$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

The Palmer House Hilton

4 stars
17 East Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60603
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
661 reviews
Lovely hotel

This hotel was lovely. Staff was efficient and friendly and the amenities were exactly what we... See full review

  • Kate E
  • Aug 19, 2014
weekend fun

The hotel was great. The location is good. The room was large and very clean. Modern bathroom. Fun... See full review

  • premo1
  • Jul 27, 2014
Step into the lobby of Palmer House® A Hilton hotel and gaze at the famous frescoed ceiling of this landmark Chicago, Illinois hotel. This AAA four-diamond rated hotel has been hosting visitors to the Chicago Loop for over 140 years. Today, the Palmer House Hilton continues to thrive in the heart of the theatre and financial district, just steps from the Art Institute, Millennium Park and State Street shopping. A short walk away is Grant Park where summer festivals take place. Family attractions like the Chicago Children’s Museum and Navy Pier are just a quick cab ride away.Enjoy comfort and elegance in your Guest room or suite at this Chicago hotel. Amenities include flat-screen TVs and wireless internet access. Elegant suites feature abundant space with comfortable seating and wet bar areas, creating an ideal setting for entertaining. On the Executive Level you can enjoy private check-in, complimentary continental breakfast, hot and cold beverages, and an honor bar with evening appetizers.This Chicago hotel features 130,000 sq. ft. of function space with over 77 meeting rooms, seven ballrooms and two exhibition halls. Lockwood Restaurant and Bar, located just off the lobby, is open throughout the day serving contemporary American cuisine. Small plates and classic cocktails are served in Potters Lounge. Balance Spa features 14 treatment rooms including hydrotherapy services for the ultimate pampering. The fitness center offers over 10,000 sq. ft. of cardio and free weight equipment, an indoor pool, whirlpool, and saun

Hotel Map

41.8801 -87.6269
Nearby airports
O`Hare Intl Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE; Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 11.16, MI, NE; Gary RegionalAirport, (GYY), 25.00, MI, SE;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Palmer House Hilton also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.1 mi
  • State Street: 0.1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.2 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.3 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.3 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.4 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.6 mi
  • Opera House: 0.6 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.7 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.7 mi
  • Union Station: 0.7 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.7 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.9 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.1 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.2 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (661)

Ratings and reviews for The Palmer House Hilton

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
661 out of 661
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bergie
chicago il
Jun 24, 2013

anniversery weekend

Very nice place to stay. Close to everything and the staff is very helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristina00003
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2013

Elegant and Comfortable

What a beautiful and elegant place this hotel is. The staff is also very friendly and went out of their way to answer questions we had. The locations is very convenient. Close to Millenium Park and the red line cta, you can go anywhere in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service was amazing! Breakfast was great :)

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buffalo45
Nashville
Jun 14, 2013

Chicago

Rooms are pretty small and the elevators are atrocious. Many times there would be 20 or 25 folks waiting. The staff was friendly and the location can't be beat as was the price. Love the old style hotel over the glass and brass. I would still recommend despite my rexervations about the elevators and room size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Publican restaurant was great

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TheKingFromAncient
st louis, Missouri
Jun 10, 2013

so so

I have to say this 180/night hotel didn't give me much. Did the inflation catch up so fast? Stuff is not going to help you much. They just check you in and left. Very pricy, parking is another 42 bucks/day. No breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vegas Rebels
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 2, 2013

Good downtown location and concierge service

Concierge helped you with directions, to find attractions and with different dining experiences. The places were not very far, at most a five minute cab ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

In a good location in downtown. A couple blocks from Millenium Park and the Art Institute of Chicago. Close to a couple CTA transit stops, which is nice.

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Moni the baby sis
Ontario, Canada
Jun 1, 2013

Wonderful sisters trip!

The Palmer House is a beautiful Hotel with an abundance of charm. Staff were all friendly and helpful. I would also tell you to spend the extra 25 a night to have the Exectuative experience because that topped of the experience with all that is included in it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Cheesecake Factory

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hotter
Carlsbad, NM
May 30, 2013

Impressive history, small room and noisy

The hotel was centraly located close to Millenium park. A 15 minutes walk to Magnificent mile shopping. The staff was not very friendly, and the room was small. We were two people, and suddenly started getting just one bath towel. I had to let them know before I got another. Also- you can hear everything from the rooms next door. That was very annoying and made it hard to sleep particularly due to one of the guests that had a loud and rather piercing voice and got mad a lot. Not much you can do, because that somebody is talking next door is hardly a reason to complain. We will not stay there again!!! Very dissapointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
N. Jorgensen
Bethlehem, PA
May 28, 2013

Central location!

You are located right in the center of Chicago, in walking distance to all the main attachtions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Orlando Baseball Fan
Orlando
May 28, 2013

Less Than I Expected

I found the lobby to be very stately, and the staff were more than pleasant. On the other hand, the rooms are small and the bathrooms even smaller. It's quite cramped. I could not have imagined traveling with anyone and staying at this hotel. Further, I actually came back to my room one afternoon with all of the clean linens stacked on top of the ironing board and the bed completely bare. The pillow cases had not been swapped and there were no new towels in the room. Had to call housekeeping to address the problem. They did, and quickly, but I've never stayed anywhere that I had to call housekeeping for not making the bed. The elevator situation is charming at first, but after many 5-10 minute waits to actually catch one going in the right direction, it became quite frustrating. I could not get a cell call out of this hotel, and I could not even make a local call without going through concierge. Even still I was charged for a local call. I got a fair rate as part an airfare/hotel bundle, but other than the fact that the staff was pleasant, what you pay to stay (room service, parking, etc.), I found this to be less than optimal. I hope Hilton can make a few changes to really put this historic hotel in the category it deserves to be in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza and ribs. Better than Palmer House room service. All you need to know!

Review of The Palmer House Hilton

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris from Philly
Philadelpia
May 27, 2013

Awesome Hotel and Service

Very accommodating and friendly The service was excellent. I have stayed there many times Highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Theaters

Back to menu Return to top

Change search