$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 15, 2015 Check-out: Feb 18, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
133 reviews
Great central location and amazing staff

Very friendly staff, great location. Would stay here again. Great lobby bar. See full review

  • Michaelmoz
  • Nov 3, 2014
Steps from mag mile

Stayed at the James for a birthday weekend celebration and had a great stay. The hotel is perfect... See full review

  • biz traveler from chicago
  • Oct 28, 2013
Boutique chic luxury in the heart of River North
Urban professionals feel right at home at the James Hotel Chicago, a shrine to boutique chic style. Every corner pops with stylish details, starting with an illuminated lobby that offers soaring ceilings and 24-hour business center with videoconferencing capabilities. For locals, the hotel brims with people watching possibilities. Dine with the well-heeled at David Burke's Primehouse. Rooms naturally embody contemporary cool, the ultimate city stays within steps of the Magnificent Mile.
Highlights
  • Chicago boutique hotel near the Magnificent Mile
  • Intimate spa with massage and facial treatments
  • Award-winning restaurant, David Burke's Primehouse, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY
  • Free luxury car service for transport within the business district
  • Paul Frank adult and child city bikes plus Paul Frank booster car seats
Rooms
The James Hotel Chicago exemplifies boutique luxury. Understated rooms make use of bold accent pieces, from mocha throw pillows to moody gallery lighting, to flesh out contemporary style. Think of a downtown bachelor pad-complete with seamless shower doors, cube-shaped ottomans and tripod-like floor lamps. Loft penthouses (available in one- or two-bedroom layouts at 1,400 square feet each) strike a balance between active engagement and comfort with an Apple-based entertainment system with full-space surround sound, an Eames lounge chair and oversized sectional sofa with mohair and down cushions. Wi-Fi is free.
Dining
Visitors at The James Hotel Chicago can enjoy nightlife with cocktails and other evening drinks at the in-house Jimmy and Primehouse Bar. Foodies, meanwhile, crave the scene and food at David Burke's Primehouse, where steaks are dry-aged in a salt-tiled Himalayan aging room. The dining rooms pour on the swank -- right down to the sexy red leather booths.
Recreation
Active travelers flock to the 24-hour gym to release endorphins on 10 cardiovascular machines and more than 25 pieces of strength equipment. Personal training sessions also can be arranged through celebrity fitness guru Jim Karas.
 
Guests reward themselves with pampering facials, massages and body treatments at The Spa by Asha, an Aveda spa. In-room services also are available.
Transportation
  • Chicago O'Hare International Airport (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Midway International Airport (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
Attractions
  • John Hancock Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Flexibile 7,000-square-foot function space for up to 220 guests, plus multiple meeting rooms
  • Catering by David Burke's Primehouse
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
Parking
Overnight parking with comp in and out privileges $60 USD per night. Self parking is available at the Ontario Place garage on the corner of Wabash and Ontario for $42 USD per night with no in and out privileges.

Pet policy
One time non refundable $75 fee.

Smoke free
The James Chicago is a smoke-free hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The James Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The James Chicago Rooms

Apartment King Suite
650sf-Apartment King Suite-Living Room-Dining Area-Free WiFi-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Studio Queen Suite
450sf-Studio Queen Suite-2 HD SMART TVs- Complimentary WiFi-Stereo with iPod Dock
Deluxe Double Guestroom Cityscap
400sf-Deluxe Double Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Double Guestroom
385sf-2 Double Beds-Dining Niche -Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Loft King Suite - Accessible
Loft King Suite-Living Room-Dining Niche-Media Room with Lounge area-WetBar and Comp WiFi
King Guestroom
385sf-King Guestroom-Complimentary WiFi-Dining Niche-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Deluxe King Guestroom
400sf-Deluxe King Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Loft King Suite
Loft King Suite-Living Room-Dining Niche-Media Room with Lounge area-WetBar and Comp WiFi
Penthouse Loft Suite
Penthouse Lofts represent the ultimate in luxury cosmopolitan living.
Deluxe Double Guestroom - Access
400sf-Deluxe Double Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
King Guestroom - Accessible
385sf-King Guestroom-Accessible-Dining Niche-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Studio King Suite
450sf-Studio King Suite-2 HD SMART TVs- Comp WiFi-Stereo with iPod Dock

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

David Burkes Primehouse
On site restaurant HOURS - 700 AM to 0930 PM - MON to THUR 700 AM to 1030 PM - FRI to SAT. Named number 1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine it redefines the modern American steakhouse by pushing the envelope of culinary creativity.
Burkes Dining Room
A modern interpretation of the classic chefs table the brand new Burkes Dining Room is a private venue ideal for special occasions. It features rotating seasonal menus by Chef David Burke.
Primehouse Bar
Perfect for after work cocktails or a full meal the newly renovated Primehouse Bar is an extension of the classic steakhouse where guests can enjoy an innovative bar menu or choose from signature menu items from the complete Primehouse menu.
Jimmy
Sophisticated and inviting JIMMY at The James Chicago offers an upscale unpretentious environment to enjoy a progressive cocktail menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
02:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 133
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nurse Gen
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Sep 3, 2012

