$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Palmer House Hilton

4 stars
View map of 17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Palmer House Hilton

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
720 out of 720
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daisy Jade
Business
Joliet, Illinois
Jun 24, 2014

Excellent Family Overnighter

The hotel was so pretty and clean. It was perfectly located for everything we wanted to do in the city and the staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The bakery on the corner of Wabash and Monroe is not a good choice but Vapiano on the other side of the street is amazing and pretty inexpensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jorgeman
Business
Connecticut
Jun 21, 2014

Great location

Desk person very helpful. Rooms were very comfortable especially after delayed flight problems into Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Using Subway from O'hara the stop is near hotel. Fast way to get into loop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abigail Elizabeth
Business
Montpelier, VT
Jun 19, 2014

Anniversary getaway

The location couldn't have been better! We were able to explore the whole city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BIRTHDAY SUPER GIRL
Business
illinois
Jun 16, 2014

wonderful stay

OUR STAY WAS GREAT! FRIENDLY SMILES, THE ROOM WAS READY AND VERY CLEAN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Prof Joe
Business
South Bend IN
Jun 16, 2014

Chicago getaway

We were celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary. When I mentioned this to the clerk on check-in, he upgraded us to a nicer room. the staff were all friendly and helpful, and this is a beautiful, landmark hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schaft29
Business
Columbus, Oh
Jun 15, 2014

Very nice hotel

Great location and a very nice hotel. Room was spacious and clean with a comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
McBondy
Business
Sarasota
Jun 14, 2014

Grrand lobby but not so much upstairs

The Palmer House is one of Chicagos grand hotels that has been recommended to me on several occasions. It is extremely well located and has a beautiful lobby level concourse teeming with guests and locals. Unfortunately for me it all stopped there. As a hHilton honors member upon check in I was told that while they could and my frequent stay number to my account they doubted I would receive credit because I had booked through Obitz. My room was so small that there wasn't even room for a dresser.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bellboy
Business
Lake Forest
Jun 12, 2014

Disappointed

My girlfriend and I decided to spend an evening in the city and I choose Palmer House because of its history and value. An executive level king was more expensive but reasonable compared to other hotels with similar upgrades. Now I know why. Executive Level is nothing more than a separate elevator and so e free snacks. The room was less interesting than a holiday inn, the mattress springy and too soft. Bathroom was as tiny as my first apartment's in college. . . What I had hoped would be a memorable room in a great hotel turned out to be a dumpy little room not much better than any chain room you will find across America. . . . My girlfriend didn't mind but I felt like I could have done much better with the extra $ I spent on "executive" level

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikemcc28
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jun 8, 2014

Beautiful historic hotel in a great location

The Palmer House is a Chicago landmark, and once you set foot in the beautiful, ornate lobby, you'll understand why. Rooms aren't huge but are comfortable (I do wish there was more counter space in the bathroom, however). Location in the Loop is fantastic; you're steps away from Symphony Center, Millennium Park, and the Art Institute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scoots McGoo
Business
Mpls, MN
Jun 1, 2014

Downtown & next to Orange line

Cool and bustling first floor. Fresh juice bar on first floor too, awesome. 1 block from the El train stop, perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top