$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 29, 2008

Great location for visiting the city.

Met in Chicago for a girls' weekend. This hotel was a perfect choice for location. The staff was extremely helpful in getting dinner reservations and providing information on and bookings for things to do around the city. The only drawback is that the hotel is about 7 blocks from an El stop. However, there are cabs and a free trolley down Michigan Ave, so we had no problems during our visit with transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 8, 2010

Perfect Stay!

We got stranded in Chicago on our way back to DC and decided to stay at The James; what a great choice! The rooms are very hip and modern (not to mention spotless). The staff is amazingly accomodating (someone from the bar actually went back to the employee area to make me a cup of coffee because they didn't serve it at the bar). The hotel is located one block from Magnificiant Mile (Michigan Ave) and there are many great restaurants closeby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mentor
Jun 22, 2008

Fabulous Location, GREAT STAFF!

The Staff at the James Hotel was SUPURB!!! They treated us like we were the only people staying there. Whenever we called down to the front desk they immediately responded. The y were the friendliest hotel staff I have ever dealt with. The room was great. we stayed in a loft and there was a great media center in it. you are right there on Michigan avenue. The staff had great recommendations for dinner and gave us VIP passes for night life. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL and will stay there the next time I go to Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is nearby you are right in the heart of downtown chicago...a short walk to anything, and the el station is around the block.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
meybs
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 27, 2011

Great time

We enjoyed the city as much as possible. Dinner, shopped around the different parts of Chicago, and attended the Green Music Fest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Publican

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, Va
Jul 25, 2010

Amazing Experience

We came to Chicago for an Anniversary Trip, and we LOVED our stay at the James Hotel. The service was truly first-class from the check-in to check-out. The concierge was knowledgeable and very helpful. The spa was small, but it was the best massage I have ever had. My husband also said that the front desk and concierge were very willing and helpful in arraigning for flowers, champagne, and chocolate to be in the room when we checked in. Also, they have complimentary cruiser bikes that were so much fun to ride down to Lake Michigan. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bountiful
Aug 20, 2008

GREAT LOCATION

The James is located right in the heart of town and accessible to buses, tours, etc. The room was larger than what I had expected and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Magnificent Mile which is loaded with a variety of shopping.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chicks that travel
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 26, 2010

Exceptional once again!

The James Hotel is always amazing. Each time we try to stay in a different type of room which always brings a new adventure. The staff is very professional and makes our stay a joy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The James is approximately fourth of a block from Michigan Ave.

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new orleans, la
Aug 3, 2010

The Great Escape

This was one of the best trips I have had! The city of Chicago is amazing. I truly enjoyed my stay at the James Hotel and would definitely stay there again on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mayo
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Great Staff

The James is a hip hotel with a modern look that I love which isnt standard hotel decor (which is always a bit cheesy). Nice location to the art museums & Rick Bayliss' restuarants, & short drive to Wicker Park & Pilsen, very helpful & polite staff, super clean, & the an amazingly comfy bed. Only off things were the toilet wasnt flushing & had to be fixed 2 times but quickly. Also there werent any Kiel products as mentioned online. My referring friend said I didnt need to bring too many toiletries as Kiel products were provided...not so. There were 2 products lotion & soap from an unknown brand & the rest was anchored to the wall. For the room price this was a little disappointing (& minor). But Id stay again & maybe try the cool orange bikes too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Xoco is Bayliss' newer restaurant Fabulous!! As are the others. Sure to be back!!

Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 24, 2008

location, location, location

This is a great boutique hotel. The staff is very friendly, and service is first class. Located one block from the magnificent mile and world class shopping, you can't go wrong with this hotel. It is very trendy, not very family friendly. Great Workout, fitness room. The steakhouse was good for breakfast, too many dinning options in Chicago to eat at the hotel. Bathroom is very simple but clean, beds are very comfortable with thick duvets, and big screen tv and seating round out a very comfortable room. The staff make the difference, 5 star service. The concierge gave us directions to a local restaurant over the phone. Within 5 minutes a staff member dropped off written directions and a review of the restaurant. First Class. and a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand luxe Cafe across the street has great cheesecake

Back to menu Return to top