Disappointing Digs

I stayed at the James hotel 9/1-9/2/12 for my best friend's bachelorette party. Our party of 7 ladies had two rooms and upon arrival at 1:30 pm neither room was ready (we were early for the 2pm check in time) we shopped and were assured we would recieve a call when the rooms were ready, they loaded all of our luggage on a cart and tagged it all to be delivered when we had a room. At 3pm we still had not recieved a call and went to check at the front desk, I was told that both rooms were still dirty and we would need to continue waiting. I was also rudely told by the front desk woman that they had 3 weddings and over 100 check ins that day and I was holding up the line of people checking in. Aroud 4pm one room was ready and our luggage was delivered there, but without one girls bags. Her and I went down to the desk and they showed us a storage room where we could search for her bag. At 5:30 pm our second room was finally ready and upon entering we encountered cleaning products left in the room and a shower that wasn't draining. I called the front desk and they told me to just leave the cleaning products in the hallway and someone would retrieve them. As we were all getting ready to go out one girl went to dry her hair and our room hair dryer was broken. I again called the front desk and was told they would bring a new one. We stayed at the hotel until 7pm and had to leave for dinner, still no hair dryer. I was very upset by the stay at the James, when you are paying a comparable rate to the Talbott and Four Seasons, you expect a certain level of professionalism and customer service. I could not believe that we didn't get anything for our wait for both rooms! I've stayed at Palomar in the past and had to wait 45 minutes for a room and was given a bottle of wine and a chocolate selection. I would not return to the James on my next Chicago trip and would not recommend it to others visiting the windy city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mwmama
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Dec 12, 2011

The James is always a safe bet

I have stayed here a few times before and love it. Close to Mich ave and easy to get to. Staff is always exceptionally friendly. Rooms are good size, decent but hot fitness center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enjoyed Chicago
Business
LA
Feb 15, 2012

recommended

The hotel is very accessible to major Chicago must-sees. Free wi-fi and a designated office area are a plus. Staff is very pleasant. Only drawback is cost of parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is a block away from the Magnificent mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle WA
Aug 10, 2010

Fantastic location, classy vibe

The hotel was at a prime location just north of the loop in Chicago. The surrounding area was great and offered a lot of upscale restaurants and shops. We had one minor hiccup with the door keys, which seemed to keep coming un-magnetized, but the staff was fantastic, courteous, and helpful at all hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
knoxville, TN
May 11, 2008

The James looked and felt ...

The James looked and felt fabulous. just a few minor things that i wish were different...our room had a smell that would just not go away. Not sure what it was but it smelled like body odor but we believe it has something to do with standing water somewhere...the tub didn't drain well. and the sink in our bathroom...very cool looking but not functional with its flat bottom...it didn't drain fast either! I thought the room service menu was limited, overpriced and the food didn't taste very good. I paid $8 for a bowl of chicken soup that tasted like Heathy Choice straight out of the can. Yuck. but other than those few odd things it was a beautiful, stylish hotel with an extremely friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Apr 11, 2010

Great Location and Very Friendly Staff

The ultra modern James Hotel is just one block off of Michigan Avenue. It was definitely a great location because of the proximity of restaurants and shopping. You are also not caught up the heavy foot and car traffic of Michigan Avenue. The staff was very friendly and inviting and they helped with all questions asked. The room was a good size and the amenities were great. Being leisure travelers, this hotel was great, mostly because of its fantastic location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many, many great dining locations within 4 blocks of The James. The James is truly in one of the best locations in the city for dining and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
Dec 6, 2010

Girl's Weekend

Shop and eat. Great to have snow! Sunday brunch at North Pond Cafe - a favorite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel-eni
Business
Chicago
Apr 24, 2011

Great location in the city!

We picked this hotel for a group to stay during a bachelorette weekend. It's a short walk to a number of great restaurants, bars, and brunch locations. The rooms are clean, spacious, with upscale amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quartino's is an excellent dining locale just 2 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, ON Canada
Oct 3, 2010

As Tony the Tiger would say "GRRRREAT!"

The hotel and the staff were absolutely amazing! From the minute we arrived to the minute we left they were professional, courteous, and always eager to help!. We found that the concierge desk had great recommendations for food and attractions, the doormen always had a welcoming smile on their faces and the front desk staff were beyond helpful! The hotel room itself was very modern, stylish, classy and very clean. The little things that were done, such as evening bed turn down, courtesy umbrellas and orange slices in the water in the fitness centre, were a nice surprise! Above all, you can really not get a better location! I am not sure what could have made our first visit to the windy city any better! Next time I go back, I am staying there and I would not hesitate to recommend The James Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hot Tix - we were able to see Billy Elliott at 51% off the ticket price! It is a service that seems very underused compared to other destinations such as NYC or Las Vegas!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linji - Twitter-atic & Digital 007
Business
Boston MA
Aug 2, 2011

The MoMA of Boutique Hotels

The James differentiated itself as a boutique hotel on a couple of key factors. The staff was friendly and well equip to help, the shower products were quality and eco-conscious, the interior of the room was impeccable with modern class and hospitality. They even had an awesome piece of conceptual art in the lobby one of suit cases stuffed with the contents of a shabby motel giving it a high coolness factor. I also really loved one key detail, checkout was a 2pm so no bum-rushing the service desk to get out. It's also a great location for tourists, close to shopping and Metro. The bed was the best night sleep I've had in weeks, down comforter and fluffy bedding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend Quartino the Italian tapas place it was *amazing* you can also stop by Ghiridelli Chocolatier for some chocolate and ice cream.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top