, it has an amazing closet very useful for a girl. The channel selection is so rich. It couldn't be any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You have a lot of stores from recognized brand stores to Target and Burlington within a short walking distance

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nora and her mum
minneapolis
May 10, 2013

Loved i!

The staff was kind , friendly, and attentive , the decor is sumptious and the beds and linens delicious . We enjoyed the world's best Bloody Mary in the justly famous lobby.My only wish was for a stocked mini fridge and a coffee maker in the room...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do NOT fly Spirit Airlines ! They add a nasty surprise fifty dollar carry-on charge each way!!!!!!!

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cowabunga Joe
Business
Plymouth
May 10, 2013

Great Business Experience

Great location and value. The executive floor is well worth the extra expense as the continental breakfast and after work reception were both convenient and well done.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ienjoytraveling
Georgia
May 6, 2013

Nice hotel with large rooms and great amenities

The first night, I was assigned a room located in front of the elevators and beside the vending machine room. The room was small, loud and just seemed odd for the hotel. The next morning, I asked to be relocated to a different room and without hesitation (but also without an apology for being sleep deprived) was reassigned to a different room. The second room was lovely and very spacious (complete opposite of my first room) and was exactly what I would have expected from this hotel. I'm very shocked that they would assign anyone to room 8-202 unless they were at full capacity and it was a necessity; however, this was not the case. I was very pleased that they were very quick to offer me a different room, but never offered an apology or to comp my room even after I explained to them that I barely got any sleep the night before from hearing the vast number of people, elevators, ice-machine, drink machine purchases, etc. I would recommend this hotel as it was beautiful, spacious and had all of the amenities we needed (including a bar, several restaurants, and a full service Starbucks in the lobby).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sally2526
Houston, Tx
Apr 29, 2013

Sarah

This hotel has the WOW factor! great price and exquisite furnishings. As soon as you walk into the hotel you say wow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
keatzie
Toronto
Apr 29, 2013

Great experience

We loved our weekend at the Palmer House. Fabulous location, superb beds and linens, quiet and comfortable, and the service was perfect. I would not choose to eat dinner there. Like any large hotel chain, it is better to stay there and eat elsewhere. I will return to this location over and over and will suggest it to all of my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top