$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The James Chicago

5 stars
55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
133 reviews
Steps from mag mile

Stayed at the James for a birthday weekend celebration and had a great stay. The hotel is perfect... See full review

  • biz traveler from chicago
  • Oct 28, 2013
Fantastic Trip

The overall experience was great: rooms extremely clean and turned down every evening, staff very... See full review

  • ava76
  • Sep 10, 2013
Boutique chic luxury in the heart of River North
Urban professionals feel right at home at the James Hotel Chicago, a shrine to boutique chic style. Every corner pops with stylish details, starting with an illuminated lobby that offers soaring ceilings and 24-hour business center with videoconferencing capabilities. For locals, the hotel brims with people watching possibilities. Dine with the well-heeled at David Burke's Primehouse. Rooms naturally embody contemporary cool, the ultimate city stays within steps of the Magnificent Mile.
Highlights
  • Chicago boutique hotel near the Magnificent Mile
  • Intimate spa with massage and facial treatments
  • Award-winning restaurant, David Burke's Primehouse, Primehouse Bar and JIMMY
  • Free luxury car service for transport within the business district
  • Paul Frank adult and child city bikes plus Paul Frank booster car seats
Rooms
The James Hotel Chicago exemplifies boutique luxury. Understated rooms make use of bold accent pieces, from mocha throw pillows to moody gallery lighting, to flesh out contemporary style. Think of a downtown bachelor pad-complete with seamless shower doors, cube-shaped ottomans and tripod-like floor lamps. Loft penthouses (available in one- or two-bedroom layouts at 1,400 square feet each) strike a balance between active engagement and comfort with an Apple-based entertainment system with full-space surround sound, an Eames lounge chair and oversized sectional sofa with mohair and down cushions. Wi-Fi is free.
Dining
Visitors at The James Hotel Chicago can enjoy nightlife with cocktails and other evening drinks at the in-house Jimmy and Primehouse Bar. Foodies, meanwhile, crave the scene and food at David Burke's Primehouse, where steaks are dry-aged in a salt-tiled Himalayan aging room. The dining rooms pour on the swank -- right down to the sexy red leather booths.
Recreation
Active travelers flock to the 24-hour gym to release endorphins on 10 cardiovascular machines and more than 25 pieces of strength equipment. Personal training sessions also can be arranged through celebrity fitness guru Jim Karas.
 
Guests reward themselves with pampering facials, massages and body treatments at The Spa by Asha, an Aveda spa. In-room services also are available.
Transportation
  • Chicago O'Hare International Airport (15.5 mi/24.9 km)
  • Midway International Airport (9.8 mi/15.8 km)
Attractions
  • John Hancock Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Magnificent Mile (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • The Loop (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Willis Tower (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Navy Pier (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • McCormick Place (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
Business
  • Flexibile 7,000-square-foot function space for up to 220 guests, plus multiple meeting rooms
  • Catering by David Burke's Primehouse
  • Free Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
Parking
Overnight parking with comp in and out privileges $60 USD per night. Self parking is available at the Ontario Place garage on the corner of Wabash and Ontario for $42 USD per night with no in and out privileges.

Pet policy
One time non refundable $75 fee.

Smoke free
The James Chicago is a smoke-free hotel.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8932 -87.6301
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 14.00, MI, NE; O Hare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The James Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The James Chicago Rooms

Apartment King Suite
650sf-Apartment King Suite-Living Room-Dining Area-Free WiFi-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Penthouse Loft Suite
Penthouse Lofts represent the ultimate in luxury cosmopolitan living.
Studio King Suite
450sf-Studio King Suite-2 Plasma TVs- Comp WiFi-Stereo with iPod Dock
King Guestroom
385sf-King Guestroom-Complimentary WiFi-Dining Niche-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Deluxe Double Guestroom Cityscap
400sf-Deluxe Double Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Deluxe Double Guestroom - Access
400sf-Deluxe Double Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Double Guestroom
385sf-2 Double Beds-Dining Niche -Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Deluxe King Guestroom
400sf-Deluxe King Guestroom-Dining Niche-Wetbar-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Studio Queen Suite
450sf-Studio Queen Suite-2 flat screen TVs- Complimentary WiFi-Stereo with iPod Dock
King Guestroom - Accessible
385sf-King Guestroom-Accessible-Dining Niche-Intelligent Nutrients amenities.
Loft King Suite
Loft King Suite-Living Room-Dining Niche-Media Room with Lounge area-WetBar and Comp WiFi
Loft King Suite - Accessible
Loft King Suite-Living Room-Dining Niche-Media Room with Lounge area-WetBar and Comp WiFi

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Night club
Golf
Jogging track
Boating
Fishing
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.4 mi
  • Marina City: 0.4 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.4 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.7 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.8 mi
  • State Street: 0.8 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.9 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1 mi
  • Kendall College: 1 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 1.1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 1.1 mi

