$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The James Chicago

5 stars
View map of 55 East Ontario, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The James Chicago

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
knoxville, TN
May 11, 2008

The James looked and felt ...

The James looked and felt fabulous. just a few minor things that i wish were different...our room had a smell that would just not go away. Not sure what it was but it smelled like body odor but we believe it has something to do with standing water somewhere...the tub didn't drain well. and the sink in our bathroom...very cool looking but not functional with its flat bottom...it didn't drain fast either! I thought the room service menu was limited, overpriced and the food didn't taste very good. I paid $8 for a bowl of chicken soup that tasted like Heathy Choice straight out of the can. Yuck. but other than those few odd things it was a beautiful, stylish hotel with an extremely friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
al mom of 3
Business
PIkeville, Kentucky
May 31, 2010

Modern Hotel for a weekend getaway

We had a romantic weekend getaway at The James. They provided excellent services and the room was a very modern, yet relaxed atmosphere. Good location, close to the Mag Mile. I recommend this hotel for a couple looking to reconnect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 8, 2008

Hip, well appointed rooms

James Hotel was a pleasant oasis of sophistication in otherwise very generic Near North neighborhood. The gym was great, the bed was as well, and the room did the best with the little space it had. It did not feel cramped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping at Magnificent North Michigan Ave is a corner away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gaylord, MI
Aug 3, 2008

Very comfortable

The bed at The James was extremely comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. The staff was very helpful. The James has a spa menu, but it does not have a full spa. There are 3 treatment rooms somewhere in the fitness center. This is not the type of spa experience that I would enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The James is right in the middle of everything...shopping on Michigan Avenue, great restaurants, and even the train to Wrigley Field is just a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iroc
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 1, 2010

GREAT, GREAT, GREAT!!!

I was in town for business and pleasure. If you enjoy the finer things in life for a reasonable price then you won't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Overall, this is a great location for anyone who wants to be in the heart of it all yet in the cut! The hotel gets an A from me in the area of class act. If you've traveled and you love great service, great location with limitless options then this is your stop! The gym is superb and they spared no expense in delivering excellence! I also loved the nook desk/office/dining area provided in the room. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Justin O.
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 4, 2011

Great hotel, great location

This was our second time at the James Hotel and we enjoyed it even more than our first. I highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
May0778
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Jun 24, 2010

Wonderful service!

Great location, clean, concierge was able to get tickets for sold out Second City show. Will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moon Buster
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 30, 2009

Easy for the First Timers to Chicago.

Everything was great about this hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful to first timers to Chicago. The location is great because not only is it central in downtown to walk to your destinations/train/bus/taxi, but there is a Trader Joes and Starbucks right across the street for all your snacks/pick me ups. Internet room has Mac and PC which was nice. The beds were super comfortable King Sized monsters. Lighting in the room has many options. Nice carpet, not gross at all super clean. Bathroom stocked with Keihls products and organic face soaps. Bring your own toothpaste though! Negative things were that the toilet in the bathroom was constantly running. I dont know how to explain this but every 5 minutes you could hear water drain out of the toilet and back in again. We thought we could deal with it but when you come home from a long night, it can bother you. This might have been a isolated incident only to our room though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Alinea! Avec!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Sep 1, 2010

James Hotel-not so bad

Great location, attractive lobby and rooms, street noise on lower floor rooms, decent rate. I would stay there again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The James Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KW121
Business
Washington, DC
May 27, 2010

Great Chicago Hotel

My co-worker and I decided to come to Chicago a day early for our conference. We chose to stay at the James hotel and we were very impressed. The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Chicago and a short walk from many many destinations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

EVERYTHING is within a short walk. This location is ideal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top