Dining

David Burkes Primehouse
On site restaurant HOURS - 700 AM to 0930 PM - MON to THUR 700 AM to 1030 PM - FRI to SAT. Named number 1 Steakhouse in Chicago by Chicago magazine it redefines the modern American steakhouse by pushing the envelope of culinary creativity.
Burkes Dining Room
A modern interpretation of the classic chefs table the brand new Burkes Dining Room is a private venue ideal for special occasions. It features rotating seasonal menus by Chef David Burke.
Primehouse Bar
Perfect for after work cocktails or a full meal the newly renovated Primehouse Bar is an extension of the classic steakhouse where guests can enjoy an innovative bar menu or choose from signature menu items from the complete Primehouse menu.
Jimmy
Sophisticated and inviting JIMMY at The James Chicago offers an upscale unpretentious environment to enjoy a progressive cocktail menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
02:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (133)

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 133
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoeTravels
Grand Rapids, MI
Jun 18, 2009

Great Location

Nice hotel but very small. The pictures on the site made it look much bigger. It also was not a stylish in person as it was in the pictures. Good location and friendly staff, but it left me wanting more. Ambiance was lacking. Doubt I will try it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dollar
champaign illinos
Sep 24, 2011

mediocre

Disappointment considering the price. Rooms were small and sparce.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ultrahviolet
brooklyn, ny
Aug 5, 2013

expensive luxury

great location, extremely clean, and it really feels luxurious. i don't think it's a great value, though, and after accidentally reserving for the wrong day, i felt the staff could have been more helpful. i understand it wasn't their fault that i'd booked my room for the wrong day, but they could have been more understanding/empathetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

do not eat pizza at the close-by uno or duo. they're chains and pretty crummy.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanaanna
Chicago
Nov 1, 2013

The James Hotel Chicago

Enjoyed our stay tremendously. Staff was great and room was very relaxing (although rooms can be noisy depending where it's located in the hotel. But that's the price you pay for being in the center of it all. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marie1219
Dallas, Texas
Mar 17, 2010

Great Family Vacation!!

We enjoyed our vacation in Chicago! The location of the hotel was great! ALL of the staff was very helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We purchased snacks and bottled water across the street at Trader Joes.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
twig
Michigan
Sep 26, 2011

Somewhat overrated

We arrived at The James on a Friday morning and were let into our room upon our arrival. Check-in time was 2pm. The staff was very accomodating and friendly throughout our stay. The room was clean and modern. However, the door to the bathroom was heavy and off of it's track. I asked to have it fixed, but unfortunately the maintenance people obviously could not fix it as it fell off the track as soon as we tried to open it again. Very cumbersome. The refridgerator was loaded with drinks, however, it was not on. I never bothered to ask to have it fixed, as I never used it. The extra amenities were nice, however, no pricing so we never used those either. The bathroom products were ok, but the substitutes for the Kiehl's products were not as nice. The turn down service started at 5:30 pm..what is that about? Told the staff to come back later...asked for ice earlier in the day, never received it. But did get some when they turned down the beds. The chauffeuring service was very nice! Eliminated getting a taxi all together..Overall, I think the hotel is in a great location, but not as nice as some of the lesser priced hotels that I have stayed in while I have been in Chicago. Sorry James!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
May0778
Detroit, Michigan
Jun 24, 2010

Wonderful service!

Great location, clean, concierge was able to get tickets for sold out Second City show. Will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
Jul 13, 2009

Great stay at the James

We loved the look and feel of our room (Kiehl's products in the bathroom get a gold star) as well as the proximity of the hotel to good restaurants, shopping and key attractions like Oak Street beach and Millennium Park. The concierge was extremely helpful in advance of our stay in making restaurant recommendations and booking a table for an important family celebration, and while we were there, he helped us get last minute tickets for the architectural boat tour that we were having trouble getting on our own. We also had an incident involving a lost stuffed animal and the hotel staff was very responsive and helpful in retrieving it from the outside laundry service (it had been inadvertently scooped up in the bed sheets) the next morning. We liked the bar downstairs and the food from room service that our children ate appeared to be quite good. Overall, an excellent experience. We look forward to staying there again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sepia is an amazing restaurant - highly recommend it if you're looking for excellent food and great ambience.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Providence
Aug 21, 2008

Very nice boutique hotel

The James was in an excellent location, within walking distance to many attractions/restaurants, and close to public transportation. The concierge staff was very helpful and knowledgeable and always willing to help. Clean up and turn down service. Very nice rooms, stocked bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is right off Michigan Ave, The Magificent Mile, and not too far from Navy Pier and Lake Michigan.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicks that travel
Dallas, Texas
Jun 26, 2010

Exceptional once again!

The James Hotel is always amazing. Each time we try to stay in a different type of room which always brings a new adventure. The staff is very professional and makes our stay a joy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The James is approximately fourth of a block from Michigan Ave.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search